We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is located inside the walls of the Old City of Jerusalem. Excellent location if you are interested in touring around or inside the Old a City. It is a nice hotel given its location and price. Nothing special about the rooms or the food but good & clean. The place is quaint and captures the feel of the area. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent threee nights in the hotle Gloria 2011. We stayed the annexe part opposite the main Hotel. Room was comfortable and clean. We did get quite a lot of noise from outside in the street. The staff were helpful, and stayed on duty on a Saturday on a nite evening when our plane was delayed.I think it was quieter in the main hotel.Tyhe man behind desk was very helpful to my husband loaning shaver charger cord. It is a super location to stay in. Would I stay there again? Sure would!

Room Tip: Stay in main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I took a group of 17 people to Israel for a 10 day pilgrimage

This was an excellent hotel and each one of us had a wonderful time. The rooms were excellent and the food good.

I will go there again and am happy to recommend it

Revd Martin Dale

Room Tip: Rooom 166 - go for it. No swimming pool or fitness centre but lots of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin and Madd... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed in a triple share room with my mother and sister for three nights and we all really enjoyed our stay.
The location is fantastic - in the Old City just inside the Jaffa Gate.
The hotel setting is charming in a beautiful old building with a warm foyer area and plenty of space to sit and plan your day.
The staff were all very friendly, especially Charlie who was extremely helpful when we were trying to choose what tours to do. He also advised us on the best way to transfer to the airport, where to get cabs from and making phone calls for us as we don't speak any Hebrew!

Our three single beds were very comfortable and we still had enough space for our luggage and to spread out some more. The heating was very efficient - we actually over heated and had to turn it off and open the window!

The wifi worked very well and was quite fast.
We felt safe in the hotel and it is up a side street that doesn't get too much foot traffic or vehicles so it was nice and quiet.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - rather minimal and the bread tasted like it was a few days old.

I would recommend staying there.

Tip: If you reach the hotel by taxi, get them to drop you off at the cab rank inside the Jaffa Gate at the bottom of the Tower of David. Our cab driver dropped us off on the road telling us that was as far as he could take us, leaving us with suitcases at the bottom of lots of steps! We did find ramps so it was no problem at all, only to discover taxis can enter as far as the inside of Jaffa Gate.

We also arranged a taxi to take us to Tel Aviv airport through the hotel for 85 USD and the driver came to the hotel's door so there was no hassle of carrying suitcases over cobblestones. Just make sure you have enough in cash to pay the driver.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripper1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our group of 10 spent two days here. It's a great location in the old city at the Jaffa Gate. It has a nice outdoor courtyard, inviting bar and large seated area where our group met to de-brief at night. My first room had an odd smell but the staff were quick to place me elsewhere. While I had an enjoyable sleep and the room was clean, the rooms do look a bit dated and would benefit from an upgrade. The breakfast included the standard cold selection of cheese and meats but also offered crepes! The dinner choices were limited and uninviting therefore I decided to pass. There is an upmarket shopping mall next to the Jaffa Gate that has dining options. Overall, while I enjoyed the location and found the staff to be friendly, I would be inclined to consider other hotel options.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the only hotel balcony that overlooks the old walls of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunnerJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We were really comfortable here, our room was large and well appointed and felt recently renovated. Apart from a slightly wayward shower rail! Which was quickly controlled. Staff were genuinely hospitable especially our favourite Charlie who was super sweet to us and helped us to decide on a tour of Masada. Breakfast I have to say was fairly basic but perfectly adequate. Would definitely recommend especially as its location is just inside the Jaffa gate and unbeatable for access to the old city.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Travelemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The reception manager of the hotel was so helpful when we arrived drenched after a 36 hours of travelling - our rooms were allocated with 2 minutes of our arrival and our big surprise was that all our luggage was awaiting us by our doors already. No idea how that happened so quick...

We booked our small group from Sheffield through Lightline Pilgrimages in London. The hotel was perfect in every way and a lot more than what we expected - could not be more central - Just a minutes walk to Jaffa Gate and 7 minutes to the Holy Sepulchre.cash machines and shops just outside the hotel. Food was great, the dinning room was a bit dated, but had amazing views over the old city, but we were told later that a new swish restaurant is under construction but sadly will not have the views of the old city.... All our rooms were comfortable, clean and with full ensuite facilities including air-conditioning and heating. The hair dryer in our room didn't work, but I guess that is about 50% of all hotels in the world...
Overall I would give the Gloria 99% out of a possible 100% - Thank you and we have asked Lightline to repeat our tour in 2015 and the Gloria will be central to our stay in Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the main street as it can be a bit noisy, but they are great during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
311 reviews
The Sephardic House
#55 of 101 in Jerusalem
151 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
236 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 101 in Jerusalem
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £83 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing