We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, spotty housekeeping.”
Review of Gloria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gloria Hotel
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at Gloria hotel for 8 days. We found the location perfect, smack bang at the entrance to the Old City in Jerusalem, a few minutes walk from the bazaar, Tower of David, Church of the Holy Sepulcher, St. James Armenian Cathedral and the hip Mamilla Mall. The lobby and lounge areas of Gloria looked like they were recently renovated, which misled us and raised our expectations about the quality of the rooms. The hallway on the 1st floor had a dirty and old carpet which looked about 20 years old. We were given a large-ish room, which could accomodate 4 beds. The toilet was dirty and we had to request for someone to come up and clean it. The towels had stains; we had to ask for clean towels about 4 -5 times during our stay. Housekeeping did not even sweep the floors daily; we even found a toy truck gathering dust under the bed from a previous occupant of the room. We had a New Year's Eve dinner buffet at their dining room. Sadly, the food was unremarkable and disappointing, given the occasion. The sack-like cloth shrouding the ceiling was torn and obviously mended, adding to the depressing ambiance. Breakfast was adequate, with cheeses, yogurt, sausage, scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, various kinds of bread, jam, juice, coffee and tea. The view of the Ramparts from the dining room was beautiful, and so was the roofdeck view.

Service at the reception was variable. The lady named Lara was not very helpful with info on Jerusalem. The other lady receptionist, whose name I was not able to ask for, was more helpful with directions.

We decided to continue our planned stay at Gloria because of the convenience of the location. Hotel management detracts from this advantage with poor attention to housekeeping and interior design details.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzcflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

This is a hotel with comfortable, unspectacular rooms, an average to poor included breakfast and phenomenal location.

The problem is the service. The receptionist seem to go out og their way to be unhelpful, and unfriendly, never offering assistance.

The management, however deserves special mention for it's profound incompetence and lack of professionalism. My aunt and I submitted a number of items of clothing to be dry cleaned. When we received them back, they were shrunk to an extent that they resembled childrens clothes. We discussed this with reception, who said we should speak to management, and we agreed.

The problem had emerged because the hotel had given the dry clean items to the laundry, who had washed them traditionally. The fault was entirely with the Gloria hotel, who had ignored the fact that we ticked the dry clean box of the hotels own laundry list.

The management finally made time to speak to us, we thought, when we recieved a phonecall from reception requesting to see us. However, when we arrived a minute later the manager left without talking to us, and left us with the laundryman. He was desperate to pay us back, but we explained that we had to deal with the hotel. It was very upsetting to see that the hotel had upset this poor fellow so much. We suspect from comments that he made that the hotel had threatened to withdraw their business from his family. As I already indicated, the problems were the fault of the hotel anyway, who hadn't correctly handed the items to a dry cleaner.

Now somewhat upset, we again requested to speak to the manager. We after again being called down, we sat in the bar for fifteen minutes before the manager finally stopped delaying and sat down with us. However, within 5 minutes, the poor fellow from the laundry was back (on the request of the manager), this time with his wife. It was atrocious, the manager ignored our explanation that the fault was the hotels, and let the poor laundryman, desperately try to fling money at us. Then his wife came in who literally forced money into my poor aunts hands. She refused to take it back, so we had to leave the money on a table wich seemed to upset her even more.

After distressing my aunt and I quite completely, ruining our last evening in Israel, the manager told us he needed to think about the problem. We later received a phone call agreeing to our request of a very partial reimbursement of the cost of the items, which was all we had ever asked for.

It left us both very upset, and so worried about the poor man from the laundry. A truly horrible hotel experience.

If you stay at the Gloria, most of you can expect an unspectacular, impersonal stay. If you have any problem, an absolute travel nightmare may be on the horizon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

This hotel consists of the two parts: the major one with the reception, eating area, and rooms, and the annex across the street with just rooms. We spent three nights in mid-October in the annex without any real disappointment. Indeed, everything was working including the very strong WiFi signal and even if our room might have been looking outdated and requiring a good overhaul, still it was providing us for all we really needed and quite comfortably. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, there was not a single problem that we might think of. We enjoyed very good and fresh breakfasts every morning (many hotels with a larger number of stars are not even close!) and the service in the eating area was unimportunate and very efficient. Given the hotel's location inside the walls of the Old City right at the Jaffa Gates and just steps away from the Christian Quarter and major Christian sites, we may say that the hotel is the real star and everyone who is planning his or her visit of the Old City should consider the Gloria hotel as their home in Jerusalem.
Other advantages of the hotel's location are
- a minute away from the beautiful walking area, named Mamillah, full of good shops, cafes, restaurants, we had lots of fun there
- good transportation to the Central bus terminal (use bus route 20) and farther - no need in taxis (6.20 shekels a ride)
- the starting point for the walking tour on the walls of the Old City (from the Jaffa Gates to the Lion Gates)
- real Arab bazaars in the narrow streets of the Old City.
Needless to say that through our staying in the hotel we felt ourselves very safe inside the Old City, even during late evenings
One important notice though: car access to the hotel may be limited. That said, let us be clear: a taxi cab can bring you right to the Jaffa Gates, but then you may be required to make another 60 meters on your feet. We can not recommend trying to bring a rented car to the hotel.

Summing up, we liked staying in the Gloria Hotel very much, and confidently recommend it to anyone, interested in the real Jerusalem experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Middle_age_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

For our wirlwind 5-day stay in Jerusalem, it was great to stay at the Gloria Hotel. Located within the Old city walls, it was within walking distance of many Biblical sites.

Stayed: May 2010
2  Thank AnnaC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This was my second stay at the Gloria with a group of Christian pilgrims, and everyone was enthusiastic about the thrill of staying inside the ancient walls. 100 meters from where King Herod's Palace stood, inside Jaffa Gate. The rooftop terrace provides superb views in every direction. It is less than 10 minutes' walk to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. The rooms are comfortable, with private bath and air conditioned. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious and attractively presented. The management team was friendly and sensitive to our needs. We hope to stay there again. Highly recommended.
Wesley H. Brown, Claremont, CA, USA

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wes_Brown_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed for 8 days; not one hitch. Clean, quiet air conditioned rooms with excellent service. Located adjacent to the Jaffa Gate in the Old City of Jerusalem. Lots of shops and restaurants and multiple historical sights within easy walking distance. 12 minutes to the Western Wall. Superlative Armenian buffet for breakfast and supper. Food excellent and beautifully and artistically presented. Rooftop views of the city and sky. I have not one negative comment or experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LWEAGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Situated just within Jaffa gate of the Old City its very good esp when returning late after dark you dont wanna be walking through the maze of the old city just to get to your hotel when your tired and hungry. They have a bar and make great cappucino's. Breaky not bad but I couldnt manage to eat so early when I was going on various tours. Staff are pleasant, no hassle from anyone, a calm peaceful place to sleep. It is basic in decor, although the reception areas look much nicer than the rooms, could do with up-dating its rooms but for its location, no fear of bed bugs, its worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abbi248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#56 of 101 in Jerusalem
312 reviews
Notre Dame Guest House
#21 of 101 in Jerusalem
547 reviews
The Sephardic House
#52 of 101 in Jerusalem
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#49 of 101 in Jerusalem
239 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Hotel

Address: 33 Latin Patriarchate Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £82 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing