We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice staff.”
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It's a nice hotel,
Not luxury but clean and cozy.
The location is great, at a cool street with great coffee and nice stores.
Near the city center you can walk to a lot of places.
It's my second time and sure I will get back on my next visit to Jerusalem.
No parking to the hotel but you can find parking lots nearby.
Have fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdiRozenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is simple but has all you need for a vaction in jerusalem. We got a nice room facing shatz street. There is enough space in the room, lot of place for the clothes. The breakfast is superb and the stuff is polite. What shoud be improved are small maintenance problems like we had a broken hook for the shower. but it is minor. the hotel was an excellent chise

Room Tip: high floor facing the street. I think the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Delicious restaurant below the hotel and perfect walking distance to Ben Yehuda where we liked to shop. Close, but not too close. Walking distance to Jaffa Gate where the Jerusalem Day celebrations were.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank BekahHeffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

we've been on weekend, two weeks ago.
the hotel is nice, and the staff are very welcoming.
rooms are average.

the two main advantages are:
1. LOCATION. terrific. just close to everything - the "Mahane Yehuda" market, the "Ben Yehuda" street - center of nightlife, the old city, Mamila Mall and more.

2. Friday Dinner. not included. we ordered in advance. it was high-class dinner with very tastefull food and lots of varieties. very recommended.


we will definitely go back to this hotel, because the advantages gained much more than anything else.

I highly recommend it for non Israelis, because they can feel the atmosphere of the city by night and day, by staying in the heart of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our group of ten couples enjoyed a weekend in Jerusalem, and this is our third visit to Montefiore Hotel. The Hotel is very good located. Nice rooms, good service and a very good buffet breakfast.We certainly will stay in this hotel on our next weekend in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Not much to rave or rant on at this property. The location is great, equidistant from the Old City and the bus station which were my big destinations during my stay in Jerusalem. Walking distance to Jaffa Gate and not far from the tram line.

The staff were friendly on check in and they fielded my request of a room on the higher floors (I got a room on the top level). The view was from my room was expansive but didn't look at anything in particular.

The room itself had a dated feel, sort of like a dorm room. But it was comfortable and clean. No issues in the bathroom.

The one big point of difference at this property was the fully loaded breakfast in the morning. Quite a large selection and it would have been absolutely perfect if they only offered specialty coffees such as a latte (I abhor drip coffee).

The price point was excellent for the value and I would recommend this property for a cheap and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAN_in_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.com

We are glad the you enjoyed our new breakfast, and I am delighted to inform you that as from yesterday, we have a new coffee machine, with freshly grounded coffee beans,where one can select the type of coffee he desires.
We hope to see you again among our guests on your next trip to Jerusalem

Best regards,

Naama Yemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Montefiore Hotel is a simple hotel-not fancy-but great price and great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet pedestrian street with a couple of small cafe's nearby. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Old Jerusalem and just five minutes away from the pedestrian street of Ben Yehuda with lots of restaurants and shops. The staff are helpful. Only issue is unloading luggage from the street up the hill and parking is a five minute walk away (in a small lot where you do wonder if the car will be there when you return). Otherwise, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
630 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
591 reviews
Shamai Suites
#35 of 101 in Jerusalem
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
497 reviews
Hillel 11
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
411 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing