We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value / Great Location”
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed for 4 nights. I have to qualify the review by saying that I spent very little time in the hotel (just sleeping and breakfast). The room served mainly as a staging area for all my activities outside, and as such I did not need any amenities more than a clean room and good breakfast.

The cost for my stay was $99 per night, which was a very good price considering the location, and the very nice breakfast. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The breakfast is awesome featuring many hot dishes and also an array of salads and cheeses (really more than a normal person needs to eat every day). Probably I didn't each much lunch or dinner because the breakfast was almost a whole day's meal. (I didn't stay for Shabbos, so I can't comment on that.)

The location is right in the center of the city. It is a few blocks from several synagogues, including The Great Synagogue (Hechal Shlomo), Machane Yehuda, Ben Yehuda Street, and a short walk to Yafo Gate in the Old City.

The only *minor* problem I experienced was parking. The hotel has an agreement with a very small private lot, which is about 3 blocks from the hotel. The lot is only attended from about 9 am to 6 pm (?). It can be very full, so you are not guaranteed a spot whenever you arrive (especially if you arrive after hours on a night when it is full). One night I wasn't able to get a parking spot at all. It turned out however, that at night, on-street parking in the area is not so hard, and it does not cost. So if you have a car, be prepared for a little bit of chaos around the parking.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much, and even switched from the Leonardo Hotel (St. George) back to the Montefiore because the value, atmosphere, and location were so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The low number rooms seem to have a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Recently my daughter and I spent 4 nights at the Montefiore Hotel. Nice rooms and quiet, though a little small, with fully equipped bathrooms. The staff were very courteous and helped with whatever questions we had. The breakfast buffet was really very nice with a wide variety of foods and great coffee selections. As for location, we were an easy 15 minute walk from the Old City and just a little more than a 5 minute walk from the Mehane Yehuda market. We were also just a few minute walk from many other pedestrian shopping areas with lots of restaurants and grocery stores. A great value for the price and a place I will target on a return trip to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was an incredible stay!! Breakfast was excellent and the rooms were a perfect size and had everything I needed. The staff was incredible and helped me with everything. Also, it was very clean and not loud. The best part of this hotel is its location. Ben Yehuda is a block away and the Old City is only twenty minutes walking distance. The hotel is the center of everything and provides you with a great Israeli experience. Overall, this was an amazing stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjkranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Montefiore Hotel is a small hotel, very nice and comfortable. the rooms are big enough, neat, and clean. The great advantage of Montefiore Hotel is the location: its in the center of Jerusalem, close enough to walk to most of the interesting cites. The hotel is located at a Pedestrian only street and therefore quiet and pleasant.
The only disadvantage is that there is no parking for the car at the hotel. But still, it's
Most recommended!

Room Tip: We asked for one mattress bed, and got a promise by the phone we would get, but actually we had 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Einavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The rooms are good and looked renewed. Breakfast was good.
The location is great, on a quiet alley but right in the middle of the city.
Service was nice and helpful.
All in all, a good hotel for staying in Jerusalem. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room away from the elevator, because it's operation is a bit loud. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assaf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room is compact but adequate. I am located on the top floor or 6th floor and therefore get light into my window.
The location is very good, just minutes to the bus and train. You can walk to the Kotel since it is downhill but I recommend a 2 stop train ride on the way back.
Well located for access to cafes, shops and restaurants.
Breakfast includes an expresso machine, hot items, and everything from herring to halvah.

Room Tip: recommend the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was a nice stay but something was missing..the room was small, on Saturday the breakfast was small and there was no real coffee:-(
Reception wasn't always manned, needed to wait to get my room.
It was hot in the room with no option to operate the air conditioner on "cool"
Location is the best!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
632 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Shamai Suites
#37 of 101 in Jerusalem
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
497 reviews
Hillel 11
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
412 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#29 of 101 in Jerusalem
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £68 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing