We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value”
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Location of the hotel is perfect - in a walking distance to old town. Busy surroding to have a beer in the evening. The tram #1 will bring you to the bus station and the bus #77 to the train station. The direct surrounding of the hotel is quiet. Verz good breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lescheck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

good location, comfortable room, rich breakfast, also quite good chance of parking a car at the streets nearby, during a night free of charge...we recommend it to all travellers.......................

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 228lubica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent 10 days there with a small group and we were made very welcome. Particularly want to compliment Aus, Chen and Hassan on the reception desk; all of whom were really helpful. My room was on the third floor overlooking Shatz St. Slightly surprised on first morning to open the curtains and have someone on the balcony opposite wave at me :-) They could do with blinds or net curtains! Room clean but well lived in, comfy with small fridge, tv, kettle etc. Also worth mentioning the efficient and helpful cleaning staff.

We were on a half-board deal and the food, both at breakfast and in the evening was excellent - Samel, one of the chefs, made a special meal for us one evening with an upside-down chicken dish; brilliant! The only small criticism was that they could be a bit more organised about signing for drinks as we had a slight hitch when checking out because a couple of the bar bills had been allocated to the wrong rooms.

Was also really pleased at how central the hotel is. Shatz St is a small pedestrian street linking King George St and Shmuel HaNagid Street (I couldn't find it on the map before we went). Craft market in street on Friday morning. Walked down to the Old City in 25 minutes; Ben Yehuda is only five minutes away and a bus stop also a couple of minutes walk. Great!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonadepocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

our room was comfortable, the staff pleasant and the breakfast good; the location is right iin the center of town

we would definitely stay at the Montefiore again and have already recommended it to friends

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we order two nights-great location, great room vert clean and nice bethroom. 5 minets from all the cool places-bars, pubs, the market. the breakfast was very rich- Israeli breakfast: fruits, salads, jam, halva,sweets,fish, shaksuka.... its a great hotel in the capital.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed for 4 nights. I have to qualify the review by saying that I spent very little time in the hotel (just sleeping and breakfast). The room served mainly as a staging area for all my activities outside, and as such I did not need any amenities more than a clean room and good breakfast.

The cost for my stay was $99 per night, which was a very good price considering the location, and the very nice breakfast. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The breakfast is awesome featuring many hot dishes and also an array of salads and cheeses (really more than a normal person needs to eat every day). Probably I didn't each much lunch or dinner because the breakfast was almost a whole day's meal. (I didn't stay for Shabbos, so I can't comment on that.)

The location is right in the center of the city. It is a few blocks from several synagogues, including The Great Synagogue (Hechal Shlomo), Machane Yehuda, Ben Yehuda Street, and a short walk to Yafo Gate in the Old City.

The only *minor* problem I experienced was parking. The hotel has an agreement with a very small private lot, which is about 3 blocks from the hotel. The lot is only attended from about 9 am to 6 pm (?). It can be very full, so you are not guaranteed a spot whenever you arrive (especially if you arrive after hours on a night when it is full). One night I wasn't able to get a parking spot at all. It turned out however, that at night, on-street parking in the area is not so hard, and it does not cost. So if you have a car, be prepared for a little bit of chaos around the parking.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much, and even switched from the Leonardo Hotel (St. George) back to the Montefiore because the value, atmosphere, and location were so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The low number rooms seem to have a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Recently my daughter and I spent 4 nights at the Montefiore Hotel. Nice rooms and quiet, though a little small, with fully equipped bathrooms. The staff were very courteous and helped with whatever questions we had. The breakfast buffet was really very nice with a wide variety of foods and great coffee selections. As for location, we were an easy 15 minute walk from the Old City and just a little more than a 5 minute walk from the Mehane Yehuda market. We were also just a few minute walk from many other pedestrian shopping areas with lots of restaurants and grocery stores. A great value for the price and a place I will target on a return trip to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#18 of 100 in Jerusalem
630 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#40 of 100 in Jerusalem
658 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#45 of 100 in Jerusalem
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#34 of 100 in Jerusalem
343 reviews
Hillel 11
#51 of 100 in Jerusalem
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shats, Jerusalem 9426707, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £66 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing