We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly decorated, but some major flaws”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Service staff could not find our reservation as it had been listed under the agency making the reservation and they did not seem to realize that the names needed to be searched for, not the agency. That left us in considerable doubt for quite a few hours. Were we going to be sleeping at the attractive Hotel Jerusalem or not (yes was finally the answer)?
No woman available at check-in to help carry bags upstairs; perhaps others have noted that this does not seem to be a job for Arab men.
Rooms were attractively furnished for the most part; then you'd be disappointed later on by finding dust bunnies on the floor and earwigs enjoying the habitat-- or you'd look straight up and see an ancient electric light fixture, with ceiling hole and wires clearly visible and ugly.
The hotel had a very nice garden restaurant which served excellent food and a yummy mint lemonade that would slake anyone's thirst.

Room Tip: Perhaps try another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pippilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hotel Jerusalem at the southern end of East Jerusalem is very well situated and charmy. The rooms are large and high. The antique feeling fits to the Jerusalem experience; the Arabic crowd and the Christian Garden Tomb visitors around as well. The old town is just 3 min away (Damascus Gate), a station of the new tram line just 5 min away. If you arrive by bus: Just take the tram. Taxi needs too long (heavy traffic) and is expensive. Staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms could have been cleaned a bit better; but no reason to change to some larger and anonymous place...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I booked this hotel because it was rated by Lonely Planet as one of the best "Top End" picks in East Jerusalem. It was NOT what expected. I booked this hotel as one of my "nice" nights before starting some budget travel to unwind after the flight. I am a solo female traveler. I was booked in a small room on the second floor (there is no elevator and no one offered to help with my bag). The room had 2 single beds in a dingy room. I skipped the shower in the am because there was no hot water. I ate dinner at the hotel restaurant at night and it was fine ... but nothing to write home about. It was difficult getting the waiters' attention as a solo female.

Also, I had arranged with the hotel for a cab to pick me up at Ben Guiron Airport for ~$85. I had confirmation by email. When I arrived at the airport there was no cab in sight. I found this very disappointing. I have never been to Israel and as a solo female had to take an Israeli cab that wouldn't drive me to the hotel who drove me most of the way but then found a random "Arab" cab driver to take me the rest of the way. This was NOT acceptable when I had arranged a cab with the hotel in the first place.

On the plus side they do give you a note to give to the bar for a complimentary drink upon arrival. I would stay here if you can't afford the American Colony Hotel (Jerusalem hotel is about 100 dollars cheaper a night for a single room), however you get MORE than the 100 dollars at the American Colony. (Just don't try to book a cab through them)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldcitizen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Four of us stayed here, so we saw two of the 14 rooms in this hotel, both of them on the ground floor. The rooms were stone-walled and characterful, with decent air conditioining and a ceiling fan. However, they were very cramped, and the bathroom in one was tiny and in very poor condition. Overall, this hotel was more like a high-end backpacker place or a pension/guest house than a hotel, which would be ok except for the high price (we paid about 180 USD per room in July). However, the location is superb, being only 5 minutes from the Damascus Gate, which no doubt factors into the price. Reception staff was friendly but not overly helpful. In contrast the cafe/restaurant staff were very welcoming, and the garden in which the cafe is situated is definitely worth spending time in, even if you are not staying at the hotel - it is an oasis of calm, where you can get a beer, a glass of wine or some fresh juice, and recharge.

Pros: great location, lovely garden cafe, decent breakfast
Cons: very cramped rooms, poor bathrooms, no hot water in the morning

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pablo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in May. As previously reported, the hotel is situated in East Jerusalem, only a five minute walk from the Damscus Gate and the wonders of the Old City.

I had a single room, which was small (two double beds crammed along a wall) but comfortable. The room had wifi and a TV that I never quite got the hang of -- it was impossible to get a picture or reception. No matter, as I was not in Jerusalem for the TV.
The room also had a terrific and very effective AC system - operated by a remote control. It got frigid fast --- a major plus in a very hot city.

The hotel is nicely decorated with Middle Eastern artifacts and pictures. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and responsive.

The adjoining restaurant offers excellent food at fair prices. Don't get too excited about the breakfast included in the tariff. Served buffet style, the offerings were not very tempting, but you can't beat the price.

The hotel offers tours through Alterante Tours -- an outfit that features day trips to many sites under Palestinian authority. I was interested in the Bethlehem tour, however, despite being listed as available for two days running, it was postponed due to lack of participants. Too bad.

Also, visitors should be warned that on Friday night there is a concert of traditional Palestinian music in the restaurant/courtyard in front of the hotel. While the music is quite good, if you are in need of sleep and have a room in the front of the hotel, you'll be in trouble. The music is quite loud and goes to midnight.... Something to consider -- book a room in the backside of the building.

All in all, as I state in the title of this report - this is not a luxury property. But it does provide comfortable housing, good food (not the comp breakfast, however) and very close proximity to the old city.

Book this place, if you want a comfortable, affordable stay that is very close to the action.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We spent a week at the Jerusalem Hotel in March. We had chosen the hotel particularly because of its location (very close to the Damascus Gate), and from other Tripadvisor reviews we expected that the hotel would be comfortable, and individual. But it is more than this. Not just the generous breakfasts, for example: breakfasts served by an especially charming lady who always had time to wish us good morning and have a short chat. The pleasure of getting to know the small children of one of the staff members as they were off on their way to school in the mornings. The high standard of information from everyone on the desk - always good information, but accompanied by a feeling that they love their city, too. The restaurant which seemed all day to be open, serving delicious meals to a delightful multi-cultural clientele. We were very pleased that we had chosen a place to stay on the Palestinian side of the city: we now have a very different perspective on the political situation, and can see better where there are two sides to questions.

Our room was lovely: two large beds, old original furniture and fittings, a small balcony looking over the bus station to the Old City - always something to see. We were close to buses so that we could get all over the place to see what we wanted: we do not like to depend on taxis, and there was no need.

Our advice to Tripadvisor readers: choose the Jerusalem Hotel - book early, because it is small - and feel part of a real Palestine lifestyle.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My husband and I just returned from a month long trip to Israel and by far the most memorable hotel we stayed in was the Jerusalem Hotel, located in east Jerusalem, right outside the Damascus gate.
This 14 room hotel, in an old Arab Home, with it's connected restaurant provides a glimpse into the life of the city, and it seems to be a gathering place for many NGO folks who are working on peace issues.
The rooms vary and we stayed in both room 207 and 206. These face the back of the building are are very quiet. 206 is a corner room with good ventilation and a charming small balcony
This may not be the hotel for you If you are looking for the fluffiest towels and other luxuries but the location right outside the old city is superb, the rooms are charming, the staff is uniformly helpful and the restaurant is always a great way to meet people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tituspaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#55 of 100 in Jerusalem
326 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 100 in Jerusalem
851 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Walls Hotel
#52 of 100 in Jerusalem
242 reviews
Villa Brown Jerusalem
#2 of 100 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
Shamai Suites
#35 of 100 in Jerusalem
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £95 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in an old Arab mansion located only a few meters from the Garden Tomb and The Damascus Gate and within a short walking distance to major historical and cultural sites.Originally built by a feudal lord in the heart of the ancient city of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem hotel has been carefully renovated.Accentuate its 19th century Arab character and refurbished with Arabesque furniture.This distinct architecture is evident in the arched windows.High ceilings, cool stone flagging and secluded vine garden.The thick stone walls, cut from unique creamy Jerusalem stone,Have been exposed and pointed with a traditional Arabic plaster.Rooms are timelessly decorated with antiques inspiring a Middle Eastern oriental milieu.Each of our 14 rooms is custom-furnished, air conditioned and provides a state of the art, fast internet connection, network facilities, wireless internet, two direct dial, separate phone lines, and a Yes cable receiver for guests comfort viewing.Once upon a time a gentle women and men but are start our speech and pleasantries reach, we must offer greetings!and peace!Shall we tell tales tonight .or sleep?we'll tell tales ...once upon a time the storytellers tells such quenching grapes fell upon a place, named KAN ZAMANwhere doors open wide where nerves do unwind where friends and dear ones and visitor who loved once from every neighborhood and home do stay...Enjoying the charms of nights, and joys of the day...The two eating places, the airy 'VINE' garden-patio restaurant and the authentic Diwan (indoor) offer a rich variety of Mediterranean dishes as a full meal or as a snack at reasonable prices. Live Arabic music is organized weekly. The Diwan is ideal for parties accommodating up to forty guests.Whatever the reason for you to visit Jerusalem, our hotel offers the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing