We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerusalem hotel stay”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here a few years ago. It was my first time to Jerusalem. I loved the location. It's a very short walk to Damascus Gate. Rooms are OK. It's a bit pricey for the value but the staff is really nice and they have a very nice restaurant and bar area on a terrace out front of the hotel. I really liked the breakfast. They also have a tour guide working for a company that you can book small group tours to various locations in Israel and the West Bank. I did the half day trip to Bethlehem and a full day trip to Nablus. I had a great time, although I would have wanted to stay another couple of hours in Bethlehem.

Room Tip: There's a little mosque behind the hotel that will wake you up but that's not bad when you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromnyctofll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The only thing good about this small hotel is the location which is fairly close to the Damascus gate.
A part for this, it is a very poor value for money proposition .
There is no elevator.
The rooms are gloomy, and noisy. We came here in December and the heating system was not working. We felt cold in our room.
Toilets are very small.
Forget breakfast in the morning. Very poor food and terrible coffee.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the most remarkable place I have ever been in. The outside belies what is inside - a veritable Alladin's Cave of beautiful architective and furinshings from a bygone era. The rooms are large and the Wifi excellent. I am not sure about parking but you don't want a car in Jerusalem. The alternative political jerusalem tour starts here and is a must to understand what is going on politically in Israel. On a previous visit to Jerusalem I stayed in a high rise hotel which was one of the worst experiences of my travels. In contrast this hotel is one of the best. There is a restuarant as part of the hotel and it seems to be a destination point in itself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place is a gem. Very beautiful surroundings around the hotel, a great breakfast included with your stay. It was easy to walk to inside the old city, and the garden of the tomb. We also discovered a nice little tile workshop just up the street. We booked one of the alternative tours at the hotel, and we also recommend those, as you will get a deeper perspective of the region, beyond all the religious and holy sites.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by someone who is not easy to please and it lived up to our expectations. I had seen the place on previous visits to the city but was never tempted to go inside, what a mistake! The simple exterior hides a gem of architecture, furnishings, tasteful rooms and wonderful staff. The breakfast room is in the basement but you can take a laden tray back up the steps to the main restaurant where plentiful good coffee is served by an attentive, smiling waitress. Excellent wifi connection and this is where one can book to go on an Alternative Tour which is highly recommended as insights are gained that would be hard to learn of otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel, so not overlooking the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Very convinient location - just few minutes to Damascus gate and old town. Located in old stone house and wondefully decorated with authentic furniture and things. All rooms are different - ours was very spacey, with nice balcony and wonderfull embroided bedcovers. Extremely helpful night receptionist - if you need to book something, you better ask in the evening, daytime receptionists are not very helpfull. Breakfast was the best we exprienced during our travel to Israel, and same goes for the restaurant - nice and tasty. Try Meza plate - it is lot of things and they all are delicious.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brungilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel has got a soul! It's beautifully decorated old house with stone walls, the rooms are high and the atmosphere is great. If you want your hotel to be spotlessly clean with everything up to date, this hotel might not be for you, but still I think it is quite clean, and the few dead flies you might find on the restaurant window panes are counterbalanced by the huge amount of charm this hotel has. Most guests are probably mesmerized by the house and the rooms!

The location is very close to the old city, and also a tram stop is very close so it's easy to take a tram to the modern city center. The neighborhood around the hotel is maybe a bit rough, I have to say that after dark I felt a bit uncomfortable walking around there, although I don't know factually if it's unsafe or not.

The restaurant at the hotel is nice. Don't expect fine dining here, but good traditional food and good atmosphere with local people hanging around. After a day of walking around Jerusalem it was great to have dinner at the hotel restaurant or enjoy some pints of Taybeh (palestinian beer). The breakfast was ok, but nothing very special.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Olazabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
241 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#56 of 101 in Jerusalem
312 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#38 of 101 in Jerusalem
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#50 of 101 in Jerusalem
413 reviews
A Little House in Bakah
#32 of 101 in Jerusalem
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £99 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in an old Arab mansion located only a few meters from the Garden Tomb and The Damascus Gate and within a short walking distance to major historical and cultural sites.Originally built by a feudal lord in the heart of the ancient city of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem hotel has been carefully renovated.Accentuate its 19th century Arab character and refurbished with Arabesque furniture.This distinct architecture is evident in the arched windows.High ceilings, cool stone flagging and secluded vine garden.The thick stone walls, cut from unique creamy Jerusalem stone,Have been exposed and pointed with a traditional Arabic plaster.Rooms are timelessly decorated with antiques inspiring a Middle Eastern oriental milieu.Each of our 14 rooms is custom-furnished, air conditioned and provides a state of the art, fast internet connection, network facilities, wireless internet, two direct dial, separate phone lines, and a Yes cable receiver for guests comfort viewing.Once upon a time a gentle women and men but are start our speech and pleasantries reach, we must offer greetings!and peace!Shall we tell tales tonight .or sleep?we'll tell tales ...once upon a time the storytellers tells such quenching grapes fell upon a place, named KAN ZAMANwhere doors open wide where nerves do unwind where friends and dear ones and visitor who loved once from every neighborhood and home do stay...Enjoying the charms of nights, and joys of the day...The two eating places, the airy 'VINE' garden-patio restaurant and the authentic Diwan (indoor) offer a rich variety of Mediterranean dishes as a full meal or as a snack at reasonable prices. Live Arabic music is organized weekly. The Diwan is ideal for parties accommodating up to forty guests.Whatever the reason for you to visit Jerusalem, our hotel offers the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing