We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try supporting an inclusive and welcoming place!”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try supporting an inclusive and welcoming place!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

On a human rights tour and stayed, whenever possible, at the Jerusalem Hotel. It is a Palestinian style-- hospitality, warmth, and comfort. A great restaurant is the ideal place to meet friends and talk. Everyone is friendly.

The rooms are clean and the beds lush and comfy. I felt I was sleeping in a elegant ancient Arabic queen's room.

Room Tip: This is the place to stay if the ethnically cleansed Israeli hotels are a total turn off. I'm Je...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malkah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    93
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
42
60
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Jerusalem Hotel for 5 nights. The location near the Damascus Gate was great for seeing the old city, and we didn’t even mind walking from the hotel to the trendy areas of the new city. The unassuming exterior is actually a 145-year-old building that used to be a mansion, so keep in mind that the 60-year-old retrofit to a hotel isn’t perfect, with small bathrooms and interior doors that might not entirely shut. Nonetheless, the place has lots of charm, with kindly staff that will do whatever they can to help you. When reserving a room about 2 months prior to our stay, we were informed that room selection is based on what is available at the time of check-in. We arrived on a Friday night, and were given room #203, the only room available, which had two twin beds, ample space in the room, but with an extremely narrow bathroom that had water running out of the shower onto the bathroom floor. It was also a bit noisy because it faces the front toward the bus station and courtyard, which had entertainment that night until 11pm. We had no problems the next day changing to room 207, which was across the hall facing the back of the property, which was much quieter, had a nice balcony, a small but less narrow bathroom, and also ample room with 2 twin beds. We stayed in this room for three nights, which perfectly suited our needs, but when the air conditioner malfunctioned (making loud noise and dripping water), we moved to room 207 for our last night. Room 207 was huge, with 2 queen beds, plenty of additional space, a small but adequate bathroom, and also facing the back of the property. All of the rooms had very high ceilings, adequate wardrobes, interesting old furniture, air conditioning, and flat screen TV’s. The breakfast, which is included in the price, had a decent selection of breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, salads, and some eggs. Overall, we really liked the hotel, which is a very good value for Jerusalem. The restaurant served tasty food.

One of the reasons we selected this hotel was because we read that Abu Hassan runs his Alternative Tours from the hotel, which we thought would be interesting and convenient. Unfortunately, we had a very bad experience with Mr. Hassan, and the Jerusalem Hotel should strongly consider disassociating itself from his dishonest operation. I had exchanged several emails with Mr. Hassan prior to arriving in Jerusalem, found his description of what he would provide to us a little vague until l requested details, but we arrived with the understanding that our tour would begin at 9am. However, when we arrived (we also agreed to use him for transportation from the airport to the Jerusalem Hotel), he informed us through the driver’s cell phone that the tour would start at 10am. When I questioned the change in time he reluctantly agreed to a pick-up at 9:30am, but the actual tour guide didn’t show up until 10:30am. While the tour guide seemed very apologetic about the apparent traffic issue that caused his late arrival, we were subsequently informed that if we wanted to go to the Mount of Olives area, which was supposed to be part of the tour, we would have to pay extra for a taxi to drive the three of us there. After additional discussion with the guide, who seemed genuinely apologetic about the misunderstanding through Mr. Hassan, he hailed an apparent friend from the street who took us to the Mount of Olives area. While our tour with this guide was then fine, we felt mistrustful of Mr. Hassan and were concerned that we had already booked another tour with Mr. Hassan for the Dead Sea, Masada, and Jericho, but decided to give him another chance. We then received another call from Mr. Hassan, indicating that our agreed upon second tour also could not be arranged as he promised, at which point I told Mr. Hassan that I didn’t feel we could trust him for another tour, and he then screamed vulgar language at me and hung up the phone. We then informed Jerusalem Hotel staff of our predicament, the staff very understanding and were able to at late notice arrange for us to go on a similar tour with another tour company the next morning. Keep in mind that Mr. Hassan’s Alternative tours has nothing to do with the Green Olive Alternative tours or other groups calling themselves “Alternative.”

Room Tip: Ask for Room 207, or at least a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Arriving at the Jerusalem Hotel at 2.00am after a redeye flight from Cyprus, we thought we'd made a terrible mistake. It was unlit, hard to find, and in a drab back street of east Jerusalem with the B-team in charge on the night desk. By daylight it was a different story - and the staff at JRH were helpful and considerate during our 4 day stay. We came to see the hotel as a refuge from the chaos of the old city at day's end. The food was very good and the beer reliably cold. The large beds were comfortable and the old rooms spacious and cool on a warm day. Our rooms had sunny balconies and klunky sort of bathrooms. It was a bit different from a standard 4-star hotel but our group of 4 travellers will always remember it fondly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy-bedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOs Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is located in East Jerusalem across from the Damascus Gate. This places it in the middle of the Muslim Quarter of the Old City. This area is not safe particularly for Jews and tourists from the West. The entrance to the Muslim Quarter is safe guarded by IDF soldiers when entering from the Jewish Quarter and their are strict restriction due to safety concerns for tourist. I was unaware of the hotels location when I booked. After arriving, hearing the call for prayer on the load speakers and discovering its location I walked in and said I cant stay here and immediately left. Please beware when booking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Morda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaedJeru, Manager at Jerusalem Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
The hotel is located in the center of Jerusalem. We are a couple of minutes from Damascus Gate, very close to the majority of the tourist sites including the Holy Sepulcher, Via deLaRosa the Garden Tomb and others.
Of the prominent institutions in our area, with links with the world, and that attracts lots of Pilgrims to the city, the Monastery of the White Sisters, Schmidt's Girl College, Dominican Convent, Ecole Biblique and the Garden Tomb and others.
The hotel is also on the Road to the Wailing Wall, many ultra Orthodox Jews pass by on their way for prayer, contrary to the assumption of these visitors who did not respect their reservation because they didn't feel that they are in a Jewish hotel or Jewish area.
These guests had to write a misinformed remark about a very well central located hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a charm, different from the standard fare.....The building is old and my bedroom with it high ceilings had a door about 8 feet up the wall....The stay was worth the experience...The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make out stay pleasant,....The restaurant was standard Palestinian food...

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maynard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We ate here on a Friday night.

Ordered the hummus (NIS 18) appetizer, it was nondescript and forgettable.

Ordered the mixed grill as I had a craving for some mixed grill. For NIS 89 I expected a lot more in both quality and quantity.
The chicken and the minced meat kebabs were average, the lamb was decent but not quite there in freshness nor tenderness.

The icing on the cake is the NIS 15 cover charge, which we had not known about beforehand.

Inferior food, for a bill of NIS 110, I could get food five times better elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeisterJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just the best place to stay in Jerusalem - brilliantly convenient for the Old City and all else especially West Bank sites. Full of character and charm. Don't expect 5-star, chain hotel add-ons: it's not about that. (If you like Hilton and Best Western, stay away!). I always stay in Arab East Jerusalem - generally I find the West (Israeli) Jerusalem hotels mechanical and unfriendly.

Excellent restaurant/bar with good food, is buzzing with journalists and NGO types.

Room Tip: Don't sleep at the front - bus station and building work can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzaAzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#44 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#54 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Hotel
Address: Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in an old Arab mansion located only a few meters from the Garden Tomb and The Damascus Gate and within a short walking distance to major historical and cultural sites.Originally built by a feudal lord in the heart of the ancient city of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem hotel has been carefully renovated.Accentuate its 19th century Arab character and refurbished with Arabesque furniture.This distinct architecture is evident in the arched windows.High ceilings, cool stone flagging and secluded vine garden.The thick stone walls, cut from unique creamy Jerusalem stone,Have been exposed and pointed with a traditional Arabic plaster.Rooms are timelessly decorated with antiques inspiring a Middle Eastern oriental milieu.Each of our 14 rooms is custom-furnished, air conditioned and provides a state of the art, fast internet connection, network facilities, wireless internet, two direct dial, separate phone lines, and a Yes cable receiver for guests comfort viewing.Once upon a time a gentle women and men but are start our speech and pleasantries reach, we must offer greetings!and peace!Shall we tell tales tonight .or sleep?we'll tell tales ...once upon a time the storytellers tells such quenching grapes fell upon a place, named KAN ZAMANwhere doors open wide where nerves do unwind where friends and dear ones and visitor who loved once from every neighborhood and home do stay...Enjoying the charms of nights, and joys of the day...The two eating places, the airy 'VINE' garden-patio restaurant and the authentic Diwan (indoor) offer a rich variety of Mediterranean dishes as a full meal or as a snack at reasonable prices. Live Arabic music is organized weekly. The Diwan is ideal for parties accommodating up to forty guests.Whatever the reason for you to visit Jerusalem, our hotel offers the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing