We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambiance and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Recently I attended a conference that was held at the Notre Dame Guest House. Not only were the conference facilities well-equipped, but the hotel itself was extremely comfortable and relaxing. The architecture and decor were beautiful, and the personnel at the front desk were efficient and pleasant. The young lady who handled my purchases in the gift shop was very helpful. The location is just a few steps away from the Old City of Jerusalem. There is free computer access in an alcove off the lobby, as well as an outstanding view of the city from the penthouse restaurant. There are no luxuries such as a gym or swimming pool -- but I never look for those things when I visit an ancient, historic city. I am looking forward to returning to Notre Dame as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I traveled with a monk and stayed here while visiting the Israel as part of a Holy Land tour. The Notre Dame has wonderful accommodations that won't break your budget. There is plenty to do and see with respect to history and worship. Easy assistance with transportation. The main building itself is a gorgeous structure. Good dining and suitable for families (primary guests). A safe and reliable Christian sanctuary, all guests will feel at home.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there is a curfew, if you plan to venture out for late night dining. There are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaceandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I attended a conference at Notre Dame's conference and found the facilities and location excellent. As mentioned, the towers at the front of the hotel are visible from a distance, making it easy to find if one gets turned around. The most outstanding feature for me, however, was the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the Notre Dame when on vacation and for a wedding. Beautiful and immaculately clean but because we were not with a pilgrimage group, we were not well received by staff. The front desk staff were especially unfriendly. My son requested a taxi be called and was told to hail one "from the street".
Location is great for going to the old city and very central but it should be advertized as not recommended for a more secular visit.

Room Tip: back side of hotel; we were on the front side and noise begins around 5 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

IPhone died this trip, so I apologize for lack of pictures but Notre Dame Pontifical Institute is definitely a good place to stay in Jerusalem. Although it doesn't have extraneous things like gyms or spas, the basics are available: wake-up calls, arrangement of tours and taxi/airport transport, info regarding local buses/sights, etc. I found the multi-lingual staff to be honest, knowledgeable and willing to help. Currency exchange seemed to be done without commission and at fair rate (I changed JOD, US Dollars and NIS) and there is also an ATM in the lobby.

Liked this place very much for its beautiful architecture, proximity to significant sites of note, ease of transportation, and well kept grounds. Location across from Old City's "New Gate" very convenient and also safe (I am a solo traveling female). Entry gate is guarded 24/7 but security is not draconian and intrusive, as it can be in other Middle Eastern places I'ved stayed. Its huge, well-lit steeples also provided good point of reference for the directionally challenged (me).

The impressive hotel is a brisk 5min downhill walk to the Arab bus station (no need to pay for a Bethlehem tour: took bus #21 direct to Bethlehem and back to bypass long walk from Rachel checkpoint) and tram (Mehane Yehuda, Central Bus Station, Mt.Hertzel, etc). Less than 10 min walk in same downhill direction as the Arab bus station is the Damascus Gate, while Jaffa Gate is a 10min uphill walk in opposite direction. The Artist Colony, King David Hotel and West Jerusalem are not much further.

Rooms were kept very clean and stocked with basic amenities such as towels, bath products, safe and air conditioning. The windows are screened and easy to open. No tv in room but then neither did I miss having one. WiFi fast and available around lobby/lounge area and in lower room (#213) I stayed in 2nd half of trip, but not available on higher room I stayed in (#313) first part of trip. However, both rooms consistently clean and with nice views and well-lit. Both had with very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and good water pressure. No issues with housekeeping. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and with wide range of hot/cold and western/eastern choices.

Overall liked this place very much, found it to be excellent value and well run. I stayed total 5nts between mid-late November and paid $180/nt with breakfast.

Room Tip: Front rooms have beautiful view of building but also get noise from early morning tour buses and tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouserou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent 5 nights in this hotel on our pilgrimage. The common areas a very well done and the rooms have been recently renovated. They are modest but very nice. The only issues we had were with noise on the front side of the hotel, so I'd recommend a room off the main road. We also had issues with the water temperature in the shower being inconsistent. However, the hotel staff is always willing to go the extra mile with any request you may have. The restaurant has very good food. The location can't be beat for access to shopping and it's proximity to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.

Room Tip: Get a room off the main road to avoid late night traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was here on a pilgrimage, and I was blown away by the hotel! The rooms were large, comfortable, and nicely decorated, the food was gretat, & most importantly the setting was perfect. All you have to do is go across the street to enter the Old City!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,635 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 100 in Jerusalem
850 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 100 in Jerusalem
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £176 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and opposite the New Gate of the Old City of Jerusalem and City Hall, guests are located a short walk away from the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulcher, Western Wall, and Dome of the Rock), as well as the attractions, shops and restaurants of the new city! Notre Dame offers three restaurants, a buffet, a cafeteria, and its famous rooftop restaurant offering breathtaking views and delicious dishes for lunch and dinner. Notre Dame also has a 500-seat conference center and auditorium as well as various meeting rooms and banqueting facilities to host your events. Free Wi-Fi is offered throughout the hotel and a business center is available for guests. Parking is also free for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing