We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Refuge in the Twists and Turns of the Old City”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lutheran Guest House
Ranked #9 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The guest house is perfectly situated near the Jaffa Gate of the old city, right in the heart of it all. I stayed in a 4 bedroom for 2 nights and it was a good size. The whole place was beautiful with great stonework, a room upstairs that was wonderful and a deck on the roof with a great view of the Church and Dome of the Rock. Our room was off the courtyard so our door opened to the outside so that part was chilly but the rooms themselves were warm. Breakfast was included and nice. Compared to how insanely expensive Jerusalem is for hotels, this was a nice welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blackwood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you are looking for a calm location inside the old city and just a simple room, this is your place. The room was very small (actually I could hardly imagine a smaller room including a double bed, a closet, a table, and a bathroom) but clean, bright, and with nice views. Excellent location, in the old city, but in a nice calm street.
Breakfast comparable to the room, simple but functional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WIlargia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel feels European. They thought of what you might need, including a hair dryer in the room and plenty of electrical outlets, but it's basic, not luxury. The rooms are small. However, there's a big room upstairs where you can read or look out at the city, and the breakfast is very good. It would not be a good choice if you have a lot of luggage because you have to haul it yourself for about 10 minutes through the old city to reach the taxi stand at Jaffa Gate. We did fine with our rolling carry-ons. The staff was helpful. Jerusalem is an expensive city and this was a reasonable place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed here twice, and the second time in room 25 which has a small balcony overlooking the Dome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Small but nice and clean rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast, helpfull staff and a great location. Very reasonable price for a good place to stay in Jerusalem. They also have a very nice terrace and garden.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights & this place was the perfect base. Near Jaffa Gate & in the Christian Quarter, the location was fantastic. The rooms are amazing & the bathrooms/heating was first class. There is a wonderful breakfast served in the dining hall & really was a great place to stay - we would happily return!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the end of the corridor (Room 26 on the 2nd floor i think) which had a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great position in the old city.
Essential but very clean rooms.
Breathtaking terrace with a fantastic view over the old city.
Not all rooms with the air conditioning.

The staff of the reception could have been kinder and more welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed one night in this Guest house, and were glad we weren't spending longer as our room was so small it only had a very small double bed and we couldn't unpack our suitcases, the public areas are very nice, and we had a wonderful view across the the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. Breakfast was good.
All in all, this wasn't as good value as other guest houses within the Old City walls. Be warned, to get to the guest house from Jaffa Gate, you have to go up several narrow streets with a lot of steps, so it isn't easy to get to with a suitcase.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jillharrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame Guest House
#16 of 102 in Jerusalem
514 reviews
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,143 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Guest House

Address: 7 Saint Mark | P.O. Box 14051, Jerusalem 9761163, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Lutheran Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing