We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lutheran Guest House
Ranked #9 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed in Jerusalem and East Jerusalem before but this is hands down my favorite place to stay now. The guest house entrance is located on a quiet side street running from David Street, quickly accessed from the Jaffa Gate. Stepping inside the guest house's lobby was like stepping into a pool of quiet. All of the staff were super friendly and had a great sense of humor when I kept coming back to ask questions. My parents and I stayed in a 3-bed room (#45) in the side wing of the guest house, and it was well placed up on the second floor with super close access to the dining room. The rooms were beautifully arranged and appointed, with nice decorative touches and a very clean feeling from the bathroom to the sheets. The room was equipped with AC and heaters, we definitely used the AC in mid-June! The whole place felt comfortable and relaxed, and they have superb common areas, both down in the courtyard and up on the roof of the main building. There is even access from the courtyard out onto a series of rooftop walkways, which I was sad I did not have time to explore this trip. The breakfast buffet included quite a wide variety and was substantial, with fresh fruit and hummus, cereals and hot dishes, etc. It was more than enough to tank up for half a day.

Pros: Location!! Friendly staff, clean and comfortable accommodations and beds, and great breakfast for a great price.

Cons: We had trouble with our toilet, the filling line kept getting pinched and we had to wait until morning to have someone come look at it. They do have common area bathrooms which we used, or we flushed with a garbage can of water. So not great, but they got it sorted out and when it acted up again I knew how to fix it because the repair man showed me.

Recommendation: STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Room 45 was very spacious for three people, though there was a bit of noise from the nearby Citadel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monalogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Lutheran Guest House is a nice place inside the Old City gates from which to explore. While the rooms and bathrooms are somewhat small, the locale makes up for it. Each morning, you are literally minutes from the most interesting and historic sites. Plus, you can take a break in the afternoon, return to your room, relax, and enjoy the views. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Top floor, looking towards the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived as a party of 12, we should have had 6 twin rooms they gave us 4 twins and a triple. (beds for 11) Despite our reservation nothing could be done so one of our party had to make other arrangements at 8pm at night. This was the low point of our stay after a long flight! Our room had was clean and had working aircon, others had broken aircon which is troublesome in the summer climate. The breakfast was good with selection of hot and continental items. We ate here 2 evenings and the food and especially service were good. The views from the garden are superb and this is the main plus point of this guest house.

Room Tip: We were in room 25 which had a balcony overlooking temple mount, this was the nicest room of the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

very good location near the Jaffa Gate in the Old City.....simple, clean rooms....great atmosphere...friendly staff.....we had breakfast included and it was really nice......safe to walk at night.....

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank coyanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was a charming hotel in the old city within easy walking distance of many attractions. The staff were very helpful and the food was amazing. It was fascinating to stay in one of the older rooms with it's ceiling arches and then the modern room on the terrace was also lovely with a view of the temple mount.

Room Tip: If you like ambiance choose from the lower floors. If you want the view go up higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The guest house is in a perfect location for exploring the Old City. Great for a first trip to Jerusalem: you are surrounded by the most amazing view from the balcony, you can here the sounds of churches and mosques throughout the day and every site is close by.
We spent 3 nights with my family in two rooms. The beds are really hard and the rooms are not huge but the place is perfectly clean, sheets and towels done every night and the staff is full of friendly young employees. We loved it and would definitely return again. It's not cheap, but worth the price for what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The guest house is perfectly situated near the Jaffa Gate of the old city, right in the heart of it all. I stayed in a 4 bedroom for 2 nights and it was a good size. The whole place was beautiful with great stonework, a room upstairs that was wonderful and a deck on the roof with a great view of the Church and Dome of the Rock. Our room was off the courtyard so our door opened to the outside so that part was chilly but the rooms themselves were warm. Breakfast was included and nice. Compared to how insanely expensive Jerusalem is for hotels, this was a nice welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blackwood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 102 in Jerusalem
618 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame Guest House
#17 of 102 in Jerusalem
513 reviews
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,141 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Guest House

Address: 7 Saint Mark | P.O. Box 14051, Jerusalem 9761163, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Lutheran Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing