We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More under the Old City than you think...”

Zedekiah's Cave (Solomon's Quarries)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$395.00*
and up
Bethlehem Private Guided Half Day Tour from Jerusalem
Ranked #80 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating back nearly 2,000 years, this quarry is one of the largest found in Israel.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More under the Old City than you think...”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

An amazing hand-dug collection of huge galleries under the Old City. Quite a few steps - but then, that is Jerusalem! Astonishing to think that something this large can be carved under a city and the city continues to stand on top! You can see where the stone was carved in blocks from the walls and ceiling in places. Could almost house an entire city under here, it is so big. Goes on and on and on. Do not miss this one. Probably more spectacular than vital from a historical perspective - but well worth the visit. A great stop on a hot day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DuggysAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lived Discovering the Caves”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What an amazing visit to these caves which are under the Muslim Quarter of the Old City. Worth a visit particularly in the middle of a hot day,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deb075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Zedekiah's Caves - worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We visited the caves today, it is really odd to be walking in real caves underneath the old city and at the side of a major road in the centre of Jerusalem. The caves are well lit and easy to get around, and nice place to visit on a hot day. We had the place to ourselves, and it seemed a bit of a surprise to the guys at the door that we wanted to go in. We paid 16 shekels per person (about 3 euros) so seems okay value for about 45 minutes wandering around. It also has toilet facilities. Parts are closed off but a lot of it you can just wander around quite freely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun, easy and short visit”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We went to the cave with our 3 boys ages 10 to 6 and it was definitely a fun and short excursion for us all. We pre purchased tickets for this so could go on a chag day. We had an easy walk through the old city and came out the damascus gate. You have to come out of the old city then head onto the street footpath, veer right and there will be a sigh for Zedekian's cave. We missed the English speaking guide which seems to occur on the hour but it was just as good exploring on our own. Very good for just wandering and being in awe of what they had to do to get the rocks out and what is left behind. There are also clean toilet facilities which is a plus when travelling with kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank drsfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth the trip”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We went as a family and it was very cool. Quite a site to see the caves underground and they have done a good job putting in the infastructure for us to go deep under the city.
Family of 4 = 56 shekels. quite a cheap attraction and worth the money

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zedekiah's Cave (Solomon's Quarries) also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Zedekiah's Cave (Solomon's Quarries)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing