We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place”

The Culinary Workshop
Ranked #32 of 800 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Daniel, the concierge at the Dan Panorama in Tel Aviv, recommended this restaurant. We walked from our hotel, The Dan Panorama Jerusalem, past the old train station and around the corner and down the driveway to find this hiding at the end of a warehouse building. The alleyway is decorated with old stoves acting as planters and the restaurant front is glass panes. We were seated up a few stairs in a rear corner so we did not find it too loud at all and the place was filled. Adam was our waiter and he was very attentive. The food was delicious: beautifully cooked salmon steak, pasta, and chicken served on a plank. Everyone enjoyed their meal. We are really loving the Israeli wines that we have found in all of the restaurants we have visited.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank delraylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I ate here on a recent trip to Israel while in Jerusalem. It's also known by its Hebrew name which is Hasadna. It was located across the street from our hotel (Dan Boutique) but you have to go down a path off the street and it's at the bottom of it. It had been recommended to us. I had our soon to be guide in Jerusalem make a reservation for us. It's nice to be able to go out on Friday night in Jerusalem and not have to have the traditional Shabbat meal. It turns out that it's owned by the same restaurant group as Machaneyuda that we ate at the previous night. Some people have complained about the noise and the music but it was quiet compared to Machaneyuda. There are a few dishes on both menus like the polenta in a mason jar and the mushroom risotto. We split a large salad for our first course. I had the mushroom risotto because I didn't have it the night before and it looked very good. It was wonderful. It didn't seem like a lot at first glance but I kept eating and eating. My husband had fish but not the whole fish since I wouldn't share it with him. He said it was delicious. We shared an apple cake for dessert which was very good. The service was good without being rushed. We were even able to strike up a conversation with the couple at the table next to us. Someone said that Tel Aviv has many fine restaurants but Jerusalem has about ten. This and its sister restaurant Machaneyuda are definitely two of them.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Symmesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Great place for families.
The food was delicious and the service was great.
The pork belly was delicious.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank golana2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

outstanding food at this non-Kosher restaurant. Creative dishes with wonderful service in a funky setting. This was definitely a place to return to on our next trip.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank bessobecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is tucked away slightly close to the old railway development. It is all firing here; the food, service and general ambience are all outstanding. The service is professional and attentive but without being cloying. My octopus starter with pickled fennel and salad was an outstanding dish. It was zesty, fresh and complex with some outrageously good flavours. There is a light touch at play here. The main was a very pleasing fish fillets with a mixture of garden veggies. The desserts provided a suitable finale. My “almond and apples” was a solid classic.

This is intelligent cooking with classic roots, but with a lightness of touch providing a healthy component. Very, very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank liverpool1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Culinary Workshop also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Culinary Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing