We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mishkenot Sha'ananim

Mishkenot Sha'ananim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Jerusalem Old New Cities Tour from Tel Aviv Herzliya Netanya
Ranked #83 of 298 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rehovot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a lovely area, well worth a visit, to stroll around the interesting historic houses, the Windmill area and enjoy the beautiful views of the Old City.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hayjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
838 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Inspirational Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The first Jewish neighborhood built outside the walls of the Old City, it was funded by Moses Montefiore, who built a windmill as part of what we would call today an "economic development project" to capture the wind's power to grind grain to provide jobs for residents. Only problem -- no wind most of the time. The windmill is still here as is the rebuilt neighborhood. Jordanian snipers killed residents in 1948 from their perches in the Old City walls, so today you have a great view of the Old City from here. Plus no snipers. An added attraction is the carriage used by Montefiore as he traversed the city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,501 reviews
2,099 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,880 helpful votes
“Picturesque and beautiful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Mishkenot Sha'ananim is the first Jewish neighborhood built outside the walls of the old city in Jerusalem back in 1860 by the famous British Jewish banker - Moses Montefiore.
The neighborhood was almost completely destroyed by the Jordanians during their occupation of the city (1948-1967), but nowadays it's a beautiful neighborhood to walk in, with the famous flower mill being its major icon.
A two-hour walk in the neighborhood would be enough to capture its beautiful essence.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mishkenot Sha'ananim, Jerusalem , Israel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Mishkenot Sha'ananim Conference Center , is an historic site of Jerusalem, located in a green area near the Montefiori Windmill. Montefiori is the benefactor that bought the land outside the Western Wall to create this cultural Center. It has a restaurant and Hotel limited only to selected invited guests. Among the guests was John Le Carre and Saul Below after he received the Nobel prize for literature. There are always cultural events that include art exhibitions and conferences presented by renowned artists or scientists from Israel and abroad. The last speaker of this November lecture encounters between scientists and artists was Dan Sechtman who received this year the chemistry Nobel Prize .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Magora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Amazing, Inspiring Place, but fix your wifi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a review of the Guest House.

I had the opportunity to stay here for a week on a recent visit to Jerusalem. I considered it an honour to stay here, as they only accept scholars, artists, and writers as guests (as far as I know). The rooms are historic, and the environment is very pretty, with gardens, pathways, and a nice nearby neighbourhood. I stayed in a deluxe suite for the first 3 nights and then transferred to the lower-cost single room. Both were very nice, and clean. They could certainly use some updating, but they were comfortable and clean.

The location is perfect - steps from the Jaffa gate, I had breakfast every morning on a terrace which looked toward the walls of the Old City. I was treated to the sounds of Jerusalem like church bells and calls to prayer. It was quite moving.

I had two main criticisms of this place:
1) The wifi is horrifically expensive - in the range of $20 per day. Considering this place is aimed at scholars and artists, to charge that much for such an essential service is crazy. Luckily, I was able to get 3G cell phone access for a very cheap price through Golan Telecom. Unfortunately, the inner rooms on the bottom floor had very poor cell service. :(

2) The ladies at the desk at night really weren't quite sure what to do. Whenever an issue came up (e.g. asking if I could stay in a room a night longer, asking if I could check out a day early, problems with Internet), they couldn't help at all. They had to wait for the daytime staff. This was problematic when I was away during the day.

Overall, this was a very interesting place, and I would certainly love to stay here again if they fixed some of their issues.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FunkyMan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mishkenot Sha'ananim also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mishkenot Sha'ananim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing