We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jerusalem Little Hotel
Ranked #10 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. The location on Jaffa road is great, and the room is simple but ok. ( no fancy schmancy stuff like tv or a minibar) The self serviced breakfast is a nice extra, overlooking the city on the rooftop. Just come early, before the bread is finished.

We extended our stay, and we stayed on their rooftop beds. It was an unique experience. Never thought mosquitos would be such an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here with a friend in mid June. We had a lovely time, and thought the hotel was ideal for what we needed. The room was small, without a TV, with a double bed and two additional twin beds. It had a small bathroom which could use a renovation because the shower was not pleasant to use. The rooftop garden was absolutely beautiful and we had wished we had time to use it. The best part about this hotel was the location. With a 20 minute walk you could be at the main sites of the Old City (Kotel, Church of the Holy Sepulchre, etc.). Its also off Ben Yehuda which has bars and shops.

In order to have a positive stay, here are some negatives about the hotel you should keep in mind if you want to book. There is no elevator and you will have to walk up stairs to get to you room. There is also no air conditioning. It is more like being in the private rooms of a hostel than being at a hotel. The check in desk is at the hostel as are all the hotel services. Overall we didn't find these to be problems: it wasn't too hot, it wasn't that many floors up, and we only needed the hostel staff during check in and check out.

Overall the staff were very helpful and the location was great. For two young people who wanted a quick stay in Jerusalem to see the old city it was great. The location could not be beat, and it was a good place for us to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mustloveNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We reserved a room for two with private bath on 2nd March. The reservation was confirmed.
Two days ago we received a message, they deleted our reservation because of "computer problem". They offered a lower quality room under the roof with shared WC and shower.
I do not understand
- if they had a problem with the computer and the reservation was deleted how did found out, that we had a confirmed reservation earlier?
- if they gave accidentally our room to another guest, why did they choose us to cancel the reservation, who's reservation was earlier?
- we have a suspicion that the computer problem is only an alibi and a group reservation was more important and they tried to solve their overbooking problem on this way

They made us serious headache and a very bad feeling about Israeli hospitality.

We have chosen another hotel to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank SebesPatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalemhostel, Manager at The Jerusalem Little Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly important to us..
I am very sorry for your experience, and we apologize.
With thousands of guest a year, mistakes can happen. But they happen seldom, and I am sorry it happened to you. In order to prevent that from happening again in the future, we are now double checking each reservation we get, making sure no mistakes happen.
We do not accommodate groups, so I can assure you this was not the reason for the email you got.
Perhaps your reservation was deleted from the room's map, but when we checked confirmed reservation from travel agents we found the mistake.
I would like to invite you to another stay with us, that will be much more enjoyable and you will enjoy our upgraded breakfast, internet services and more.. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I have booked the hotel well in advance via the hotel website. Even though I have received the confirmation and we exchanged few emails there was no reservation on our arrival. It was very frustrating as it was 9pm and we were tired. The guy on reception was relatively helpful and offered us the hostel room for the same price. After seeing what is actually available we made the deal that we would stay two nights in the hostel and two nights in the Little Hotel with 10% discount, which was nice.

My first impression of the room wasn't good. I have never stayed in a hostel before. We got the room with the side view and a small balcony on the second floor. The room had a high ceiling with a fan but It really needed a good facelift. The balcony doors and room doors couldn't be locked so we kept our passports, money and phones with us all the time. Bed wasn't comfortable and room was very noisy. We had to sleep with the ear plugs but were waken up by rubbish collectors st 4am. Bathroom was basic but clean. They provided a squeegee for us to clean the floor. I guess it is an Israeli thing as I saw it on the market too. Balcony had nice pot flowers which made the room nicer. There was a TV in the room but no Internet. Wifi was only at the reception or on the stairs. We didn't eat at the hostel.

Little hotel seemed to be nicer and quieter than hostel but we got a back side small room again, with no balcony, no tv and less space. The only plus was the roof terrace where we ate our breakfast and had wine there in the evening. There was a shelter on the roof for the cooler evenings. There was also good wifi signal there.

To sum it up, the location of the hotel/hostel is great as is the roof terrace but it looks like a place for students or back packers to stay rather than professional adults. Don't expect anything special, price is good and everything depends on what you want and can afford.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is lovated very close to the center of Jerusalem, the position is great: there are many restaurants, bar, pubs, shops nearby. The rooms are very simple, small bathrooms, quite clean and silent. It is good to stay here if you need just a simple place to sleep. Free wi-fi included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonaL1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hi fellow traveller!

We stayed in the Jerusalem little hotel for two days and booked two double bedrooms.
February 2014
280 NIS per night ( 1 Double Bedroom ) with basic breakfast. (Payed with credit card)

After recieving the two passcodes for the main hotel and the little hotel, we entered our rooms on the second floor. We had the following issues:

- Strong odour of some cleaning agent
- Small bathroom with a "basic" shower
- Heavily Stained carpet
- Single blanket for double bed

----Breakfast-----
In the morning (08:15 am) the friendly staff will bring two loafs of toast, some butter and jam. Thats it! But you can easily buy some cheap eggs and vegetables in east Jerusalem the night before and suprise your travel companions with your cooking skills. The balcony offers a fantastic view on the busy jaffa road in the morning. The kitchen is definitely not suited for cooking big meals because there are not enough kitchen accessories for doing so. Well, get creative.....!

----Parking-----
If you travel with a rental car there is a parking lot just up the HaRav Kuk street.
On the weekend it is free. From Sunday to Friday you pay 1 NIS for 10 minutes, you can easily get a ticket by just exceeding time marginaly. There are always a bunch of cars waiting for a free slot, just hope you are not one of them!


Our inital impression and the first night made us cancel our stay in the hotel and move somewhere else, we recommend looking into other hotels ( Hostels) before giving The Jerusalem Little Hotel a try. Especially if it is your first stay in J`lem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SwissLoft L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I spent a wonderful night in The Little Jerusalem Hotel. It is not fancy but has a warm and authentic Jerusalem atmosphere. It is clean and comfortable. The location is central and I loved sitting out on my second floor balcony watching the microcosm of Jerusalem spread out beneath me. Religious, secular, Christian and Muslim Israelis sprinkled with international tourists. People shopping, walking their dog, enjoying coffee at a sidewalk cafe, mothers with baby's in strollers and street musicians playing a tune. The flavor of the hotel is tastefully reminiscent of Jerusalem past with a big chandelier in the stairwell, red Persian carpets in the halls and original antique floor tiles and doors. There is a lovely roof top patio where there are also kitchen facilities. The price is more than reasonable and the staff are friendly and helpful. I loved my it!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony over the square if you like to watch the world turn :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Libby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 102 in Jerusalem
682 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#38 of 102 in Jerusalem
326 reviews
Hillel 11
#52 of 102 in Jerusalem
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jerusalem Little Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jerusalem Little Hotel

Address: 40 Jaffa, Jerusalem 9422205, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jerusalem Little Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Jerusalem Little Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing