We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Indian Food in Israel”

Kohinoor Indian Restaurant
Ranked #272 of 728 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Drogheda
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Best Indian Food in Israel”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Pending review I visited this restaurant many times, most recently in August 2012. The quality of food and service cannot be beaten. Both the evening dinner menu and lunchtime open buffet offer a wide choice of Indian cuisine and excellent value. The Manager, Mr. Mahesh, is one of the most helpful and genuine human beings I have ever had the privilege to meet. He takes such pride in his work and in being genuinely nice to his customers. The restaurant is comfortable and spacious and if one is fortunate enough to secure a table by the window there is the added bonus of excellent views. Located close to the central bus station, the Kohinoor could not be more convenient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EvangelistDavid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    9
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only for people who like Indian food”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I saw the previous review...
The restaurant is nice,the service is okay...
The food is nothing special...
Enjoyed the tomato soup and rice pudding.
The home made pita was good,the rest no big deal.
Only for lovers of this style...
A few years ago the variety was larger and the food was tastier...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidRose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than back home”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Indian restaurants in the UK tend to have too much cream and ghee (clarified butter) in them, which makes the food both sickly to my palate but also unhealthy. The food at thisa restaurant was much better and suited me very well,not gooey with creamand butter,much lighter but stil satisfying spicy

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kevkres60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OMG, Its awful”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

As an Englishman, I pride myself on knowing about Indian food, after all the modern "Indian" dishes were created for English gentry.

Go to India and you can have Curry or Curry, the hard part is deciding what meat is in it.

So, imagine my disappointment when I read there are culinary delights such as Tikka Masala and Korma, unfortunately its Kosher, so no Cream, no Yoghurt, No FLAVOUR.

I've eaten here 3 times in 3 months and its Dire.

The food is tasteless bland slop, I wouldn't feed it to a dog.
The cuts of meat are of a poor quality, nothing is marinaded so its basically cheap meat in a bland flavourless sauce.
The rice is boiled to death with no seasoning, Prisoners get better fayre.

The only reason I tried it at all is because the hotel it's in is so full of screaming unruly kids, its this or room service to avoid the little gits, thankfully the locals avoid this Indian Restaurant so its at least quiet.

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid if you like Indian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AedhasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stimulating All the Senses - a cut above the 'basari' fare in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Upon entering Kohinor, you find yourself transported to another time & place. Their atmosphere, with walls and ceilings crafted, molded and built to resemble a high class retreat in India, is THAT majestic - truly a unique gem you would NOT expect to find in Jerusalem. Faint Indian music in the background and the Indian staff help set the scene, and from your first course (may I recommend the tomato soup?), you will be both surprised by the rare-for-Israel quality and authenticity of ethnic food, if you can make sense of it or your surroundings while melting in the sensuous flavors and wafting aroma of to-die-for chicken tikka masala, barbeque beef and vegetable biryani rice. Each dish is served a la carte, and the rice is easily enough to share with 2-3 adults, but go for the garlic nan as well and enjoy the meal. I wouldn't recommend their parve desserts, but you won't be hungry by that point and the staff cheerfully cart away what you couldn't finish and pack it nicely for your lunch the next day.

The biggest problem with Kohinor is you'll be fantasizing about your favorite dish until you can make time to get back there - and if you're a tourist, until the next time you're in Jerusalem - don't laugh because this is a serious problem. As I see it, these people should win an award for Best Kosher Asian Food on the planet, as they have truly elevated my expectations on this front, and contributed something wonderful to the Holy City to boot!

HEKSHER - Kohinor is approved as a kosher meat restaurant by Rabbanut Yerushalayim.
SPICINESS - Kohinor's entrees are not too spicy if you order them off the menu, but the attentive waiters and kitchen staff will make sure to spice it up or down, catering to your preference - as they are obviously honestly concerned with your total satisfaction. So YES - you can bring your kids and your grandmother here and order something NOT spicy that will win them over to Indian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohinoor Indian Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Kohinoor Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing