We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great”
Review of Sushi Rechavia

Sushi Rechavia
Ranked #152 of 705 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Almost great”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

You won't be disappointed if you're a sushi fanatic like me, and like your fish super fresh. This is a busy place, so make a reservation, then walk across the street for dessert at the gelato place with swings!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    28
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Okay, but you could do better for sushi in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Our experience was just the opposite of the previous reviewer:

So-so food, but excellent (and English-fluent) service.

The sushi itself was good, and attractively presented, but the other foods were disappointing. My tofu-cube soup tasted so strongly of soy sauce, it should have been called "Kikkoman." My son's children's meal was sort of scrappy.

The service was excellent: peasant and attentive.

The restaurant is spacious and comfortable, with lots of booths tables, and attractive tables for large parties.

Overall, stick with the sushi and you'll do well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndigoGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, nothing special”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a great restaurant if you're just looking to have a regular Asian meal and nothing more. The food is good but nothing particularly special about it. The prices are higher than Japanika (a ten minute drive away) and the food not as good so I would recommend Japanika over this restaurant. The service is ok. They were great dealing with food allergies. Option to sit inside or outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Great food was the best part of the restuarant. However, the service was very poor, and the limited english spoken by the staff wasn't helpful.

I must say that the atmosphere is very hip with iPad menus (in english too) and a trendy bar area.

Great choice for Asian cuisine in Jerusalem

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zachg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great grub”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Three of us dined there on the outdoor covered area which had a buzzy atmosphere and good food.
We each started with soup- two of us had a Japanese Meso Soup and the third a Chinese Corn Soup. Unfortunately the soups were barely warm and had to be returned to be heated up.
We had a steak with stir fry vegetables for our main course and our guest had a veggie dish. The steaks were tender but rather thin (wish we had been warned). Nevertheless they were tasty. I sampled the Veggie dish which was a mixture of flavours and pretty good.
My partner had a coconut sorbet coated with crushed roasted pecan nuts. Our guest and I had assorted sorbets (but without the nuts). The service was friendly and attentive. We will return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weasel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Rechavia also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Sushi Rechavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing