We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thrilling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Mount Sifting Project

Temple Mount Sifting Project
Ranked #69 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An unique archaeological project that allows visitors to participate in the sifting of debris that was excavated in the Temple Mount.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thrilling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Roll up your sleeves and be a part of history for a few hours. The enthusiasm of the staff rubs off and you become an integral part of the continued discovery of the historical origins of the Temple mount. They take you through the history of the old temple, the origin of the rubble being sifted, and how archaeologists inspect and evaluate artifacts. You are given a random pail with rubble, and you rinse off dirt with water on the sifter while inspecting what is unveiled. Among the many artifacts we found, pottery handles and rims, mosaic tiles, bones, old metal, marble pieces, and even a 2014 coin (!), was a rustic brown colored piece of the wall of Harrod's old temple. The staff members were amazing, we had a number of different individuals review our sifting, and each was enthusiastic in their own way. This is unique to no end, you never know what can be uncovered (we even found part of a car bumper!). Make reservations before hand. Excellent for young children who like learning and getting their hands wet and dirty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yorikiri_from_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
College Place, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Touching History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you like to get your hands dirty and enjoy finding historical objects then this site is for you! We came here with one of the founders (Aran) of this project and it was one of the main highlights of 10 unreal days in an unreal country. We found mosaic tiles (one with gold on it), pottery, bones, metal objects and a coin. It was very interesting learning about how archeologist work a site, what they look for and how they determine the age of their finds. This is especially noteworthy considering that you are dealing with dirt from the Temple Mount where there has been history for 2500+ yrs and very restricted archeological digs...very fascinating to say the least!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PTguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
400 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was a brief stop, the workers there were exceptionally nice, it was interesting to see things from a different perspective, we are glad our tour guide took the time to stop here so we could learn about this project.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding, but would have been nice to take home a piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This really was a blast for our family (2 girls, 5 and 7). We learned a lot during this and it was one of our girls' favorite parts of our trip to Israel. After visiting here, they began to look at everything as "possible treasure". I only have 2 negatives. First, 2 hours goes REALLY fast. I wish we had more time. Second, I wish there was some way that they could send you home with something discovered. Even if it was something worthless, the chance to take home a souvenir would have meant a lot. It was hard for our girls (and us) to walk away empty handed. But, after all of that, I highly recommend it and I would love to return.

**Wear clothes that can get dirty!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank the4cokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easily viewed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Walking by the area you can easily see the work being done. There is no access except for workers. Not much to see and you can't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temple Mount Sifting Project also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Temple Mount Sifting Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing