We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hummus!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hummus Ben Sira

Hummus Ben Sira
Ranked #6 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hummus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Loved Hummus Ben Sira (was probably the best hummus we had in Jerusalem) - portions are big, food is great. The restaurant is tiny (there's a small counter and a handful of tables), if it's nice out, I'd opt for take out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    67
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hummus in west Jerusalem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Usually for good hummus you have to go to the old city and east jerusalem, but ben Sira is the only hummus place I'd eat at in the west of the city. The hummus toppings are the best, including: beef, fried cauliflower, mushrooms, broad beans... also you get some really fluffy falafal balls with every hummus and it's impossible to leave this place hungry. remember to bring cash because they don't take card.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fisher_luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“kosher hummus? yes indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

this is as close as you will get to the real thing without going into the old city, and if you need it to be kosher, youre in luck. your best bet if youre not a hummus professional is a plate with chickpeas and ful (fava beans). the place is usually packed so get ready to wait a bit for a place to sit. if youre on a first date, this is not the place for it, its tiny and crowded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arielko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Go where the locals go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

One of the key food objectives for this trip is to find the best hummus in Israel. I may have found one in Ben Sira. We asked from our wonderful receptionist Mona from Arthur Hotel immediately after we arrive into Jerusalem and she recommended this place, saying that 'this is THE BEST'. I must trust the locals right? It was closeby our hotel - about a 10 min walk. We were doubtful whether we were able to find it as we did not have the detailed address to locate via google map, just some general directions on the map and did not have time to look for this on TA. Worst - it was the last day of sukkot and we nearly missed the entrance. Luckily Ben Sira is really a short street, so we basically poked our heads into every address and finally found it. Completely out of this world hummus. Very smooth and without the strange after-taste of commercial hummus from the tub and also other locations I have tried so far in Israel. Each portion/ set comes with 3 falafel, 2 huge pita bread and pickles. Initially the lady thought that we only wanted 1 set but we wanted to have one set with meat for my husband and one masabacha version for me. We ended up declining the pita bread and pickles that came with my set – hummus can really be quite filling and we were stuffed even at dinner time after a whole day of walking, so beware. We were early for lunch and people started to stroll in. You can even order half a pita with all the ingredients to take away like the locals. Very small eatery with some tables and chairs and counter-sitting. One flaw was that the lady serving us was not too friendly, but it did not spoil out meal. Truly an Israeli street food with great nutritional value and good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meowmeow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique hummuserie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

All things considered, this is probably my favourite hummus place in Jerusalem. The atmosphere is noisy and vibrant, but also friendly. This differs from some of the more traditional machine-like hummus operations in the city. The hummus itself is divine - my tummy is rumbling away just thinking about it. My personal favourites are hummus with mushrooms and hummus with cauliflower (the latter also comes with fried onion). Included in the price (between 22 - 29 shekels) are three felafel balls, tomato, onion and pitta. As other reviewers have mentioned it's extremely busy. People get turned away all the time, especially at night. Most of the staff are really lovely, but there are a couple of sour apples.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JacobLewis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hummus Ben Sira also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hummus Ben Sira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing