We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“best humos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hummus Ben Sira

Hummus Ben Sira
Ranked #18 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
“best humos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

just the best humos in jerusalem. its not so expencive. good service and location. not only humos for lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank galberlinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    66
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, New York, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEST CHUMMUS IN THE EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Wow. This place is so simple, yet so extraordinary. Of the only non gourmet places that I've truly enjoyed. By far the best hummus I've had, and I've been told it's only rivaled by the town of abu gosh. Best hummus, best falafel, and when fresh, best pita (I think they get it from next door)

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hummus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Loved Hummus Ben Sira (was probably the best hummus we had in Jerusalem) - portions are big, food is great. The restaurant is tiny (there's a small counter and a handful of tables), if it's nice out, I'd opt for take out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hummus in west Jerusalem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Usually for good hummus you have to go to the old city and east jerusalem, but ben Sira is the only hummus place I'd eat at in the west of the city. The hummus toppings are the best, including: beef, fried cauliflower, mushrooms, broad beans... also you get some really fluffy falafal balls with every hummus and it's impossible to leave this place hungry. remember to bring cash because they don't take card.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fisher_luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“kosher hummus? yes indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

this is as close as you will get to the real thing without going into the old city, and if you need it to be kosher, youre in luck. your best bet if youre not a hummus professional is a plate with chickpeas and ful (fava beans). the place is usually packed so get ready to wait a bit for a place to sit. if youre on a first date, this is not the place for it, its tiny and crowded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arielko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hummus Ben Sira also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hummus Ben Sira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing