We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World's Best Hummus”
Review of Hummus Ben Sira

Hummus Ben Sira
Ranked #12 of 706 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World's Best Hummus”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This place has the best hummus in the world, hands down. Go there and order a plate of hummus and prepare to have all your prior notions of hummus changed forever.

Note about ordering, it's best to get a plate of hummus because it comes with pitas, falafel, and salad on the side.

I don't like mushrooms, but I ordered hummus with mushrooms and beef...it blew my mind. It was amazing. This is a place where the hummus is the main dish and the meat in the hummus only amplifies the garlic and other greatness in the hummus.

Well priced and worth a trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    75
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hummus I've ever had.”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I came to Jerusalem on three separate occassions, and loved Ben Sira every time. It's relaxed, not expensive, and literally the best hummus I've ever tasted in this galaxy.

Helpful?
Thank andrei_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
“best humos”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

just the best humos in jerusalem. its not so expencive. good service and location. not only humos for lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galberlinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, New York, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST CHUMMUS IN THE EVER”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Wow. This place is so simple, yet so extraordinary. Of the only non gourmet places that I've truly enjoyed. By far the best hummus I've had, and I've been told it's only rivaled by the town of abu gosh. Best hummus, best falafel, and when fresh, best pita (I think they get it from next door)

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hummus!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Loved Hummus Ben Sira (was probably the best hummus we had in Jerusalem) - portions are big, food is great. The restaurant is tiny (there's a small counter and a handful of tables), if it's nice out, I'd opt for take out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hummus Ben Sira also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hummus Ben Sira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing