We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a warm and authentic Jerusalem guesthouse”
Review of Diana's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diana's House
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at a warm and authentic Jerusalem guesthouse”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were looking for a B&B lodging in the center of Jerusalem… we felt that staying in the city at this type of lodging would allow us to feel the real heartbeat of the city and get to know its people. I chanced on Diana's House and was immediately charmed! What a great choice!
Located in the historic Musrara neighborhood, with its renovated 19th-century villas and artistic ambience, the house is a 5-minute walk from the Jaffa and Damascus Gates in the Old City and also 5 minutes from the center of modern Jerusalem.
This is a truly authentic 19th-century house, with gorgeous Jerusalem stone, very tall ceilings, a lovely interior design and tasteful furnishings. The architecture is really beautiful, and we were lucky to hear a fascinating and erudite explanation about it from the owner, Dr. Uriel Adiv, who is an architect by profession and very much involved in national projects for the preservation of historic homes.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a small but well-appointed bathroom. It also had a private entrance opening onto a terrace with a stunning view of the picturesque neighborhood rooftops… we felt like we could sit there forever, just relaxing with a glass of red wine…
The wonderful hospitality shown by Dr. Adiv was beyond all expectations. Every morning he would serve us breakfast with fresh, hot pitas from a nearby Arab bakery, a variety of salads and fresh coffee, after which he was more than happy to share with us great tips about interesting urban locales, sightseeing itineraries, restaurants, etc. in both the Old City and the New City.
We literally fell in love with this charming place. I cannot recommend any better B&B lodging in Jerusalem than Diana's House.
NitzaS

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
modena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The only positive thing of this room is the “location”
For the rest, better sojourning in any other place of the city.
We have paid € 107,38 per night for one very small room, where there was no space for the suitcases/bagadges and was not possible put our dress in the locker, because the only one in the room was full of book ( however there is a piano... if the owner leaves it use you, you could rise your moral with it)
The room was very very cold and the very very small bathroom was icy, whithout speaking about water of shower that was frozen.
The owner, Uriel, so much was available, before our arrival, how much he was unpleasant when we was there..
He had free access to our bedroom, not to remake it but simply to turn off the heating for to save energy and money, so when we returned in the evening, after having accumulate cool douring the day, rather than to find a warm room, we found a small and cold room without the possibility to get a warm shower.

We also were been rebuked for not turn off the heating and we have patiently explained our necessity to find an hot room with the possibility to have an hot shower in the evening when we come back and not only in the morning.
But the owner Uriel entered in our room every day to turn off the heating but obviously he never remaked the room and never cleaned the bathroom and never changed the towels, despite we have sojourned 4 days and paid fot 5 nights, because the last day we have done a late chek out ( at 8 p.m.). So we have paid € 536,90 for totally 4 night (it means € 134,225 per night)

The breakfast was acceptable only the first morning but other days he offered us three days old bread and he didn’t want to leave us breakfast at 7,30 in the morning, because he didn’t want to get up before the 8a.m..

I have visited a lot of countries around the world, in USA in South America, in Asia, in Africa and in Europe but in any country I have never been treated so badly.

During the same vacation I booked an apartment in other three cities in Israel (in the best location of that cities) and anywhere I have felt very well with clean and very spacious apartments at a price not superior than € 60 per night, therefore my suggestion to all those want to go to Jerusalem, “ sojourns in any other structure but not in Diana's (or Dinana's) B&B” …it will be better for your health and your money.

Finally repeating the beginning of the critique: good location but absurd price for the bad service and bad treatment received.
If you want to stay in this structure, will be better go in summer, when you can teake a cold shower and sleep in a cold room ( perhaps !)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volpemre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location of the flat is pretty good, it's just a few minutes to the damascus gate and to the king george street,pubs, bars and restaurants.
The room itself is really beautiful and has a huge bed. There is enough room for at least two people and the atmosphere there is in general fantastic. The bathroom is also clean and full of this kind of details that make it really comfortable to take a shower.
Also the owner of the flat is freindly and sympathetic. He gave us a few tips for Jerusalem and was really welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As a woman traveling on her won this was a perfect place to stay. Uriel helps with everything and gives perfect tips. The room has a separate entrance and private (simple but adequate) bathroom. I hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Original Review: March 23, 2013. This review has been updated.

There are a few things about Diana's House B&B that I think could be improved upon, but in general it was a good place to stay. Reader, please note that staying in a B&B is different from a hotel and this is an entirely personal and subjective review based on my own specific experience. Others have, no doubt, had wonderful experiences here. After all, Dr. Adiv has been sharing his home for travelers for over 20 years and I'm sure many are repeat customers. Also, this is the only advertised gay-friendly accommodations in Jerusalem, and feeling safe and welcomed is a valuable asset when traveling abroad. 



The house itself is supremely authentic to Jerusalem with gorgeous stone and tall ceilings and lots of steps and the like. The architecture is fascinating, and Dr. Adiv did a nice job renovating the property and creating large, inviting spaces. The accommodations have their own private exterior door to the terrace, a large bedroom and private bathroom, which is great. It can get chilly in Jerusalem in the winter and the bed has a delicious heated blanket and a heater on the wall the guest can control to his/her liking. These are big pluses.



The bathroom shower is very small, but there is a washing machine in the bathroom which can be an asset. My bigger gripe is there also wasn't any hot water the first day and after alerting the owner, he assured me it wouldn't happen again. However, there wasn't hot water the second day, either. Apparently the hot water is controlled by an owner-operated switch upstairs somewhere.



The bed was creaky under the weight of two people, but not uncomfortable.



THE LOCATION IS AMAZING! Just a few blocks in one direction and you're in the Old City, a few blocks the other way and you're on Ben Yehudah street. Fantastic.



Despite what I believe were his good intentions, I didn't really click with the owner which made it a little uncomfortable at times (I suppose this kept us out exploring Jerusalem longer than we would have!). Still, Dr. Adiv has been welcoming travelers for decades, so it's probably just me. And if I'd stayed in a regular hotel I would have missed the opportunity to engage in authentic Jerusalem/Israeli culture, for better or for worse! :)

If you do get along with the host and don't mind the quirks of the accommodations, I'm sure you'll have a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRANTFOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The house is absolutely amazing, the room is gorgeous and the facilities are very clean. I was very touched by the diversity of the breakfast and by Uriels hospitality. I felt at home and would definitively recomend this place to friends. Thank you for all the travel-advice and tips! Hope to see you soon again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We wanted to stay at a B&B type place because it often gives us a chance to learn more about the place we are in through the owners. Sometimes it works out great, sometimes not so much but with Diana's House it was perfect because Uriel and his son were fascinating to talk with and made was feel so welcome and we looked forward to getting up to eat with them before heading out each day. The location turned out to be perfect for us too because we could walk to so many places from there. When we go back to Jerusalem we'll be there again for sure, it felt like a temporary second family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayHelkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#44 of 99 in Jerusalem
225 reviews
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leticia Guest House
#46 of 60 in Jerusalem
3 reviews
Jerusalem Hotel
#16 of 60 in Jerusalem
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana's House

Property: Diana's House
Address: 10 Khulda ha-Nevi'a | Musrara, Jerusalem 9511010, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single/double luxuriously furnished unit in the center of Jerusalem, close to the Old City, embedded in a very picturesque, historic and quiet neighborhood in the very center of the Holy City! We offer you extravagantly beautiful, fully furnished units with a private entrance, private shower/WC, free fast and wireless Internet connection, heating, laundry service, linen, towels, utensils etc. The unit is lavishly decorated with original oil and charcoal paintings by Israeli and German artists and include bras lamps and other antiques. We offer free access to the main kitchen, to the main living space, to the dining room and to the huge flowery balcony. All inclusive!!! Especially suitable for tourists and foreign visitors! The 120 years' old house is located within 5 minute's walk of downtown Jerusalem (Main Post Office, Town Hall, Ben Yehuda Pedestrian Mall, Nachlat Shiva restaurants) and 7 minute's walk of the Old City and the new and fashionable Mamilla shopping Promenade with more restaurants, bookstores and gift shops. Very close to public transportation that will bring you to all parts of the city although most of the city's attractions can be reached by foot! We'd love to have you as our guests and make our home to yours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Diana's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing