We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishen Chips LOL! But the food is nothing to laugh at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FishenChips

FishenChips
Ranked #44 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fishen Chips LOL! But the food is nothing to laugh at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great, lightly breaded fish & chips! Available with chips (of course), over salad, or just fish (same price as with chips, but more fish). Food is fresh, delicious, plentiful,reasonably priced, and the employees are very nice! Look for in the Shuk in Mahane Yehuda area. They have other locales as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glad we ate here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

While in Machneh Yehudah market, we stopped here about 11:00 am. We had not eaten breakfast and decided to share something for brunch. There were four of us. We shared two of the cod and fries baskets. It was sooo good. There was a lot of food. Glad we shared. I wish we had eaten here earlier in our trip so we could have returned. I wish I could duplicate this at home. It was delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Payne5p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gives you as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Far from being a fancy place, in the middle of a big and crowdy (and touristic ) market, you'll find a sort of a restaurant offering you differents sorts of fish and chips.If not London or Dublin this is the place,no doubt.Enjoy every fork of it;I left the place nearly entousiastic (even if the comfort may remind you of Sparta).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Didier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beit Shemesh, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FishenChips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently went to FishenChips after reading rave reviews about it. Now, maybe this is just because I'm not British and thus am not nostalgic about fish and chips, but although I thought it was fine, I don't really get the rave reviews. The food tasted like . . . fried fish and french fries. All made to order and fresh and tasty, but nothing amazing. I do like the ambiance of the shuk (open air market), and eating at the tables which are basically outside the store front, and in the shuk itself, was enjoyable if informal. A pleasant experience and decent food. Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yocheved135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had the salmon fish and chips and instead of chips, I got potato wedges. They come with four types of dipping sauce. The fish was cooked perfectly and had great flavor. The atmosphere is fun because you're right inside Mehane Yehuda market and all the madness that comes with it. Goes great with an Israel brew.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FishenChips also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to FishenChips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing