We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, beautiful rooms & wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shamai Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shamai Suites
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful rooms & wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked 3 nights at Shamai Suites and could not be happier about our stay! The hotel was right off of Ben Yehuda St, which is prime location in Jerusalem! We originally booked a studio room, which was cute, quaint and beautifully decorated...about the size of a "normal" hotel room with a kitchenette and spacious bathroom. However, due to very reasons the staff upgraded us to a studio deluxe room. This room in particular was absolutely stunning. About twice as big and included a couch (great for a 3rd person to sleep), desk, high top table, bigger kitchenette, and wrap around balcony. We were pleasantly surprised and very pleased. As far as the staff goes, they were WONDERFUL! Each member was more than willingly to help us with anything we needed and really made our stay in Jerusalem over the top. Not to mention that Shamai Suites is PRIME location to anything and everything! 30 seconds to Ben Yehuda, 10 minutes to the old city, and 5 cable car stops from Yad Vashem... can't get any better than that, especially for the price! I will 100% be staying in Shamai Suites the next time we visit Jerusalem & I highly recommend that you do the same. But who goes to be Special thanks to Ben, Michael & the rest of the staff for the perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    96
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
101
114
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Shamai Suites was perfect for our 5 night stay in Jerusalem. Our suite was large and modern with a wrap around balcony. It was well equipped with a microwave, frig, dishes and a café table and chairs. We also had a full sized couch and chair. The TV had many stations and the Wifi worked perfectly. The location was the best - right in the centre close to the tram on Jaffa Road. Right outside our door were shops, restaurants, cafes & fast food (MacDonalds across the street & open on Shabbat). We could walk to the Old City in 15 minutes and to the Mahane Market. When we were there they did not have 24 hour front desk (due to the war I believe) which was a slight inconvenience and our phone did not work when no one was on the front desk. However, a manager came from the nearby City Hotel and was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose an upgraded corner suite which I believe is larger and the balcony wrapped right around. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Shamai suites in Jerusalem. The studio had ample space for us and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The location was excellent - near to restaurants and public transport and walking distance to the Old City. The staff was extremely helpful as my husband's luggage did not arrive and they went to every effort to help him recover it. Thank you to the friendly staff who answered all our questions and helped us navigate around the city. Hopefully we will come back to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio which was very large and more than enough space for 2 people. The rest of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked 4 nights at Shamai Suites in Jerusalem which is about 10 minutes walk from Jaffa Gate. It was tastefully decorated in a modern slick style, with comfortable beds and chairs, a good shower and a small kitchenette perfect for breakfast or a takeway (no cooking facilities except a small microwave).

We had a deluxe studio which was spacious, on the corner of the building so had a balcony on two sides, with three sliding doors opening on to it. We didnt need the air con as this gave plenty of fresh air. It was generally quiet except after Shabbat when people gathered talking loudly late into the night. The Shamai is near lots of shops, banks and the tram so ideally situated if you havent got a car. It was easy to explore the Old City and to get to Yad Vashem going the opposite way on the tram. Staff were friendly, the apartment was cleaned daily, there was complimentary water, tea and coffee and a chocolate on arrival - always nice!

We arrived after Erev Shabbat but there was a supermarket, a bar and rather oddly a large McDonalds opposite all open on the sabbath if you are so inclined. I would definitely recommend the Shamai. Not cheap but good value compared to most hotel prices!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Stuio which is significantly bigger and lighter than the ordinary studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved my stay at Shamai Suites. The location is superb - right in the heart of central Jerusalem and within easy walking distance of many places of interest, also very close to the light rail for travelling further afield.
Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and my suite was light and airy, with three doors/windows opening onto a balcony, plenty of room and everything spotlessly clean.
I'm only sorry I didn't know about Shamai Suites on previous trips to Jerusalem, but will have no hesitation in booking there again next time I visit and will certainly recommend it to friends.
Many thanks to Ben and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Shamai Suites is located in a strategic position, 15 minutes walk to the Old Town, located in the heart of a very pleasant "movida" area rich of restaurants and pubs, but in a quiet place. Rooms well equiped and comfortables, young staff very helpful. We will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It has a good location, near the center it the city and close to a lot of attractions. The staff was great they were attentive and caring about any issues. The bathroom could have been cleaner as could the some of the rest of the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackylevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Hillel 11
#44 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamai Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamai Suites

Property: Shamai Suites
Address: 15 Ben Hillel, Jerusalem 9423117, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamai Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamai Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing