We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Jerusalem”
Review of Shamai Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shamai Suites
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Prime location, very clean apartment and spacious. The air conditioning was the best I have encountered, really cold if you want it on a baking hot day. Free Wifi available which works well so great to be able to stay in touch with friends and family. Highly recommend staying here and the price is very reasonable too.

Room Tip: Check trip adviser before you book and look a the location map. Ask for a balcony facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoniquesHappyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked 3 nights at Shamai Suites and could not be happier about our stay! The hotel was right off of Ben Yehuda St, which is prime location in Jerusalem! We originally booked a studio room, which was cute, quaint and beautifully decorated...about the size of a "normal" hotel room with a kitchenette and spacious bathroom. However, due to very reasons the staff upgraded us to a studio deluxe room. This room in particular was absolutely stunning. About twice as big and included a couch (great for a 3rd person to sleep), desk, high top table, bigger kitchenette, and wrap around balcony. We were pleasantly surprised and very pleased. As far as the staff goes, they were WONDERFUL! Each member was more than willingly to help us with anything we needed and really made our stay in Jerusalem over the top. Not to mention that Shamai Suites is PRIME location to anything and everything! 30 seconds to Ben Yehuda, 10 minutes to the old city, and 5 cable car stops from Yad Vashem... can't get any better than that, especially for the price! I will 100% be staying in Shamai Suites the next time we visit Jerusalem & I highly recommend that you do the same. But who goes to be Special thanks to Ben, Michael & the rest of the staff for the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erin225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Shamai Suites was perfect for our 5 night stay in Jerusalem. Our suite was large and modern with a wrap around balcony. It was well equipped with a microwave, frig, dishes and a café table and chairs. We also had a full sized couch and chair. The TV had many stations and the Wifi worked perfectly. The location was the best - right in the centre close to the tram on Jaffa Road. Right outside our door were shops, restaurants, cafes & fast food (MacDonalds across the street & open on Shabbat). We could walk to the Old City in 15 minutes and to the Mahane Market. When we were there they did not have 24 hour front desk (due to the war I believe) which was a slight inconvenience and our phone did not work when no one was on the front desk. However, a manager came from the nearby City Hotel and was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose an upgraded corner suite which I believe is larger and the balcony wrapped right around. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doreen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Shamai suites in Jerusalem. The studio had ample space for us and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The location was excellent - near to restaurants and public transport and walking distance to the Old City. The staff was extremely helpful as my husband's luggage did not arrive and they went to every effort to help him recover it. Thank you to the friendly staff who answered all our questions and helped us navigate around the city. Hopefully we will come back to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio which was very large and more than enough space for 2 people. The rest of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gail528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked 4 nights at Shamai Suites in Jerusalem which is about 10 minutes walk from Jaffa Gate. It was tastefully decorated in a modern slick style, with comfortable beds and chairs, a good shower and a small kitchenette perfect for breakfast or a takeway (no cooking facilities except a small microwave).

We had a deluxe studio which was spacious, on the corner of the building so had a balcony on two sides, with three sliding doors opening on to it. We didnt need the air con as this gave plenty of fresh air. It was generally quiet except after Shabbat when people gathered talking loudly late into the night. The Shamai is near lots of shops, banks and the tram so ideally situated if you havent got a car. It was easy to explore the Old City and to get to Yad Vashem going the opposite way on the tram. Staff were friendly, the apartment was cleaned daily, there was complimentary water, tea and coffee and a chocolate on arrival - always nice!

We arrived after Erev Shabbat but there was a supermarket, a bar and rather oddly a large McDonalds opposite all open on the sabbath if you are so inclined. I would definitely recommend the Shamai. Not cheap but good value compared to most hotel prices!

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Stuio which is significantly bigger and lighter than the ordinary studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micky1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved my stay at Shamai Suites. The location is superb - right in the heart of central Jerusalem and within easy walking distance of many places of interest, also very close to the light rail for travelling further afield.
Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and my suite was light and airy, with three doors/windows opening onto a balcony, plenty of room and everything spotlessly clean.
I'm only sorry I didn't know about Shamai Suites on previous trips to Jerusalem, but will have no hesitation in booking there again next time I visit and will certainly recommend it to friends.
Many thanks to Ben and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Shamai Suites is located in a strategic position, 15 minutes walk to the Old Town, located in the heart of a very pleasant "movida" area rich of restaurants and pubs, but in a quiet place. Rooms well equiped and comfortables, young staff very helpful. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
651 reviews
Hillel 11
#48 of 100 in Jerusalem
416 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#17 of 100 in Jerusalem
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#46 of 100 in Jerusalem
504 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#37 of 100 in Jerusalem
486 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamai Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamai Suites

Address: 15 Ben Hillel, Jerusalem 9423117, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £60 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamai Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shamai Suites" is the best, Apartment's Hotel with pleasant ambience and modern facilities. Our Properties in a great location-walking distance from the Old City and Mahane Yehuda Market. Step out of our Hotel, and you'll be right in the heart of the downtown. Ben Yehuda (Midrehov) - is a fabulous pedestrian shopping street with restaurant district, variety of cafes, window shopping mall in the area closed to motorists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shamai Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing