We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Close to excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamiznon - kitchen station

Hamiznon - kitchen station
Ranked #105 of 695 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli, Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Close to excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stumbled into this restaurant on a recent visit to Jerusalem, while visiting the "New Tachana".
Lovely setting. Though summer and hot, it was airy. We liked it so much we returned for dinner. Excellent choice also for vegetarians. Wonderful salads and goof fish. One of the best cheesecakes I had. (Would go back for that alone.) Lovely service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank viator123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    51
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, refreshing and coooool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was a hot Friday at noon. Really hot , eve in Israeli terms, and it was my first visit to the Jerusalem station in its new form.
It was rather strange arriving at a place one knows so well as one thing (an real working train station) and walking into something completely different – a shopping and
Entertainment center and though I was a bit apprehensive about what I would find, but was very pleasantly surprised. The result is a fun cool place with lots of interesting stuff and the atmosphere of a sophisticated market place. We looked around at the wide variety of food places, and were spoiled for choice...
The station 9 doesn’t really stand out from the outside. Except for the very interesting black plates on the tables its hard to know what to expect.
Even a quick glance at the menu doesn’t prepare you. I cant really say how we managed to choose after all, because the descriptions seem similar to any other Asian restaurant. Luckily, the waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful and our choice of dishes was perfect. The presentation on the beautiful black tableware, was as fresh and exciting as the food itself. It was simple yet sophisticated, the ingredients were fresh and well-handled with good, balanced flavoring. We sat outside on the somewhat simple patio, but if you step inside you will find it a lot more exciting. Something of a tribute to Nobo and Modern Asian décor. I would like to come back in the evening to see how this cool and refreshing place transpires into an Modern Asian bar.
I have a good feeling about it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was really delicious. My husband got Shakshouka and I got a sandwich. Generous portions, fine service, lovely outdoor seating. The menu was varied. Location was lovely. I'd definitely go back next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank einsbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
408 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good Good and Good Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is one of the restaurants in the First Station (the restored Ottoman train station in Jerusalem).

There is a nice menu with many options, all vegetarian or fish as this is a kosher restaurant. There are salads, sandwiches, pastas and fish. There is also a variety of baked goods as well. I think anyone can find something good to eat here. There is a child's menu as well. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. I had the "Sabich Yarushlaim" for lunch and a pomegranate juice, which was very good and reasonably priced, especially for such a touristy area.

There is an indoor air-conditioned room that is decorated as if time had stood still and this was still a part of a working old train station. There is also a large outdoor patio area, great for people watching.

Service was good and the wait staff friendly. This is a good spot to re-energize while visiting the First Station.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Popular - Different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The place is in the First Station in Jerusalem, a popular and very nice place to take a stroll, see street performers, look at the stalls of artisans and craftsmen.
Very simple style, a kind of "public kitchen" decor.
Food is nicely served and tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamiznon - kitchen station also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hamiznon - kitchen station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing