We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Jerusalem”
Review of Hillel 11

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hillel 11
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Having been lucky enough to have stayed at Hillel 11 twice, I can happily say it is the best place to stay! The location is great-jsut off Ben Yehuda, surrounded by great restaurants. The staff are so friendly, welcoming and happy to assist

Room Tip: All rooms are great with a kitchenette. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillel11-Hadas, Public Relations Manager at Hillel 11, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you Andre for taking the time to post about your experience of steying here at Hillel11.

As you wrote, our helpfull and always-willind staff would have tried to help with the outside noise and find you a solution.

please note that as you also wrote, its the perfect location that gives us this amazing energy and vitality ( including night hours , and some times in an Israeli special volume... ). We apologize if our central location caused a disturbance to you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please be in touch with me directly when making your order by us next time so i can assist and make it a 100% perfect for you!

Kind regards,

Hadas Weiss
PR Manager
Hillel11, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here in December 2013. Great location for access to everything in Jerusalem. The rooms are very well sound proofed. Kept awake most nights from night time traffic. Israeli's have got the desire to use their horns for anything and everything. Woken in the early hours most days by an alarm activating near to the hotel. Could everyone moving about in the corridors during the early hours when residents returning. Staff were always helpful and willing. Great value hotel. Take ear plugs if you are going.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillel11-Hadas, Public Relations Manager at Hillel 11, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you Andre for taking the time to post about your experience of steying here at Hillel11.

As you wrote, our helpfull and always-willind staff would have tried to help with the outside noise and find you a solution.

please note that as you also wrote, its the perfect location that gives us this amazing energy and vitality ( including night hours , and some times in an Israeli special volume... ). We apologize if our central location caused a disturbance to you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please be in touch with me directly when making your order by us next time so i can assist and make it a 100% perfect for you!

Kind regards,

Hadas Weiss
PR Manager
Hillel11, Jerusalem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is not a fully fledged hotel, but rather a private apartment.
I was attracted by the good reviews and right now have ambivalent feelings about it. First things first.

Location is undoubtedly Hillel's best asset. It is conveniently located in a walking distance to the heart of Jerusalem (its ancient walls).

Staff deserves for at least a reprimand if not a change. Staff was not helpful at all (e.g. I asked if they can call for a cab they told me to take a bus or walk). When I get to my room, sheets were not changed and general cleanliness was an issue, I had to ask twice receptionist to come upstairs and verify what I am saying is true. Once he finally appeared, he seemed not to see an issue in my room (see photos attached). After a minor argumentation, he agreed to send for a cleaning guy... and told me to come back in 2 hrs(!). No apologies... simply that was unacceptable situation that spoiled my entire visit.

Rooms: Some (like mine) are small but quite nicely decorated with a modern equipment (with a good air-conditioning, small fridge, hanging flat TV with plethora of channels). There are a few bigger rooms too.

Amenities: There is nothing there but a living space (no restaurant, no gym). WiFi is available in the whole location, luckily free of charge and working fine.

Dining: there is no restaurant on-site. However you can find plenty dining places on the same street. If you are a carnivore I recommend a burger place down the street (in direction to Jerusalem walls) with delicious home made burger (unfortunately not too affordable).

Price/Value Ratio: Very good.

Recommendation: If there the only staff had been different, I would say: go ahead book it, don't think twice.

Room Tip: Simply there is not too much to choose from. All the rooms are located on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wodzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Nice apart-hotel in the center of Jerusalem. Better value than business hotels. Small, but clean and well appointed rooms, good wifi and electronics. Free parking overnight on meters nearby - but make sure to feed the meter by 8am!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I booked this hotel knowing from the reviews that it had no breakfast service and had no problem with that. The room was comfortable and very quiet. The bathroom was small but very modern. The housekeeping was immaculate. I had to go back to the room during the day for something and found the cleaning person wet mopping the floor. My room was cleaned every day during my 4 day stay. The hotel is centrally located. I was in Jerusalem for a family visit and found that the light rail train and the busses that I needed to use were within a 5 minute walk. The front desk staff were helpful in making phone calls which were at no charge to me whether local or even to Tel Aviv. In contrast to some other reviewers I had no problems with my wifi connection. I will stay at Hillel 11 on my next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel on the basis of the trip advisers ratings and price I got it through Booking.com
The hotel is well located in the West of Jerusalem and in a nice area within it, easy walk to Old City.
The rooms are well kept suites, with a separate bedroom en suite and sitting area with fridge, which was ideal for my trip.
The staff are to the most very friendly, but at least one member of staff, was not very helpful!
There are no facilities whatsoever, other than what is contained in your room!
Points to note:-
Six nights a week there is a receptionist/night porter, but due to religious observance Friday night the person sleeps in the hotel. They will do morning wake up calls but obviously not Saturday morning
TV are situated in the bedroom and living area, but in my room the TV was not good picture and you had to go into the sitting area to change channels.
My biggest complaint is the taking of money in Dollar's. As I went through Booking.com the price at time of booking was in pounds, with note that it would be taken in local currency. As the hotel they charged me in dollars I ended up losing out and paying more than anticipated. I resent a hotel in a first world country such as Israel, using another countries currency to bill a visitor from another country.
Finally I resent the hotel emailing me pressing me to not only putting a trip adviser entry in, but also to score it 10's, this comes across as very tacky and not in keeping with the overall quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: I do not think it really matters, the rooms are at least on floors above the street and I was on flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Hillel 11 hotel. It was the end of a 7 day whirlwind trip around Israel, and we appreciated the convenience and comfort of the hotel. It was easy to catch the train to the Old City. As well, we were within walking distance of both the Ben Yehuda and Mehane Yehuda markets - two of our favorite places to walk around. When we were tired from walking, we were able to hang out in the hotel and felt very comfortable! Oh, and the water pressure was awesome! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 102 in Jerusalem
618 reviews
Shamai Suites
#37 of 102 in Jerusalem
325 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#44 of 102 in Jerusalem
491 reviews
Nachla'ot
Lev Yerushalayim
Lev Yerushalayim
#55 of 102 in Jerusalem
242 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 102 in Jerusalem
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillel 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillel 11

Address: 11 Hillel, Jerusalem 9458111, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: £67 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillel 11 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillel 11 is located on top of the newly refurbished Hillel street, In the city center of beautiful Jerusalem. Overlooking the Old city, Hillel is just a 10 minute walk from the Mamilla mall and the Old city's walls. Hillel11 combines a contemporary elegant hospitality with a warm, welcoming family atmosphere. The hotel offers a range of different suites, to match every type of visit simply the best! Our friendly staff makes sure to provide our guests a highly personalized service. Conveniently located in the heart of Jerusalem, Guests are welcome to experience Jerusalem through its famous Israeli restaurants, surrounding the hotel. We offer our guests to enjoy cozy beds, large rooms and free WiFi, but more than that- We offer them a full, special, complex experience of the magic Jerusalem ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillel 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing