We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff but average room.”
Review of Hillel 11

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hillel 11
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff but average room.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you want to stay smack in the middle of downtown Jerusalem, then this is your place to be. Cannot get more central than Hillel Street. Cafes, pubs, laundry and shops all within a stone throw

Nice hotel per se and with lovely front staff. Very helpful and friendly. Not too sure about the cleaners. Was asked if I wanted the room cleaned. I would have through that that was a given rather than a option.

I took one of the one bedroom suites and to be sure it could do with a good paint job. Also, while there was a mini kitchenette, there was not cutlery or crockery. Bit hard then to buy food and bring it back to the room. Had some paper cups and plastic spoons for coffee but just not good enough.

Would not take much to be really good… but just does not hit the mark for the price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giralang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    120
    54
    13
    18
See reviews for
99
125
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at Hillel 11 for a total of ten nights in their one bed, small studio accommodation. While I felt that the employees were overall very friendly, I would not say that this hotel is necessarily service oriented.

The Hotels.com description says that complementary bottled water is provided at the hotel. I had to ask several times for the water at the front desk. While they did ultimately fulfill my request, I felt that they were being stingy with the water since it was not freely available.

Cleanliness: Towels were changed everyday, but the room itself was not extremely clean. The walls were marked up, the dry wall around the AC unit was in disrepair. I found many flies in the room, dead and alive. It was definitely tolerable, and not horribly filthy, but it is also not the cleanest place.

The location, however, is unbeatable. The hotel is smack in the center of Jerusalem and is walking distance from everything in the city. Right near the best restaurants in town as well.

Overall, if you are looking for a more economic choice with an excellent location that is not necessarily the best quality service and accommodation, this place is for you. If you want a real "hotel experience" look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbs336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was at Hillel 11 last year. It is a pretty basic hotel with no service. The front desk (if you can call it a front desk) was surprised at every request I made; requests that are normal in any hotel. The only quality of this hotel is its location outside the wall of the Old Town and near a couple of entertainment streets.

Room Tip: Only if you are looking for a good location in Jerusalem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JBoisvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Perfect location for a nice stay In Jerusalem

Kindness of the employees
Cleanliness of the rooms
Great locations
Perfect service at every time every hours

Congratulations and we will come back again as soon as possible

Frédéric

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fredericghidalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have been to many hotels, from hostels to five-star hotels and I can assure you that this one is worth every cent (or agorot) which is rarely the case. Very friendly staff, central location, clean, cool, go for it---good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Arizona, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a great boutique hotel, in a great location, with a great staff. It was a value for my family of 5, they had a family suite available for us (so I didn't have to get multiple hotel rooms), cafes across the street, restaurants, shopping, and nightlife on Ben Yehuda, one block over. Our suite had a small balcony overlooking Hillel Street that was so pleasant to sit and have coffee in the morning. The staff was kind and courteous, and immediately available if we needed anything. The suite was clean, comfortable and roomy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We are afraid we were disappointed with this hotel. The rooms were poorly cleaned, they had stains on the ceilings, the airconditioning was noisy, they had a kitchen but no tools to do anything with it... The positive points: nice staff and nice location. Everything else is not special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quimiquilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Shamai Suites
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#39 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Eldan Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillel 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillel 11

Property: Hillel 11
Address: 11 Hillel, Jerusalem 9458111, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillel 11 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillel 11 is located on top of the newly refurbished Hillel street, In the city center of beautiful Jerusalem. Overlooking the Old city, Hillel is just a 10 minute walk from the Mamilla mall and the Old city's walls. Hillel11 combines a contemporary elegant hospitality with a warm, welcoming family atmosphere. The hotel offers a range of different suites, to match every type of visit simply the best! Our friendly staff makes sure to provide our guests a highly personalized service. Conveniently located in the heart of Jerusalem, Guests are welcome to experience Jerusalem through its famous Israeli restaurants, surrounding the hotel. We offer our guests to enjoy cozy beds, large rooms and free WiFi, but more than that- We offer them a full, special, complex experience of the magic Jerusalem ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillel 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing