We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifeline for the old store”
Review of Yad LaKashish

Yad LaKashish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Yad LaKashish is a non-profit organization which provides hundreds of Jerusalem's needy elderly with creative work opportunities & crucial support services, helping them to feel part of Israeli society & boosting their sense of purpose & self worth.
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Excellent concept store that assists elderly artisans with financial support and a free hot lunch.

There is a large variety of handmade items to choose from.

I recommend visiting here to purchase souvenirs for home.

They have some adorable handmade dolls and animals for children that caught my eye among many many other items.

1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Ann C,

Thanks so much for your review of Yad LaKashish and for recommending us to others! We hope you're enjoying your souvenirs and look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Best wishes in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"non profit"
in 3 reviews
"dental care"
in 2 reviews
"life line"
in 2 reviews
"inspiring place"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 2 reviews
"immigrants"
in 4 reviews
"dignity"
in 4 reviews
"gifts"
in 13 reviews
"artists"
in 11 reviews
"workshop"
in 8 reviews
"craftspeople"
in 3 reviews
"textiles"
in 3 reviews
"craftsmanship"
in 3 reviews
"silk"
in 2 reviews
"purchasing"
in 2 reviews
"tears"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2016

This is a jewel in Jerusalem in a different way. This organization is giving low income elder immigrants a purpose in life , an income with dignity and respect while providing a beautiful and artistic product for folks to take home as a souvenir of their visit. Please do not miss this spot and give them your support!! We did and I am so glad.

Thank MWF626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear MWF626,

Thanks so much for your review of Yad LaKashish and for recommending us to others! We hope you'll visit us again and hope that in the meantime you're enjoying your purchases!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Yad Lakashish is a community organization that provides meaningful, productive work for seniors.
If you're looking to get some really memorable souvenirs of your trip that are beautiful, affordable and have a great story behind them, then this is the place for you!
If you're in Jerusalem even for a little while, I would recommend stopping by this wonderful place and helping to support the work they do!

1  Thank CarynSKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear CarynSKA

Thanks for the great review and for recommending Yad LaKashish to others! We hope you are enjoying your purchases and had a meaningful visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I LOVE IT HERE. This is a moving, inspirational place to visit and support. It's a day center for seniors and special needs adults. Here, they are taught a craft and various skills and they work (with a stipend) to create wonderful artistic products which are then sold in the gift shop on site. Yad LaKashish gives people a purpose and a meaningful way to spend their days, and they are highly valued here despite their advanced age and/or special needs status. The items they make are absolutely magnificent - each person to his own ability. The gift shop speaks for itself. Each time I am in Israel, I buy way too much at this shop - but all of the profits go back to support this amazing place which is improving lives each day. Go when the workshops are open and ask for a tour if you can. At minimum, go to the awesome gift shop and buy artisan, gorgeous souvenirs that have meaning. There is no "schlock" here - everything is high quality and just beautiful.. It's one of my favorite places in all of Jerusalem and even all of Israel. PS you can also shop online here if you can't make it to Israel - I, and others I know, have done so and they are a pleasure to deal with!

2  Thank bkramer947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear bkramer947,

Thank you for your very enthusiastic review of Yad LaKashish! We really appreciate your positive feedback and sharing us with others. You're more than welcome to continue to buy "'way too much" whenever you're here or online....and of course tour the workshops also.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This place was great. The shop was great to pick up small gifts for friend and family and support a good cause. Calm ahead to do the short tour, very friendly and inspiring

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear David G,

Thanks so much for your review of Yad LaKashish. We hope you and your friends are enjoying your purchases and that you had a meaningful visit.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yad LaKashish also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad LaKashish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing