We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
Review of Yad LaKashish

Yad LaKashish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Yad LaKashish is a non-profit organization which provides hundreds of Jerusalem's needy elderly with creative work opportunities & crucial support services, helping them to feel part of Israeli society & boosting their sense of purpose & self worth.
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Life line for the old has the most unusual crafts and jewelry made by local artists at fantastic prices. I have never seen such an array of unusual items

Thank 22jerry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear 22jerry36,

Thanks so much for your review of Yad LaKashish! We're so glad you were impressed by the crafts made by our elderly artisans. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"non profit"
in 3 reviews
"inspiring place"
in 2 reviews
"dental care"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 2 reviews
"immigrants"
in 4 reviews
"dignity"
in 4 reviews
"gifts"
in 13 reviews
"artists"
in 11 reviews
"workshop"
in 8 reviews
"craftspeople"
in 3 reviews
"textiles"
in 3 reviews
"silk"
in 2 reviews
"purchasing"
in 2 reviews
"tears"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I have gone here for years and still find it to be one of the most special places in Jerusalem. If you are with a group, you are welcomed in to watch elderly people working with metals, neddlework, the bookbindery. The quality of craftsmanship is amazing by any standards; the finished products in the gift shop reflect the level if dedication in the work. A must see.

Thank Betsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Betsy T,

Thank you so much for your review! It means a lot to us to get positive feedback about our mission and our products. We hope you had an enjoyable and meaningful visit here and look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes in the meantime,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Excellent concept store that assists elderly artisans with financial support and a free hot lunch.

There is a large variety of handmade items to choose from.

I recommend visiting here to purchase souvenirs for home.

They have some adorable handmade dolls and animals for children that caught my eye among many many other items.

1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Ann C,

Thanks so much for your review of Yad LaKashish and for recommending us to others! We hope you're enjoying your souvenirs and look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Best wishes in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This is a jewel in Jerusalem in a different way. This organization is giving low income elder immigrants a purpose in life , an income with dignity and respect while providing a beautiful and artistic product for folks to take home as a souvenir of their visit. Please do not miss this spot and give them your support!! We did and I am so glad.

Thank MWF626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear MWF626,

Thanks so much for your review of Yad LaKashish and for recommending us to others! We hope you'll visit us again and hope that in the meantime you're enjoying your purchases!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Yad Lakashish is a community organization that provides meaningful, productive work for seniors.
If you're looking to get some really memorable souvenirs of your trip that are beautiful, affordable and have a great story behind them, then this is the place for you!
If you're in Jerusalem even for a little while, I would recommend stopping by this wonderful place and helping to support the work they do!

1  Thank CarynSKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yad_LaKashish, Public Relations Manager at Yad LaKashish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear CarynSKA

Thanks for the great review and for recommending Yad LaKashish to others! We hope you are enjoying your purchases and had a meaningful visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yad LaKashish also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Yad LaKashish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing