We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaplan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$290
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamai Suites(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Montefiore Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
US$552
US$512
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Little House In Rechavia(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$403
US$380
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Center Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
58
65
24
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
65
24
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelhelpful ownerjaffa streetgreat locationrooms are basic but cleanold citysmall kitchenhotel is situatedbars and restaurantsfriday afternoontram linelight railsix nightswalking distancemahane yehuda marketvisit jerusalemheart of jerusalem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I'm just ending a wonderful five day adventure in Jerusalem, and the Kaplan Hotel been a major reason my wife and I have enjoyed ourselves so much. First, it is in a great location on Jaffa Street at Zion Square. Across the street is Ben Yehuda avenue, a pedestrian street with shops, restaurants, night spots, grocery stores, cafes within two minutes. Jaffa gate to the Old City is a leisurely ten minute stroll. Ditto the Mamilla Mall. In addition to the great location, the price is right. We paid $70 US a night, a very good rate for expensive Jerusalem. The room was clean and neat with ensuite bathroom, plenty of hot water, and TV with more stations than you will have time to look at. Also of importance to us was the free WIFI, which gave us internet access in our room. We could also make use of the small kitchen to keep groceries and to cook up light meals, usually breakfast. Finally, the owner, Natan, was a warm hearted host and soon a friend. We would return to the Kaplan hotel again if we can ever come back to Jerusalem. We highly recommend it.

Tricia and Harvey Kail

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank harvey035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival, one of the owners welcomed us in the little shared kitchen and gave us different hints on the sightseeing in Jerusalem.
Both the owners are kind and willing to help you in whatever thing you might need. Eli also offered us a beer, which we did appreciate!
This is a very cheap hotel, and basically what you get is sort of what you pay for. Rooms are indeed small, with a very basic furnishing and let’s say the cleaning of the rooms leaves a bit to be desired. Bathroom deserves a separate mention. It is a very small bathroom, with a tiny basin where even washing one’s hands become a challenging operation. Shower and WC are almost the same thing, therefore you could enjoy one and the other at the same time.
Bathroom was cleaned upon arrival. Water is hot and fresh towels were on our beds when we checked in.
Location of the Kaplan is very close to the Old City: a 10 minutes walk leads you to the Jaffa gate. Neighbourhood is a bit noisy during night-time, although we were so knackered I barely heard the alarm in the morning.
Breakfast is not available, but tea and coffee are complimentary in the shared kitchen. PC with free internet access is at the disposal of guest, with no charge.

If you are looking for a no-frills and low cost option, then Kaplan will do.
If you might feel uncomfortable with the above given description of the rooms, then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

It's very conveniently located: about a 7-10 minute walk to the Old City, right on Jaffa Street with pedestrian malls and about 7-10 minutes from Mahane Yehuda. But there is very little between you and the outside. Most of the week this is probably fine except for Saturday night and one other night that I can't remember. There was drumming until around 3am.

In February, it gets a bit cold in Jerusalem at night, maybe around the 40s so the lack of heat makes it pretty uncomfortable. Despite the lack of heat, several big mosquitos did quite well in the room. The only thick blankets were of questionable cleanliness. The toilet did not flush well. We did not sleep well. Natan is a nice guy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a small hotel situated off the busy Jaffa Road & across from Ben Yehuda Street. A great location but can be noisy at night. It is a basic hotel as reflected in the price, but clean with basic amenities. Eli, one of the owners, made our stay so enjoyable. He offered good advice as to where and when to go to places and was very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very grateful for the bottles of cold water he suppied free, daily as the temp was in the 90's and also the use of his kitchen. He is earnestly trying to get the noise levels around the hotel reduced by contacting the local council and we hope he succeeds. To see old fashioned hospitality at its best, visit the Kaplan Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank israelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Kaplan for two nights for exploring Jerusalem and this hotel is perfect. The location is about 15 minutes walking from the New gate entrance to the Old City and a bit more to the Jaffa gate.
I would definetely prefer this hotel over accomodation in the Old City since it is just minutes away from the nightlife of Jerusalem. That makes the hotel a bit noisy, but if you are into some pub crawling after your sightseein, this is perfect.
The rooms are nothing fancy, but clean and okay for the price.
The owner can be reached via Tel: +97226254591 or natan_taig@yahoo.com.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews