We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service from Eli”
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #52 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and service from Eli”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Kaplan is a nice base for exploring Jerusalem. So close to the old city and surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

Eli gave some advice but also flexibility to choose our own favorites. He was always waiting up for us to debrief our days and catch up on our news in a funny way !!

Two downsides: room was very noisy all night on thurs and some of sat night. Earplugs needed. Second, the bed linen was for two singles rather than a double to match the bed.

Anyway, overall a good find and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie2lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    55
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
42
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

One of the highlights of our trip was having the pleasure to meet Eli, the owner. He was SO warm and hospitable. The location was perfect for us. I am extremely sensitive to outside noise, so Eli put me in a back room with a fan and earplugs, and it worked out just fine. The fruit plate was an added bonus. I highly recommend Hotel Kaplan. It also is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melaniecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

To immediately judge the Kaplan on appearances would be a huge mistake... I only posted the photos to give other readers an image of the exterior entrance and basic standard of the rooms.

I can only heap praise on this friendly and welcoming gem of a budget hotel. If you want to stay within immediate walking distance to almost every major attraction in Jerusalem without paying a fortune, this is your place. 1 minute walk from Ben Yahuda street on Zion Square; easy 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate. If can't handle 'hostel-style' backpacking and only stay in 4-5* hotels with cocktail bars and swimming pools, then this is not your place.

The owner Eli goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable in such humble and fun surroundings. He made sure we knew that the fruit left in the room was free of charge and that we were introduced to the other guests and his cute little dog. Very safe and feels like a family home in the middle of the city centre.

Highly recommended experience. I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed at the Kaplan during October, 2012; this was a return visit for me, as I had stayed there more than once in 2010. Eli Wasserman was a wonderful host, as usual. There is usually no breakfast served, but because so many restaurants are closed in the area on Saturday, Eli provided a wonderful spread. The room was comfortable, although I had some problems with adequate hot water in the shower (the sink had plenty of hot water, so I am guessing the problem was with the shower control).
The location is ideal, and is very convenient. The price makes the Kaplan a very attractive choice in the Zion Square area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tpr244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel felt more like a hospitable B&B than a hotel in the center of a capital city. Location is awesome too: a walking distance from the Old City and a block away from cafes and from a shopping area.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chemodan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Pleasant owner, good location, clean - but often noisy and generally rundown. Didn't live up to expectations. No breakfast available (other than tea-bags and Nescafe). Not really enough bedding, and nowhere comfortable to sit in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I chose the Kaplan over more established brand name hotels because of the good reviews I'd read and more importantly, since I wanted to stay at a place that offered a more intimate "Israeli" experience. I was certainly not disappointed. The biggest plus point of this place has simply got to be the owner, Eli Wasserman. Right from the time I checked in late one afternoon to the time I left after a two night stay, Eli was friendly and helpful. Blessed with seemingly boundless energy and good cheer, it was a pleasure to sit at the kitchen table with him while he brewed me some tea and we got talking. His warmth and concern for my well being seemed genuine enough. He gave me a couple of maps to keep, on which he very helpfully sketched out directions for places to visit. I found out through experience that his advice was sound and I did not go wrong following his tips, be it directions to places or things to do and /or avoid. His breakfasts were simple but very filling. In sum, Eli is a large part of what makes this place nice. As for the accomodation, it is utilitarian. I had a small room barely enough to walk into. It was en suite, and had a separate curtained nook where stood a medium sized cupboard for clothes and some additional floor place where I could stow my luggage. There was a TV, attached high on the wall facing the bed, which showed several channels, both Hebrew and English. The bathroom was just about adequate in size. Two minor inconveniences with the bathroom were : A very small sink which allowed too much water to splash out onto the floor, and the lack of a shower cubicle which made the whole bathroom wet while taking a shower. But the room and the bathroom were very well maintained and clean. The hotel is about a twenty minutes walk from Jaffa Gate in the walled city of Old Jerusalem and a lot of the tourist attractions and historical sights are thus close at hand. The hotel is adjacent to Zion Square and this is a very nice area with good choices for shopping, eating or merely hanging out. Jaffa Road, on which the hotel is located is also a very nice and pleasant road for just walking along as well. And oh yes, before I forget. When I checked in Eli handed over to me a big bowl of fresh fruits wrapped in cellophane and told me "These fruits are not just for looking, they are for eating !! You MUST eat them!" And when he next saw me the first thing he asked was,"Have you eaten any of the fruit? It is FREE, I don't charge for it !" Of course I did eat the fruits and they were very tasty indeed. Thanks Eli !!

In sum, therefore, I would recommend this place. It is utlitarian and nothing fancy, but I found the overall experience of staying here almost like being at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellerIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
0.2 mi away
Palatin Hotel
Palatin Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion Hotel
Zion Hotel
#72 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shamai Suites
Shamai Suites
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#76 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Center Jerusalem
City Center Jerusalem
#32 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillel 11
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Property: Kaplan Hotel
Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing