We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest average hotel in Jerusalem!”
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #59 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The greatest average hotel in Jerusalem!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First off, I have to join the other reviewers in their praise of Eli as a wonderful host - I arrived extremely early in the morning, but he greeted me with a smile, gave me the room keys and a bottle of water, told me to get some sleep and come back when I was ready to check in. Later, he would also provide me with a chamsa necklace, as my visit coincided with a turbulent period with air sirens even in Jerusalem (November 2012).

The Kaplan is nicely located in the middle of everything, and it is easy to get to the various sights and events in the city - either by foot, tram or taxi. And should you need any advice on where to go or how to get there, Eli will be at your service! Due to nearby construction work during my stay, I learnt that its central location is both a gift and a curse, as they would begin working very early.

The room was average and nothing more - as expected from a hotel this price range. The bathroom was very small, but everything worked as it should. Unfortunately, my experience was somewhat marred by stepping barefoot on a cockroach on my last day, pushing my overall impression from a "Very good" to an "Average" one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyZoidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    57
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
43
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I stayed here with my brother in July. I wasn't too familiar with the area but the owner of the hotel gave me booklets and recommendations of fun things to do in the surrounding area. Very friendly and pleasant owner, extremely accommodating, best location near plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops. Clean rooms with wifi and TV. Bang for your buck!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A hotel not only at the heart of the city but that provides service with a heart making it a real home away from home, Eli and Nathan the owners are incredibly kind and helpful (and funny!) and go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that you have everything you need during your stay. They really know how to put a smile on your face.

It is a rare thing to come across hotel owners with such humanity, who are so passionate about providing a good service, whom would give you the shirt off their backs if you needed it! I was offered food more than once when returning late after a long day taking care of a sick relative and even received a thoughtful gifts in my room of fresh flowers and platters of fruit which were a real delight and godsend, again testament to how incredibly thoughtful Eli and Nathan are.

On a practical note the rooms are clean and tidy and well equipped, showers hot and as well as being in a tremendous location and having all mod cons there is a real sense of being amongst friends and feeling incredibly safe and all of this for a very reasonable price. It is uncanny as the Kaplan is right at the centre with everything a stones throw away, yet magically feels like home. I am a repeat visitor and I have met many others from all over the world and all walks of life that return again and again. The Kaplan is truly a little gem in Jerusalem and it’s owners beautiful souls. Staying here can really enhance the enjoyment of visiting the Holy Land and leave you with a positive lasting memory.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MashaMasha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Kaplan is a nice base for exploring Jerusalem. So close to the old city and surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

Eli gave some advice but also flexibility to choose our own favorites. He was always waiting up for us to debrief our days and catch up on our news in a funny way !!

Two downsides: room was very noisy all night on thurs and some of sat night. Earplugs needed. Second, the bed linen was for two singles rather than a double to match the bed.

Anyway, overall a good find and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie2lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

One of the highlights of our trip was having the pleasure to meet Eli, the owner. He was SO warm and hospitable. The location was perfect for us. I am extremely sensitive to outside noise, so Eli put me in a back room with a fan and earplugs, and it worked out just fine. The fruit plate was an added bonus. I highly recommend Hotel Kaplan. It also is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melaniecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

To immediately judge the Kaplan on appearances would be a huge mistake... I only posted the photos to give other readers an image of the exterior entrance and basic standard of the rooms.

I can only heap praise on this friendly and welcoming gem of a budget hotel. If you want to stay within immediate walking distance to almost every major attraction in Jerusalem without paying a fortune, this is your place. 1 minute walk from Ben Yahuda street on Zion Square; easy 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate. If can't handle 'hostel-style' backpacking and only stay in 4-5* hotels with cocktail bars and swimming pools, then this is not your place.

The owner Eli goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable in such humble and fun surroundings. He made sure we knew that the fruit left in the room was free of charge and that we were introduced to the other guests and his cute little dog. Very safe and feels like a family home in the middle of the city centre.

Highly recommended experience. I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed at the Kaplan during October, 2012; this was a return visit for me, as I had stayed there more than once in 2010. Eli Wasserman was a wonderful host, as usual. There is usually no breakfast served, but because so many restaurants are closed in the area on Saturday, Eli provided a wonderful spread. The room was comfortable, although I had some problems with adequate hot water in the shower (the sink had plenty of hot water, so I am guessing the problem was with the shower control).
The location is ideal, and is very convenient. The price makes the Kaplan a very attractive choice in the Zion Square area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tpr244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
596 reviews
Palatin Hotel
#56 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
648 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#77 of 99 in Jerusalem
163 reviews
Hillel 11
#42 of 99 in Jerusalem
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Property: Kaplan Hotel
Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing