We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eli makes you feel at home”
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Kaplan Hotel is probably the best located hotel in Jerusalem on Jaffa Road. Only 12 minute walk from the old city & Jerusalems main market & located right next to great shopping & public transportation. Pricewise it is the best value in the city. Eli is very welcoming & will assist you in every way possible. He made our stay very memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Jerusalem is an old city and we weren’t looking for anything top notch, but the quality of our room didn’t quite match the price. We settled on this place after discovering most hostels and hotels in the area were booked. The room was very basic – with a private bathroom that had a shower head over the toilet. There was wifi, and a balcony which was really nice. Kaplan is on the main road and was the perfect location for finding restaurants and bars, but also meant some noise throughout the night as people passed by the bedroom window. Overall, the room was decent, but pricier than it was worth.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Small and reasonably priced hotel in great location on the corner of pedestrianized Jaffa Street - 10 mins walk from Jaffa Gate to the old city. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and include free WiFi as well. But the thing what makes this really special is the owner who is extremely helpful and genuinely interested making sure your stay is as good as possible. I can highly recommend this hotel - Thank you very much Eli

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Position was good and owner was helpful in looking up a few places we were looking for.

Most importantly beds were comfortable and room clean. Thought it a bit expensive but I didn't compare rates so maybe that's Jerusalem prices.

Ben yehuda is close to everything!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank JanineE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I just got back from a 3-night stay with my husband and my Mom. We were given a room for 4 so we had extra bed where we can put stuff. It's a small and cozy hotel that I think is just perfect because the manager/owner would know your whereabouts. He helped us with our itineraries and had I known, I shouldn't have booked my tours early, because he gave us a lot of helpful tips. It's within cluster of restaurants and shops and about 10-minute walk to Jaffa gate. Our room had a nice patio where we can look out to people, and yes, it gets noisy at night. Sounded like drunk people shouting but in reality they were just conversing normally. But it will not hinder us to stay in this hotel again next time. The advantages outweigh the disadvantages. The real gem in this property is the owner himself. He even gave us nice souvenirs to take home with us. Thanks, Eli!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeilMontygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived early in the morning (5 am). We got our room key and had some sleep before the day. You have many choices for a breakfast in the streets. Hotel is small, it feel like home. They look after you like a friend or a family member. Location is very good in Zion Square. You can walk to old town and you can take the tram to the other parts of the city. I did run Jerusalem marathon. It is good for that. It is near the route and the start and the finish line. I will definitely take this hotel if I travel to Jerusalem again. Thank you Mr. Eli.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Nothing luxurious in this small hotel ... however ... the room was clean and warm, the bed comfortable, the air conditionning was working and the water was hot :))) It is a very good choice when you are looking for a budget hotel. In addition, the ownwer is very friendly and the location is perfect (1 tram stop from old city and a lot of bars and shops around).They do not provide breakfast however there is a kitchen where you can always get a coffee (and some shakshuka if you are lucky :). Just one thing: ask for a room with a street view (it can be a bit noisy but the other rooms can be ugly)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Badenschtein0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#62 of 100 in Jerusalem
129 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
651 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#85 of 100 in Jerusalem
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#50 of 100 in Jerusalem
417 reviews
Zion Hotel
#77 of 100 in Jerusalem
160 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#41 of 100 in Jerusalem
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing