We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only an option if you have nowhere else to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We arrived in Jerusalem late, in the rain and with no reservation. Our hostel of choice had closed for the night and we opted for Petra as they had a room and well, we were desperate. It is the most we have ever paid for a room on our travels ($220 for 3 nights) and it is the worst room that we have ever stayed in.
The location was good, and the staff were nice, but the whole place is falling apart and for the price they charge for rooms they should really be making the place nice.
We complained about our room as the wall was damp and the bathroom had a permanent puddle but the next room was only marginally better. I would only ever stay here again if I was desperate or the rooms were vastly reduced in price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fractalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

I wouldn't pick this hostel if there was another one available, but during New Years it was nice to have a roof, especially after the terrible experience with the Citadel. Average rooms. Showers and common areas not well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 124,567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

good place , and nice one , in the old city of Jerusalem , very nice location ...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeooo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. I have backpacked around India and Asia, and at times spent as little $5 USD per night. To stay at the Petra Hostel, they charged nearly $100 USD and the quality and cleanliness was worse than anywhere else in the world I have stayed.

Every electrical connection/socket in the room was falling out and wires were exposed. The cracks around the door and window and in the room in general were to numerous to count. Our room did not have a fan despite the fact that it was very hot. We finally found a fan to use in the communal area, but when we plugged it in, it did not work. We found another fan, but it also did not work. Finally on the third try we found a fan that worked.

They do have internet available to use; however, the extent of the malware on the computers is extreme. I logged in to my email account for no longer than a few minutes to make some travel arrangements, and later found out that all of my contacts had been spammed with a link to an attack site. On a more humorous note, one night when we used the hotel computer, we noticed that several web browsers remained opened from the previous users session and the opened pages were porn sites. Not surprising to see given the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astapler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

It's in a great location and the price is competitive, but it is run down and needs a good sponge and bucket of water. The dorm was very, very basic. One redeeming feature was the view from the roof.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dellafranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel is located right next to Jaffa Gate, which is ideal, since you probably are coming with a backpack or luggage and won't want to wander through the Old City looking for your place. Make sure you find the actual hotel, though, because there are people trying to find you a different accomodation who scout the Jaffa Gate area. The amenities are pretty basic, but it's not too bad, especially for the price. The people are very nice and helpful. I would recommend this for anyone who is on a tight budget, but if you aren't, you probably want to find a different place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Petra Hostel is a small hostelhotel with cheap prices and nice personal, also for solo travelers and backpackers. The location is super, just at the CitaDel of David and close to the old city. Around the corner you have the travelinformation.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank DominiqueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#54 of 100 in Jerusalem
321 reviews
The Sephardic House
#50 of 100 in Jerusalem
159 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 100 in Jerusalem
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#49 of 100 in Jerusalem
416 reviews
The Post Hostel
#4 of 71 in Jerusalem
281 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#39 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Hostel

Address: Jaffa Gate 1, David, Jerusalem 9534710, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Hostel is a large and remarkable hostel that is located directly inside Jaffa Gate, offering a prime location. We have wide range of options, we have deluxe and super deluxe and simple rooms, for every kind of budget. The hostel has four floors. The roof of the hostel also offers additional rooms, as well as the option to rent a mattress or tent on the roof itself and sleep under the Jerusalem stars. It is a simple yet quite large hostel, considering it is inside the Old City. Each floor is has of a large common area, which includes several seating areas, a communal kitchen and fridge, and a TV (shared) as well as a common library where you can select different books and a dining table. Our hotel is reachable by taxi and car (right up to the front door)Much has changed since the Petra Hostel's conception in the early 1830's. But the wonderful ambiance, clean and beautiful well priced rooms, and the most beautiful views in Jerusalem of the old city have remained and continue to be a 180 year constant. With such famous budget travelers such as; Herman Melville, Mark Twain and General Allenby- Petra Hostel's reputation is as poetic and as mystical as the Holy Land itself A common kitchen can be used for cooking is available, as well as laundry service, an airport shuttle service, internet service, and amazing roof Most of the rooms are ensuite with private bathroom. Common bathrooms are also available. The atmosphere is home-like. There are stained glass windows and light fixtures.The outstanding feature of this hostel is its view. Because of its prime location, every window in the hostel has a stunning view of either the wall of the Old City and the street below, or the rooftops of the Old City. Seemingly every room opens onto a balcony. The best area, by far, is the roof, where there are separate rooms with an incredible panoramic view of the entire Old City as well as the Mount of Olives, Mount Scopus, etc. Every landmark is visible!Free breakfast now available for everyone staying in the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Petra Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Jerusalem
Petra Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing