We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good value”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a beautifully run hotel, with tasteful decor, comfortable rooms, and helpful staff. Breakfast was very nice, with many less common choices (figs, dates, nuts, variety of breads and rolls). There was a plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of water waiting for me in my room, which I enjoyed. And the wifi actually worked (!). The hotel is in walking distance to the Old City...you will walk through a bustling Arab neighborhood shopping district. I found this interesting and a nice counterpoint to my other Jerusalem experiences. However, this is not a neighborhood for restaurants or nightlife, so be prepared to walk a lot, or take cabs to other parts of the city. To avoid this necessity, I ate in the hotel's restaurant, which was fine, though the menu was surprisingly American (pizza, oriental chicken salad, pasta). The lamb kabob and the pita bread were very good. Unlike another reviewer, I did not notice any unusual amount of noise, day or night. The neighborhood mostly closes down after around 8 PM.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wordgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    251
    76
    17
    33
See reviews for
119
217
94
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I would like to start off by clarifying that this hotel had the best service I have ever experienced at a hotel. They gladly helped us with several different questions, bookings, recommendations. We were also impressed when the taxis they called for us charged the exact same prices as our friend who lives in Jerusalem said they should be. It is about a 5-10 minute walk into the walls of the old city. Rooms were not luxurious, but they were up-to-date, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast had a wide variety (including meats, breads, cheeses, cereal, fresh fruit, nuts, and an omlette/pancake station). Coffee was pretty good.

Some people don't recommend the location, but even as a woman, I felt safe. We even walked home on New Year's Eve at 2am and we did not feel uncomfortable. While I believe it would be perfectly safe for children, that might be the only reason I wouldn't recommend the neighborhood the hotel is in. No, the neighborhood is not as glitzy as West Jerusalem, but the people are nice and there are plenty of falafel/schwarma places near the hotel. Again, the service at this hotel made a great hotel into a wondreful hotel. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelteacher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel service is great; specifically front desk (their manager is fantastic) are very helpful. The breakfast is reasonable. The room get a lot of noise from the outside; fortunately there is not much noise after 10 PM so it does not affect much your sleep (don't even consider it if you plan to sleep during the day). The area around does not look great however is safe to walk and easy to reach the old city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights in total and cannot emphasize just how good the staff were. They were extremely helpful and friendly, they are a real merit to the hotel. They seem to remember every guests name and provide a very personal service.
The breakfast is amazing, much better than even 5 star hotels. The rooms are nice and clean, there is a small gym, free wifi in the bedrooms, and computers that you can use free of charge in the business centre. The hotel is no more than 10 minutes walking distance to the Old City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tang_a_tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I'm stay in Jerusalem for the third time, but my first time in National Hotel. The location is very good for pilgrimage, because is near to the gates of Old City. For those who think drinking alcohol drink, FORGET, because the hotel is in muslim district, where it is prohibited the sale. Special thanks for the staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

A nice mid level hotel. Exactly what I expected, except for one thing. The service of the staff was exceptional. I didn't get her name, but judging from previous reviews it was Nirvana, a bubbly, friendly and extremely helpfull young lady, thank you. Nothing was too much trouble and they were more than happy to satisfy any request, OK I only needed a few cokes and glasses but they were only too happy to help.

I came to see the old city so for that it was perfectly located.

The food in the restaurant was OK, nothing to write home about but not bad either.

If I have one gripe, it is house keeping dragging furniture around on the floor above while cleaning. OK we all have a job to do but not pleasant being woken up by that in the morning.

All round a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift as passing traffic noise can be annoying late at night, a minor point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Hotel couldn't have been friendlier. Price was right ($315 for 2 rooms for 4 people). Location not the most interesting place in town, but close to old city. Clean rooms, dark but not tiny. Only complaint: no hot water in the morning. Complained, told it would be an hour. Checked with them more than an hour later, told it would be 5 min. Still nothing. Left for the day (10am) Came back at 4pm. Still no hot water.Complained again. Checked back at 9pm and finally, hot water!

Pretty quiet,
Frustrating but for the price in Jerusalem, overall a reasonable deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eternaloptimist815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 99 in Jerusalem
596 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#40 of 99 in Jerusalem
471 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#57 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
Hillel 11
#42 of 99 in Jerusalem
369 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing