We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in Jerusalem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great option in Jerusalem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Good hotel worthy of 4 star rating. Situated in the chaotic Arab quarter but seemed safe and a short walk to the old city through Herods gate. Rooms clean and modern, reasonably priced restaurant on 4thfloor.
A special mention to the staff who are simply exceptional: efficient at check in despite a large group turning up just before us, friendly throughout, immensely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    235
    73
    16
    32
See reviews for
113
206
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I found my whole experience of the National Hotel as wonderful. My room was clean, large and airy. The breakfast on the terrace was most enjoyable, the food delicious.The distance to the Old City was a 5 minute walk. The staff, especially Nirvarna, were extremely helpful in every way. The hotel is is in the middle of a vibrant community, as a lone female traveller I felt perfectly safe. I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

The service staffs, especially the front desk manager - Nirvana, are excellent! They have been very helpful and warmth in servicing your every needs which makes your stay almost like home. Located within walking distance from Herod's Gate, the hotel is a great base for you to see the old and new city.

- Benjamin Chan

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjaminchan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

If your here for a night the hotel is fine. If your staying on business and require actual normal hotel services this may not be the place for you. My room was rarely cleaned and when I brought it to managements attention, all I received were smiles. Everyone loves to smile here and that is lovely but there is little substance behind the smile. The lady who manages during the day Nirvana does try as she possibly can but one person can not do it all. Do not go here during any kind of festival or it is just a nightmare. Stay in the Western or Northern area toward German COlony (quiet) or up North by the bars and shopping (loud.)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I am not a fussy traveler but I was very disappointed in my experience at the National Hotel. It is certainly not a 4 star hotel. I would give it about a 2 +. It was extremely basic, bordering on spartan. The rooms are not carpeted. The bathroom was so small, it was hard to turn around. The furnishings are very basic. The carpeting in the hallway was very dirty. It is about a 4 block walk to the arab quarter in the old city. do not pay 4 star prices if you stay here! There is no fitness center. Value for money? I don't think so.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms at the National Hotel. Because they were cleaning rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourense
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I'm not used to write this kind of reviews. In general, an accomodation is nothing more than a transaction. Do ut des. Nothing more. Of course, the transaction could be fair or not. But in this case things are quite different. I've left Jerusalem with the feeling that I've received something that money can't pay.

A house is not a home and a hotel is not a building. The National Hotel is good in terms of its facilities. It has everything the average traveller could need on his visit to Jerusalem. Rooms are comfortable. Restrooms and amenities are OK. The wi-fi works well and the breakfast is fine. Mention apart about its situation. NH it's located on the East Jerusalem, that means the arabic neighborhood. And what about it? It's five minutes walking to Damascus Gate, probably the best entrance to the Old City where you can visit the most important historical, and religious if it's your goal, spots of Jerusalem. Sure that the district is not so clean and "cute" as Jaffa market or Mamilla (this could lead you to reflect about what's happening on the different treatment, services and investments that the Local Authorities of Jerusalem give to those areas depending on the ethnical or religious conditions of their respective population). On the other hand, I must assure is a very living, colourful and absolutely safe area. Any prejudices one could have before will disappear when discovering how easy and riskfree is to go through or live East Jerusalem.

Going back to the review of NH. What makes special a standard good hotel can't be found in material things. The soul of NH, no doubt, resides in the  human factor. 

I've never experienced the kind of attention I had during my recent trip to Jerusalem.

The reception staff of NH is the most friendly and efficient group of people you could expect. The personal treatment (from my arrival, everyone called me by my name), the genuine smile and the willing to fullfill every need you could have are so natural to this staff!. I'm afraid of forgetting one of their names (it'd be unfair). Thank you a lot to the "sweet-but-professional" Ranjana, the "consider-it-done" Didi, the goal-oriented Tirshi and the outgoing Bashar. And same consideration deserves the personal of restaurant, rooms, etc.

The name behind that achievement is some kind of description of herself: Nirvana. Nirvana Shuaibi Remawi is by far the most enthusiastic, friendly and efficient Hotel Manager I've ever met. I've no words, at least in  my poor english, to remark how hard Nirvana works to resolve every problem you could have, to provide you with the information, supplies or whatever you need and, the best of all, always with the nice sensation that it's not a simple matter of work.  All my time in NH I've had the feeling of having a good friend there. I will never forget the Nirvana experience.

Making short a long story. If you're looking for golf, swimming pool or spa, this is not your hotel (I must add that probably, Jerusalem it's not your destination).   However, if you want to visit this amazing city, in a comfortable and absolutely safe way and with the confidence of having a group of friends taking care of you I encourage you to get your stay at the National Hotel, and enjoy your trip to Jerusalem. You won't be dissapointed and, for sure, will come back to your home happy and, probably, a little wiser and free of prejudices.

I feel like having a home and some friends in Jerusalem. Thank you, again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

A large, somewhat dated, hotel close to the old city. We had our doubts about value for money, but having spoken to tourists in other hotels nearby, we almost feel lucky.

Whatever small observations may apply to the bathroom, everything was compensated for in many-fold, by the staff. Never before have we felt so welcome when arriving in a hotel and during our stay. Great frontdesk staff who deliver what they promise and more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emvi-op-reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Shamai Suites
#30 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#16 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
#49 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing