We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place in East Jerusalem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent place in East Jerusalem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent one night at the National Hotel. For a very decent price, we good amazing service, a very clean and modern room, a good breakfast, free wifi.
The hotel is located in East Jersualem, where we felt super safe. To go the old-town, it was just a 10 minutes walk to Damascus gate.
Beware: Google maps shows a wrong location of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosefWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    241
    74
    16
    32
See reviews for
116
210
95
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nirvana, the front desk manager, is the pearl of Jerusalem. Helpful, kind and smart, whatever u need, she has the solution! Also, rooms are big, with good bed and pillows. Breakfast was also great. The hotel is located at the muslim part of the city, near Damascus and Herodes gate (10 min walk to the Old City). Congratulations!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasViegasCamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Perfect location, less than 5min to the old city and the tram station. Breakfast was great with lots of choice! Thanks to the manager, who was very friendly and extremely helpful. Our trip wasn't successful without her assistance!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Extreme22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent two nights at this establishment in East Jerusalem. Arrived at 1:15am to find the staff alert and most helpful. Formalities completed In no time at all, escorted to our room to find a spacious, well furnished, modern bedroom and immaculate bathroom.
Breakfast was more than the usual Israeli version, staff attentive to a fault, and the omelettes the best ever. It was Ramadan, and the buffet dinner hit the right spot.
When next in Jerusalem, I won't need to look for accommodation again. The National is winner, and good value for money. Should be rated 5*.
Ronnie M
Perth, Australia.
ronnie@mayer.com.au

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I was shocked to see the extra bed, i think this hotel needs to add some budget for some extra beds that show welcome and respect to the visitors as other facilities in this nice hotel.
The food is good, the free wifi is a plus, the tv and the water heater are extras i liked.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shereen965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have stayed twice at the National Hotel Jerusalem. First of all the hotel should be chosen for the outstanding service, very friendly and professional personnel - at the reception, in the restaurant and the cleaning personnel. The breakfast buffet is also recommendable with a variety of Arabic and international dishes and you can be seated outside at the restaurant floor. The rooms are clean and well equipped and internet is available and included in the price. The hotel is also recommended for its none-smoking policy. A further and obvious advantage is that the hotel is located centrally in East Jerusalem and is very close to the old city. I would definitely choose this hotel for another visit in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lippert_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We just stayed at The National Hotel in June 2013. The service and the care are the best we have ever received at any hotel and we have stayed at hotels around the world. Before booking the hotel I read every review and read about the famous Nirvana who works at the front desk and the reviews do not even do justice to the quality of care and concern she has for each person that books into the hotel. Also, Mohammed was wonderful to us when we checked in. He came up to check on us as we were having dinner in the dining room. And then the location cannot be beat... This hotel is a few blocks from the Damascus Gate. Also the Rockefeller Museum is a few blocks along with the Garden Tomb. It's a perfect location. The National also keeps a separate dining room for any tours coming in, so when you eat breakfast out on their garden terrace in the morning, it is private, quiet, and every attention to detail can be given to you. Try the pastries and a cooked to order omelet. The view over the city from your breakfast table is beautiful and you can see the city come to life as you dine on the terrace. This is a great hotel with wonderful service!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevlo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Shamai Suites
#31 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing