We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel like...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hostel like...”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have just left this hotel in Jerusalem and writing this review before I go and look for a different hotel to stay at in Jerusalem. Unfortunately I did not make the reservation for this hotel my sister did. The hotel location well let's see - the hotel is located is East Jerusalem, Pool - not here.
Service is so so, regarding the breakfasts I have had better in Israel, I have just came back from a trip up North and stayed at a kibbutz wow so much food at breakfast and so yummy My sister and I licked our fingers I can't say this for the food at the place.
The room is small and the cleanliness is down under.

So my sister and are looking for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    251
    75
    16
    33
See reviews for
117
217
94
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the Bab Al-Zahra district of East Jerusalem, which makes it easy to see all the major sights of Jerusalem — the Old City being only a 10 minutes walk away. If you want to spend your evenings in West Jerusalem, you can easily get there by tram, or by walking to Jaffa street, where most of the restaurants and bars are located, which will only take you 20 minutes.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and well-furnished, complete with free wifi. There are a wide selection of options available for breakfast in the restaurant upstairs, which has a nice view of the city from its terrace. A special thanks to Nirvana, the front desk manager, who acts as a 'personal hostess' to all her guests; there is nothing she won't do to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

The final point I have to make clear, is not to be put off by the hotel's location in East Jerusalem. If anything, I felt privileged to be staying in East Jerusalem because the people are friendlier, the food is nicer, and most importantly of all, it offers you an authentic taste of the Middle East.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seena E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After a terrible experience at another hotel, my daughter relied on tripadvisor and we found the National Hotel. It was a lifesaver and helped to "salvage" a bad experience at another hotel. The room was clean and spacious but most importantly, the people were very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with omelettes made to order. Excellent location. It was our "home away from home" in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in East Jerusalem, near to Damascus Gate. Good breakfast served in a terrace and comfortable rooms
A special thanks to our angel Nirvana, who gave us from the reception precious advice for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amedeo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Just about to leave this place and I thought I should share how great it is. Location is perfect for the Old City and just a tram ride away from the Jewish Market, but it's the service that makes it really special. Upgraded to a king size and early check in on arrival and given a late check out on departure, all without even asking! Room was good, too, nothing fancy, but it's not that kind of hotel - good size with free wifi, which always makes a big difference.

Well done to all, and particularly Nervana (sorry about the spelling) on the front desk, who definitely deserves a raise! Jerusalem is a full-on place and having the sanctuary of a well-run hotel with helpful staff makes it much easier.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spent 7 nights in this hotel, in the last july.
It has been a great experience and I'd definitely recommend this structure.
First of all, the location is strategic: it's located in East Jerusalem, at only 5 minutes of walking from Damasco Gate.
Besides, all the hotel staff is really professional, kind and expert (if you would like to arrange a daily tour outside Jerusalem, follow their suggestion without any doubt: they're really serious and are able to arrange everything at a fair - and fixed - price). They welcomed us with a fruit plate, which was really appreciated.
Also the rooms are ok: large, clean and silent.
The only aspect sufficient (and not outstanding) was the breakfast (but, maybe, it's more related to my tastes).

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LukeRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent one night at the National Hotel. For a very decent price, we good amazing service, a very clean and modern room, a good breakfast, free wifi.
The hotel is located in East Jersualem, where we felt super safe. To go the old-town, it was just a 10 minutes walk to Damascus gate.
Beware: Google maps shows a wrong location of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosefWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#24 of 99 in Jerusalem
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#39 of 99 in Jerusalem
463 reviews
Hillel 11
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
364 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#53 of 99 in Jerusalem
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing