We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre property but nicely located for pilgrimage purposes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre property but nicely located for pilgrimage purposes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

- The hotel was nice, although when we reached in with lots of carriages and luggages no one from the hotel could help us to unload it.
- The room was sort of like a hostel especially the bed
- Cleanliness is bad when reaching the hidden spots (i.e behind beds, under the bed, top of cabinet)
- Food (bfast, lunch and dinner) were good. Tasteful and many options and varieties of middle eastern cuisine.
- F&B Service needs to improve. (Some of the staff were ignorant, and somewhat rude)
- Front desk agent were very helpful to explain every details about the surroundings and also kindly offer to exchange major currency into US Dollar bills. (As common use that US Dollar is widely accepted around Jerusalem area, other than Shekel).
- The location is near the Al Aqsha Mosque.

Room Tip: Bathroom is descent, at front desk available for currency exchange to US Dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaskoroDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    241
    74
    16
    32
See reviews for
116
210
95
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights at nationalhotel jerusalem 2 weeks ago.the hotel and the airline company took the money from my credit card.all good by now.the night before our journey was declared red code for snow storm and all the streets to the airport and our city were closed by the police.we didn't have any chance to exit the city and drive 300 km to the airport.the airline company understood that we were in a special situation and gave us all the money back,instead, national hotel didn't make an effort to help us.we didn't want specially the money back,we even wanted to make a deposit for the next journey but they were very unpolite and misunderstanding with us.these kind of people should not work in such as spiritual place as jerusalem.all they see in front of their eyes is money.I totaly not recomend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Agatia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We are in our 60's and have been on the road for 8 months.
We have stayed in an awful lot of hotels.
This hotel would be about average price for Jerusalem I should think.
It is well located just out of the Old City in the Arab Quarter.
It was very safe walking around at night - no problems there.
Walking wise: 5 mins to Herod's Gate, 7 mins to Damascus Gate and around the outside of the walls (that way you don't get lost!) it would be 20 mins to Jaffa Gate where all the tours start from.
We stayed in a standard room which was spacious with plenty of natural light.
The room was very clean with a high pressure shower and tons of hot water.
The room was serviced daily.
The breakfast was way above average with tons of choice and excellent staff.
Front of house was THE BEST we have encountered on our travels.
Nirvana was efficient, very helpful, always cheerful and happy to do anything we requested.
There are many past good comments about her - we agree with them all.
This should be five star but the WiFi is not up to scratch with many dissatisfied guests because of it.
It does not work in the rooms and seemingly only in the downstairs lobby area which is a nuisance.
Hotels need to realise we long-term travellers rely on WiFi to connect back home and do business.
The manager said he is fixing it but I note from previous comments this has been a problem.
If this can be rectified then this hotel deserves a five star rating, plus some.
We definitely would return here
A great hotel in a great location in a great city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

In one sentence, location is walking distance to Jerusalem's Old City, but the hotel itself is a bit dated. Big plus, location. Minus, in need of refurbishment/renovation.

Another plus would be service. This being a family-run hotel, the staff are genuinely sincere and helpful. Reception staff were engaging and did not treat guests with a "cookie-cutter" approach. For example, they went out of their way in money exchange, giving suggestions, even in checking my electronic luggage scale. The chef during breakfast was ever-smiling, complimenting his ample array of breakfast choices.

I also commend the work-horse - a solitary bellman who managed all luggage in our 27-pax tour-pilgrimage group. He was not only dedicated; he was efficient. A real work-horse, indeed.

Soundproofing was not good; the main door leaves about a quarter-inch gap with the main building structure. Therefore, you could hear conversations outside the corridor. In addition, there were several times when the wi-fi only had "local" access in the room; many of the guests in my group opted to stay at the corner area of the floor where signal was stronger and more stable, especially nearing and post midnight.

I wasn't pleased with consistency in F&B operations process. In their coffee/deli corner, I could charge to room my bill of sahlab (local winter drink - yummy) but in the restaurant, I was prevented from doing so and had to pay cash for the cola I ordered. Two outlets in the same hotel, two different processes. This is the main reason why I rate them a 3 for service, and not 4. Not about the heart but about the process.

If you are not overly picky about room features and on a hectic schedule to cover as much of Jerusalem, this hotel would be a good option because of its favored location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with better sound-proofing from the corridor. Otherwise, "late returnees" to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladiator8143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stay in The National Hotel before the snow in the end of November 2013. I like the Hotel Lobby and feel warm with the atmosphere. The receptionist very welcome and helpfull. The room not so big but complete facilities. Bed also comfortable.
Breakfast was awesome, and also buffet dinner was excellent. For asian people like us the restorant offer kinds of foods not only arabic foods. The chef...I forgot the name he asked us about the food and also offer whether we want something like spices, also the waiter, he taking care of all the guest and have a good conversation about the situasion.
The hotel location close to old city where the Al Aqso mosque there and safe. I was walked early in the morning for fajr praying. Very nice for muslim traveller to stay in this kinds of hotel as the hotel stafs that I met were moslem and they took care of moslem traveller too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masrura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Well located at arab quarter and staff is really nice. However, wifi was not working, room lighting was broken, room and bathroom are very simple. Price is Ok, but I would pay little more to stay in a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSHBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I found the National by reading all the reviews online. Here are a few highlights:

* It's just a short walk from the old city and very safe.
* Free wireless in the room and dining area.
* The food (including breakfast) is awesome!
* The entire staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
* NIRVANA: This girl is the most helpful and friendly hotel staff member I've come across in all my traveling overseas. That's all I can really say; she's the best.
* I took a Sherut from the airport to The National, and it was a very simple and safe process. Make sure you have the exact fare though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpb_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Shamai Suites
#32 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing