We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My mother and I had an amazing stay at the Hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the restaurant was top notch. However, the hospitality shown by all the staff made us feel so welcome. Nirvana and others at the front desk went out of their way to offer helpful tips and even bring us breakfast when we missed it one morning. The restaurant staff greeted us every morning and treated us so warmly we decided to keep going back for dinner. Mr. Kahrain the general manager was available whenever we needed anything and made the atmosphere friendly and truly enjoyable. His kindness was unmatched. Lastly, Mr. Nasser made it possible to extend our stay at the Hotel (because we were enjoying it so much) and, like the others, went out of his way to make sure that our stay was perfect and that we felt welcome and safe. I would absolutely recommend the Hotel, not only for its wonderful location and updated features, but because of the wonderful people who own and work at it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    241
    74
    16
    32
See reviews for
116
210
95
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

As for location goes this is a fine hotel in East Jerusalem for its proximity when it comes to visiting religious sites.
Buffet breakfast abundant but then the same everyday is a bit tough on the palate. However, the terrace view on a bright sunny day is lovely.
Rooms: old and needs a bit of attention, bathroom outlets are filthy requiring attention from the housekeeping staff. Beds were clean and comfortable.
The room I stayed in was rather noisy hence would recommend that one choose a room away from the street (windows are not well insulated to limit sounds from the outside).
Point to note: laundry, they do mention of prices on the laundry sheet but then when you pay your asked to pay in USD, when I opted to pay in ILS (local currency) they went into a conversion which costed more than the stipulated laundry charges. So remember prices mentioned on the sheet are not necessarily going to be what you pay for.

Overall experience was good and pleasant no one bothers you, and you can stay in your room at ease.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank yegeneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at the National Hotel Jerusalem for one night last month. It is in an excellent location in East Jerusalem and is a good spot to walk to many of the tourist sites, Old City, etc...The hotel is fairly busy with tourists from all backgrounds. The room is clean and well maintained and I had a quiet comfortable sleep. Their complimentary rooftop breakfast buffet is amazing and is actually on par with what I had previously gotten in many luxury 5-star hotels. Manager Mr Majdi was great. And Ms. Nirvana at the reception desk was just pure delight! One of the sassiest, and most vivacious helpful ladies you can ever meet at any hotel reception! I would definitely consider the National Hotel for a comfortable, simple, easy-going Jerusalem stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived at the Hotel at 2.00am, after being at the Maccabi Games in 2013, and wending our way through snail's pace traffic. The car park was opened for us by one of the receptionists on duty, all wide awake and courteous. Checking in was quick and faultless, as if they new that we were dog tired. We were shown up to our room (my son and I), linen folded back, so all we had to do was shower and fall into our comfortable beds. Great size room, nicely furnished, adequately sized en suite bathroom, clean as a whistle.

Israeli breakfast was a treat, fresh fruit, large assortment of cheeses and cold meats, fresh croissants and rolls with jams and marmalade. But best of all, were the omelettes. One went to the trolley on which they were made, chose a filling from a selection of toppings, and within 5 minutes were brought to the table. Mine was plain, best ever, and went back for seconds. After a day of touring the Old City of Jerusalem, we were too pooped to go out for a typical Arab restaurant, so decided to dine at the hotel. We got our typical Arab meal, and the standard was in keeping with the housekeeping, staff courtesy, and the breakfast, of course!

Spent two nights at the establishment, and were sorry to leave. We were quite gobsmacked at the bill, how reasonable it was for an hotel of this standard.

The hotel is perfectly situated in Arab East Jerusalem, one block away from the Damascus and Herod's gates of the Old City, and not distant from the centre of Jerusalem centre. We felt perfectly safe at all times, day and night, despite having been warned beforehand that we needed to be careful. It was Ramadan at the time, and the carnival atmosphere in the streets at night was just great. A first for us both.

For those travellers contemplating a trip to Jerusalem, this hotel comes highly recommended by us. Everything about the place was good - no complaints at all. As a hotel in Israel, I have no hesitation in rating it at 4 star. For peace and quiet, ask for an inner courtyard facing room, otherwise a street facing has a view, and higher up in the building would be better.

Ronnie and Kevin Mayer.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant, street facing, higher up in the building would be best. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Worth 5 stars for excellent service! From the front desk to restaurant, via housekeeping, you are listened and advised and all this...with smile :) ! The hotel is situated near old city, so perfect to visit Jerusalem on foot. Front desk will find you a good solution to visit dead sea or other cities nearby. Food in the restaurant is delicious and the prices are more than reasonable. Return here with no doubts!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olesya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
947 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well located a short walk to Herod's Gate into the old city
Reception staff are very friendly & helpful - Nirvana has to get a special mention
Good restaurant & rooms have all the facilities that you would expect from a 4 star
The only downside is that the rooms can be noisy from the restaurant above & we had a continuously running toilet that no one could fix

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor under the restaurant & we understand we were not the only ones with plumbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ii is close to the Old City of Jerusalem , ten minute walk. You can see Via dolorosa , you have the Gates , The Wall everything is pretty close.
the Hotel is clean , the staff helps you book the tour around the city and the Dead Sea , you can't miss it, also go to Masada a historic place , where you can see the view of the Dead Sea probably 1000 feet high.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbayona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#26 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Shamai Suites
#33 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#37 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#54 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing