We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the secular public”
Review of Me'a She'arim

Me'a She'arim
Ranked #71 of 310 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for the secular public”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

They don't like outsiders or strangers, especially not women who aren't covered from head to toe. Hostel looks from people on the street.

Helpful?
2 Thank Yehudit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    20
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very different and not touristic”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have read about Mea Shearim and visited the area twice, once during the day on thursday and once in the evening on friday after the Sabbath started. Of course dressed in a very conservative and respectful manner, otherwise you might be told off by the residents (that's what the travel books say)
This is the area were ultra Orthodox Jews live and mind you it was almost like being in a Jewish village in the 19th century Poland. It is a very closed society and there are signs on the walls telling that they don't want tourists in their area. If you are not a big group, dress and behave modestly they do not seem to mind. On both times I got lost and had to ask the way and the people I talked to were helpful and kind.
The way they dress, wander in the streets, the lifestyle which can easily be observed was very interesting for me. I think it was the most interesting part of my Jerusalem trip since all the other parts I have been to were somehow touristic bot not Mea Shearim.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Nevhiz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beit Shemesh, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an ethnographic experience”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This neighborhood offers one a glimpse into Israel's ultra Orthodox religous sector. Much like the Amish, they separate themselves off from the rest of society by their dress and their believes. Out of respect i strongly urge that when entering the neighborhood- you wear modest clothes to respect the residence (long skirt and sleeves..)

Helpful?
7 Thank stb095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“CLAUSTRAPHOBIC, DIRTY, AND DISTRUSTFUL OF STRANGERS”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

First of all, I speak the two most cormon languages heard there, so communication is not a problem. The streets are narrow and quite dirty. The sidewalks are crowded. Buses pass dangerously close to those on the sidewalks. Yet, in spite of it all, there is no better place to buy Jewish religious items than there. Prices are fluid. Expect to bargain. As the community is poor, do not hesitate to buy there and help the local economy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rebrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Packed on a Friday”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

If you are after judiaca this is the place to come.we also bought some food for Shabbat. Was extremely crowded on a Friday.roadworks also make it hard to walk

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dani73Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Me'a She'arim also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Me'a She'arim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing