We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Little House in the Colony
Ranked #25 of 60 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great location, great service!”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had a great time at your hotel. Miri at reception was super helpful. The breakfast was fresh and yummy, great hot water pressure in the shower. My husband did have a bit of a hard time getting used to the attic ceiling, however. Great location, we would come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccatax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    92
    56
    24
    13
See reviews for
53
88
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yokneam
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

a peaceful street in the heart of the German Colony- just around the block of Emek Refaim.
small and clean room, nice staff. we got a twin bed- and so our friends- you should ask for king size bed if you are a couple.
The Water flow is weak, It takes time to get hot water to the faucet.
nice breakfast.
Good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamar h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband and I with our 8 year old stayed at the Little House in the Colony for 2 nights. We stayed in the top attic room. I did a fair bit of research before booking accommodation and decided to steer clear of the larger more upmarket hotels in Jerusalem as the reviews were so mixed. Also, my husband and I are simple people and are not interested in being pandered to in luxury hotels where you pay through the nose for everything. The Little House in the Colony is a simple, clean and safe place to stay and should we return to Jerusalem, we would consider staying there again. Dragging our luggage up the stairs was a little inconvenient, but we knew in advance that there was no elevator. As we were on the top floor, we did not hear any noise from within the hotel and we even slept with the windows partially open and heard little noise from the street below. Our room, though it slept up to 4 people was quite small, but the bathroom was a generous enough size. The slope of the ceiling is low and could possibly be bothersome to taller people and when using the toilet you have to watch that you don't stand up too quick and knock your head as the ceiling is sloped over the toilet area. As we were on the top floor it did take a while for the hot water to come through, i left the shower running for a good 4-5 minutes before showering. I am constantly amazed at people who travel to an ancient city like Jerusalem expecting to find modern hotel standards in heritage buildings, it's nothing short of stupidity. We liked the fact that there was someone at reception 24 hours and my dealings with reception staff were pleasant at all times. When we checked out on our final morning we left our luggage until that evening and there were no issues doing so. The breakfast was very simple, we had eggs on toast, yogurt and coffee and juice but it was enough to set us up for a few hours before sightseeing. There is a very nice cafe next door where we had a light meal and great coffee on one of evenings and it seemed to be open until quite late. The Little House in the Colony is located in a reasonably central part of Jerusalem, twice we walked back and forth from the Old City which took us approximately 15-20 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor may be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KylesMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nof ayalon
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very accomodating staff for our group of eight. Liked that we could bring our Shabbat food with us and heat it up and store in fridge. Staff was very pleasant about extending breakfast hour, to let my boys get back from services on Saturday. Don't like the extra charge for staying till the end of Shabbat. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location fantastic. Place just needs some sprucing up. Otherwise we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: We loved the attic room for out five kids (really meant for four but they managed). Even though ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

reasonable for the price, and great location, but Little House could use some freshening up. Good breakfast, unless you want real coffee. Bathrooms are small, but plenty of hot water, and the beds are comfortable. Noise carries from the reception area and between the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 11 one of the more spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Being on a budget, I found the Little House in the Colony to be a great combination of excellent location and value for money. It's pretty basic but clean, safe and everything you need for the minimal time you want to spend in the room. The location is great for buses into downtown and restaurants in the local area. The staff were very helpful and breakfasts a great way to start the day. And if you are Shomer Shabbat, it's all set up to make shabbos a beautiful time in Jerusalem.

I'd have no hesitation recommending the place and staying there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giralang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We came for five days from New York to visit our son in Jerusalem. The location was perfect. We have not been to Israel in many years and we walked everywhere from our hotel. It is centrally located, and close to many must see sights in Jerusalem. The bus stops on the corner if you wanted to take it and goes right up Keren Hayesod.
The rooms were cozy, and comfortable. The room had a heater, although some people may not have needed it. The tv had a plethora of stations ranging from entertainment to sports to news- in english and hebrew.
The bathroom was clean and we were given fresh towels daily.
The room was quiet, we did not hear any of our neighbors.
If we had needed a fridge there was a medium sized one in the room. There was also a larger one downstairs near the main dining area should we have needed that.
Hot and cold breakfast was served every morning beginning at 7am. The food was fresh and tasty.
The staff was very helpful, and accommodated our needs, with no questions.
We would have liked another outlet to plug our phones, computers, cameras, tablets, into after a full day. The hotel had only one available and we had to be resourceful.
The price was very fair for the location and for what they offer. There was someone at the front desk 24-7 to help with even the smallest question and they have a computer with wifi available at no extra cost if you did not bring one with you. (there is also wifi available throughout the hotel)
We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#48 of 99 in Jerusalem
310 reviews
A Little House in Bakah
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
Jerusalem Garden Home
#16 of 60 in Jerusalem
31 reviews
Bak'a
Rafael Residence Jerusalem
Rafael Residence Jerusalem
#12 of 60 in Jerusalem
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in the Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in the Colony

Property: A Little House in the Colony
Address: 4a Lloyd George St, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in the Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House In The Colony, B&B hotel, is the smallest hotel in Jerusalem, it has only 22 rooms, and family units, It is fully air conditioned, serves a nice Israeli breakfast on a great garden. It is a real charming corner of green country atmosphere in the heart of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A Little House in the Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In The Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing