We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fine budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Little House in the Colony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Little House in the Colony
Ranked #25 of 56 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a fine budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

we spent two night at the Little House. we liked it very much for what it was. the cost was approx $120 night including breakfast. breakfast was reasonable, though there was little to no fruit. The hotel is quite old and seems to have original wood floors that date back to the 1800's. The rooms were small but adequate and at least one of them had a mini fridge. Although it looks on a mpa like its closely situated to the Old City, its a bit of a walk i.e. about 1/2 hr. Also watch out for parking. its pay parking on the street and the City enforces it with enthusiasm. however free parking on nearby side streets was abundant i.e. Martin Luther King st. also there is a parking lot nearby. there is an odd unwritten rule about these parking lots; you pay to park on the paved part but not on the dirt part if available. Go figure. If you want luxury keep looking, but for a solid budget option this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    89
    50
    23
    12
See reviews for
44
85
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed in room #4 and had a marvelous time! The staff of Orly, Schmulik, Idit, Hasan, Rahsha, and Michael were so helpful and made my first trip to Israel memorable. With suggestions of places to change money, shop, tour advice and cab help. If I ever make it back to Israel, this is where I would love to stay again. Delicious food from the Chef and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here with my son at the beginning of June 2013. Miri behind the front desk gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The location is perfect if you do not have a car as everything is in walking distance. As for noise from the movie theater next door, other than a slight muffled sound it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was great with a good variety of fresh foods and breakfast type casseroles. Thank you to Little House In The Colony and especially to Miri, for making us feel so welcome. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CM3061234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Nice people. Good breakfest made by Yosef. Clea. Rooms. Floors are som noise but the place in distance from the old city is good. So i am enthousiatic. I was there
for the 4e time it even a nice walk true the Independence park to the old city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dijkhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Great location, a block away from feminist orthodox congregation, Shira Chadasha, also a block away from Village Green vegetarian kosher restaurant and near Liberty Bell Park. Great friendly staff, especially Orli.

Room Tip: Discounts on rooms over theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaim18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were expecting like a mom and pop B&B but that is not what we got. It was in between a small hotel and a hostel. Staff was friendly, breakfasts were very good, good location. Can walk to Emanuel street where there are multiple jewelery stores, bakeries, restaurants, cafes, and grocery store. Great neighborhood. But do not go to this hotel for its ambiance nor quality of room. It was poor quality. Cheap old bed. Old time TV high up on wall. The walls and flooring were all wood and you could hear all the other guests. Large staircase to get to hotel lobby, note to families with strollers it is not ideal though they sometimes offer to carry stuff up if there is someone on duty. If you are on a very limited budget it is a good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emcanflyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Good location, walking distance from the old city. Also next to an Art movie theatre and good restaurants in the neighbourhood.
I love the neighbourhood....quiet with ambiance.
Lovely local style buffet type breakfast.
Taxis readily available in street around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
A Little House in Bakah
#35 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#45 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allenby Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 56 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Jerusalem Castle Hotel
#17 of 56 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Ben Hillel Boutique Hotel
#7 of 56 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in the Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in the Colony

Property: A Little House in the Colony
Address: 4a Lloyd George St, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in the Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House In The Colony, B&B hotel, is the smallest hotel in Jerusalem, it has only 22 rooms, and family units, It is fully air conditioned, serves a nice Israeli breakfast on a great garden. It is a real charming corner of green country atmosphere in the heart of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your A Little House in the Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In The Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing