We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Little House in the Colony
Ranked #14 of 59 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a terrible place to spend even an hour. It is dirty, old, musty, with minimal space in the room, small-small wardrobe, a bathroom with minute space to move around...
The common room/dining room is bare bones, the breakfast is unbelievably lean, and the attitude is borderline hostile...so what if the price is not very expensive? Hotels that cost less should not cut corners in cleanliness, basic maintenance or human relations...I was looking at the professional photos of this place...do they convey the wrong message....

The only good thing is that next door is a great restaurant/cafe/arts cinema, that stays open even on Fridays!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlingtonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Owner at A Little House in the Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

The room that was booked is an Economy double room. We have 3 rooms which are some chipper because some limitation. When they arrived they were not happy with the room .It was kindly explained- we define this room as an ECONOMY room and we don’t sell it as a regular room . We give this room an attractive discounted price because it doesn't have an outside window. the guest was offered the choice to change rooms into a nice double room with the additional cost. He was immediately transferred to his request. We do our best to make sure our guests get the full knowledge of their bookings and if they have any questions we are available 24/7 to answer. All of our rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good as you can read in most of our reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

we spent two night at the Little House. we liked it very much for what it was. the cost was approx $120 night including breakfast. breakfast was reasonable, though there was little to no fruit. The hotel is quite old and seems to have original wood floors that date back to the 1800's. The rooms were small but adequate and at least one of them had a mini fridge. Although it looks on a mpa like its closely situated to the Old City, its a bit of a walk i.e. about 1/2 hr. Also watch out for parking. its pay parking on the street and the City enforces it with enthusiasm. however free parking on nearby side streets was abundant i.e. Martin Luther King st. also there is a parking lot nearby. there is an odd unwritten rule about these parking lots; you pay to park on the paved part but not on the dirt part if available. Go figure. If you want luxury keep looking, but for a solid budget option this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed in room #4 and had a marvelous time! The staff of Orly, Schmulik, Idit, Hasan, Rahsha, and Michael were so helpful and made my first trip to Israel memorable. With suggestions of places to change money, shop, tour advice and cab help. If I ever make it back to Israel, this is where I would love to stay again. Delicious food from the Chef and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here with my son at the beginning of June 2013. Miri behind the front desk gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The location is perfect if you do not have a car as everything is in walking distance. As for noise from the movie theater next door, other than a slight muffled sound it was not a problem at all. The breakfast was great with a good variety of fresh foods and breakfast type casseroles. Thank you to Little House In The Colony and especially to Miri, for making us feel so welcome. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM3061234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Nice people. Good breakfest made by Yosef. Clea. Rooms. Floors are som noise but the place in distance from the old city is good. So i am enthousiatic. I was there
for the 4e time it even a nice walk true the Independence park to the old city.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dijkhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Great location, a block away from feminist orthodox congregation, Shira Chadasha, also a block away from Village Green vegetarian kosher restaurant and near Liberty Bell Park. Great friendly staff, especially Orli.

Room Tip: Discounts on rooms over theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaim18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were expecting like a mom and pop B&B but that is not what we got. It was in between a small hotel and a hostel. Staff was friendly, breakfasts were very good, good location. Can walk to Emanuel street where there are multiple jewelery stores, bakeries, restaurants, cafes, and grocery store. Great neighborhood. But do not go to this hotel for its ambiance nor quality of room. It was poor quality. Cheap old bed. Old time TV high up on wall. The walls and flooring were all wood and you could hear all the other guests. Large staircase to get to hotel lobby, note to families with strollers it is not ideal though they sometimes offer to carry stuff up if there is someone on duty. If you are on a very limited budget it is a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcanflyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
A Little House in Bakah
#32 of 101 in Jerusalem
433 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,379 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#3 of 101 in Jerusalem
450 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#48 of 101 in Jerusalem
334 reviews
The Jerusalem Little Hotel
#10 of 59 in Jerusalem
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in the Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in the Colony

Address: 4a Lloyd George St, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range: £75 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in the Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House In The Colony, B&B hotel, is the smallest hotel in Jerusalem, it has only 22 rooms, and family units, It is fully air conditioned, serves a nice Israeli breakfast on a great garden. It is a real charming corner of green country atmosphere in the heart of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Little House in the Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In The Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing