We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location, Simple Rooms, Inexpensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Custodia Di Terra Santa Casa Nova
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location, Simple Rooms, Inexpensive”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were very happy here because of the location near the Jaffa Gate. This is an Italian Franciscan organization so expect very basic but very clean rooms. Our beds were really firm and a little narrow which might not be everyone's preference but we were comfortable. There is air conditioning which we didn't use because I hate it. Depending on where you are in the building you might get night-time noise from the street vendors or the local residents. I used my ear plugs every night. If you need a Gluten Free breakfast it would be a good idea to pick up some rice cakes to replace the starchy parts of the breakfast selection - which wasn't very diverse but it comes with the room and we always had enough to eat even if it was similar from day to day. I would definitely come back and I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    35
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Absolutely recommended. Good location, spit and polish cleanliness, nice breakfast, willing help from reception all the time, good wifi connection.

One disadvantage, just to be more credible - poll-parrott Italian ladies gabbering on the corridor even late in the evening. From pilgrims there can be a little more humbleness expected.

...but it's just a fact, not the Casa Nova's fault, of course.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms next to the elevator which are noisier in any hotel. Ours was 201 - nice bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We went on a Pilgrimage with the Franciscans of Malta. Really good experience. We stayed at this hotel on full board. Food was good the rooms are clean and its close to wherever we wanted to go. We will come back. It was a great pilgrimage.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MaltaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have been taking annually since 2010 a pilgrimage of 50 people from London, England to the Holy Land. Each year we have stayed in Casa Nova in Jerusalem for 4 days mostly on full board and we are coming back to this wonderful place again next year (2013) and again and again. It is always a great joy to come back here. This place is just splendid in its welcome, friendliness, help, meals, rooms and other facilities, cleanliness, its architecture, its members of staff, its food. All our pilgrims (and myself!) have been thoroughly happy with staying in Casa Nova Jerusalem. The fatherly and very caring Franciscan Friar in charge of Casa Nova Fr Caputo is always available to help and assist and his personnel is very good too, they could not do more to assist you in every way possible. The facilities of Casa Nova Jerusalem are under constant yet discreet innovation and expansion, with the recent introduction of free WiFi, desk computers, individual room heating. There is a chapel with the Blessed Sacrament. The location is ideal for the holy places of Jerusalem, all of which are within walking distance from Casa Nova, a key advantage for the pilgrim and tourist too. If you travel by coach, the drop off point is just 10-15 minute easy walk away, local taxis can drive you to just a few metres from the entrance. I agree with all other good reviews that I have seen on this site and I do definitively recommend Casa Nova Jerusalem. Whether you are in a group, pilgrimage or travel individually, whether you are a religious or a lay person - if you are looking for a good, sound, clean and very welcoming place at low cost and excellent value for money, simple and yet which lacks nothing in service, provisions and standard (unless you are looking for an expensive 5-star hotel) then Casa Nova Jerusalem is the place for you.

Room Tip: We have found all rooms to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CLOS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The Casa Nova Franciscan House for Pilgrims is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for something clean, simple and comfortable with a lot of old-world charm. The architecture itself is beautiful and gives the place so much character. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, and were able to answer all of my questions when I first arrived in the city. The rooms are modest in size and decor but they have everything you could ask for in a low-budget place - spotlessly clean, extra pillows, blankets and towels, and an infinite supply of hot water. The location also makes it great - located between New Gate and Jaffa Gate in the Christian Quarter, you'll be within walking distance to everything, and a stone-throw away from the Church of the Holy Sepulchre and the Citadel. This is the place to stay if you want a simple room in an exceptional building, a great price, and trustworthy quality.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank AML1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
280 reviews
The Sephardic House
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
127 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,443 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custodia Di Terra Santa Casa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custodia Di Terra Santa Casa Nova

Property: Custodia Di Terra Santa Casa Nova
Address: 10 Casa Nova, Jerusalem 9760041, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Custodia Di Terra Santa Casa Nova Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing