We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to spend three nights!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Scopus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Scopus Hotel
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a good place to spend three nights!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Rooms were in need of updating. No tea/coffee making facilities. No fridge. Staff not particularly friendly. Breakfast adequate. Shower dreadful. On the positive side, good view over the city and didn't mind the 15-20 minute walk to Damascus Gate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
3
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a group trip. Good views from the rooms and lobby over Jerusalem.
+ 2 computers with internet free of charge for use, free WiFi in the lobby.
The biggest disadvantage is the distance to the old town. It is 15-20min walk to the Damaskus Gate (uphill on the way home). But it felt save walking even late at night. Withhin 5min walking distance (down the hill) there are 3 OK prices european restaurants and 2 late open corner shops/ supermarkets, otherwise nothing around... till you reach the old town.
It was built in the 60' and very little updated, but the rooms were spacious and clean. Most of us had problems adjusting the airconditioning, and the shower didn't provide a lot of water...
No kettle/ tea or coffee in the rooms and the breakfast was basic.
The reception staff was helpful (mostly lounging on the sofas though) and the prices at the tiny bar were similar to the supermarket, which was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

If ever an hotel needed some tender loving care care , this is it . Every thing about this place is just worn out . The staff were ok , no problems there . What do you want from accommodation , a good nights sleep , clean room , decent shower plenty of hot water. The first 2 pass but the plumbing system needs an urgent overhaul , it is probably the most dire shower I have ever seen in a commercial property. Still not the most pressing of lifes problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Outdated, unprofessional. I was sitting in the lobby I saw a family check in late at night after a party in a nearby restaurant ( i know because i was at that same restaurant ) , i figured the father could not drive due to drinking. As soon as the family went to their room the receptionist and another member of staff pointed to each other hinting "look this man is drunk "and they were disrespectful. I was sitting near by but it was dark ( yes they turn off the lobby lights late at night so they did not see me. It was disturbing.
the place has potential. The view is pretty good They need to be more pro.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTrident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Shower works and has hot water...that's about the only nice thing I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtravler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I've been there together with a group of friends to spend some days visiting Jerusalem. The best advanatge of that hotel is the location on a hill, the panorama we saw from our window was really beautifull. The hotel is not far from the old city, just 15-20min walking or 5min by taxi (a little bot expansive). Down the hill there's also the possibility to take a collective taxi.
The hotel services are very basic, since the structure, the rooms, and so on, seem not to be updated since 60's. Our room was spacious and bright, with a big french door to access the panoramic balcony, but, the room was without airconditioning! This was not a particualry pitty for us, since during the day we were not in the hotel and in the evening the temperature got down, but if somenone decides to stay there in the hot hours it should be impossible to support to stay in the room. The bathroom was old and without airdryer.
The buffet dinner has a lot of dishes but of pour quality.
On the other hand the personnel has always been very friendly with us.
The hotel works a lot with groups of turists/pilgrims, so the saty here could be not so funny for alone-travellers.

Recommended only for a low cost holiday in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P5_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Our Israeli guide recommended this hotel to us, picked us up here and dropped us off here each day of our stay. We were on a budget and there were six of us family members to accommodate (three rooms). Plus we naturally needed to eat three meals a day somewhere while we took in the beautiful city which is Jerusalem. Our guide has been doing tours of Israel for 35+ years and worked us into experiences during our 10-day tour around the country which were most rewarding and had a behind-the-scenes feel. So, although the outer appearance of this hotel suffers from some of the criticisms others have mentioned (dated feel, some painting-over of lightswitch plates, things like that), I have to take issue most other criticisms and to set them straight.

First the idea of a surly staff: well, I accidently left my backpack in the lobby before a day's outing and there it was waiting for me on the credenza behind the front desk on my return and was smilingly handed to me by the young woman at the front desk on my return. The proprietor happily took my mail for mailing. Each night after dinner the waiter at the restaurant (food was included for two meals with the price) would politely ask what time we would like to take our breakfast the next morning, and, oh, would we like a pitcher or two of cold water to take with us to our room. I've never had this thoughtfulness extended at any other hotel anywhere I've traveled. The waitstaff in the dining room were very attentive to our needs, serving and clearing just when we were ready like they could read our minds. (The food was a reasonable mix for us of (good) hummus, Middle Eastern salads, pitas, and fairly American-style food actually for the main dishes (think fries and steamed carrots and peas and a main dish like schnitzel or breaded fish). Considering for a couple of nights we appeared to be the only guests in the hotel the breakfast buffet in particular was especially generous and complete - eggs, sausages, toast, coffee, tea, cold cereal, orange juice, yogurt, cheese, etc., etc. Felt a little guilty at the spoiling but hey someone has to be spoiled!

It wasn't long after we settled in after the first night that I made my peace with this place and saw past the poor paint job in the rooms to realize this place was a good (great?) fit for our family. I slept better here than in Tiberius at a higher-rated hotel and this despite the barking dog two nights that the hotel could obviously do nothing about. The beds were comfortable and had comfy backrests for reading. The outlets for charging phones, etc., worked (advise to bring an extension cord for multiple items to charge). The bathrooms were by far the newest/cleanest part of the hotel's accommodations and delivered plenty of hot water for a refreshing shower or bath; which goes a long way towards making a stay refreshing. Like the rooms they were spacious; every day fresh towels.

The lobby was also quite attractive, clean, and relatively updated.
Internet was available on not one but two PC's, one of which I am writing this review on. Connection speeds were good if the PCs themselves a little underpowered.

Finally, the views from the balconies were pretty sweet. Since this appears to not be a heavily-visited hotel you should be able to stay easily on a top floor and have one of the great views we had. The cab ride to Old Town is about $8/not bad.

For the price, seems like Mishi once again put us in just the right spot to maximize our time/$ spent. Thanks Mishi for this find!

Room Tip: Enjoyed our stay on three neighboring rooms on top (5th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#23 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#45 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Mount of Olives Hotel
#73 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#83 of 96 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
#49 of 96 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Scopus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Scopus Hotel

Property: Mount Scopus Hotel
Address: 10 Sheikh Jarrah St | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > ג 'ראח
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 96 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Scopus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel, in a tranquil setting on top of the Mount Scopus peak, within ten minutes walk from the old city, with transportation available to Biblical and historical sites. All rooms have balconies and offer a magnificient view of the Holy City. Room facilities include a private bathroom, Air-Condition, Wireless Internet access, Telephone, Radio, and T.V. The Lobby is spacious and spectacular, and together with the Bar, tastefully decorated. The Hotel has Elevators servicing all Floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mount Scopus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Scopus Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing