We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but average otherwise”
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel is in a great location with walking distance with restaurants and the old city. The rooms are nice and reasonable size. There is Wifi but it only seems to work well in the lobby, when connecting it the room it was either unavailable, slow or we experienced constant disconnections. The major letdown for this hotel is the restuarant - the dinner buffet is horrible with the food not being fresh and not really a great variety - walk down the road for a fresher and cheaper meal at pashas or gardens restuarant. The breakfast was the most disappointing, probably one of the worst I have experienced anywhere in the world. The weekday breakfast didn't have much variety, the scrambled eggs were old and the bread wasn't fresh. The one thing I want in a hotel is a good breakfast so I am charged up for a good day of sightseeing. The Saturday breakfast was the worst - no hot food, no eggs, no toasters etc. Yes I understand the Jewish traditions for Saturday however this hotel is a tourist hotel - anywhere I have travelled in the world be it strict Muslim countries, developing Far Eastern countries or traditionally vegetarian countries will usually overlook their local traditions in favour of keeping the tourists happy. This is a tourist hotel and clearly aimed at western tourist - I would only ask for the basics - cooked eggs and toast, this is really a staple in an western persons breakfast diet. I'm not sure if this is normal for other hotels in Jerusalem but this is a major factor in my low rating for this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

It's the second stay, the first was one year ago. Wifi is faster, but had huge problems connecting with my phone. I was continuously kicked out or unable to join.
The spacious lobby, the convenient location and the food are its strong points. The rooms are ok, but the wifi router on the 5th floor does not work at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel. There have been some improvements since my last visit. Complimentary wifi being one of them. Front of house is both pleasant and helpful. Food is quite good, offering variety and decent quality.

Service levels in both the restaurant and lobby bar leaves a lot to be desired. The staff are indifferent at best. The manager of the restaurant and senior members of his team neither inspire their staff or, properly takes care of their customers. If they expect any form of a generous gratuity for such a poor service they need to think again. They obviously have not made the connection between both.

For a group tour it was ok. It was clean, comfortable,with good public area's and offered value for money. However if it has any desire to move beyond were it is at, then Management needs to understand that guests are also individuals. The customer always has a choice with regard to a hotel and also if the service warrants a gratuity.I chose to come here on a return visit. Next time I might just pop back to the Olive Tree next door

.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hallo, the hotel is close to the old city and to downtown. The street car is just in front of the hotel. The breakfast ist quite good. Mainly the people working at the Grand Court Hotel are very friendly. Usually I stay in the Leonardo Hotel next to the Grand Hotel. The level of Leonardo is a bit higher, the rooms more modern. But more friendely are the people here. It seems Leonardo has not enough people working for them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at the hotel but had all meals elsewhere. My Room faced Highway 1, but did not notice traffic noise. I was satisfied with the room, although not as big as American hotel rooms. The shower was excellent with immediate hot water and good pressure. There are several elevators, I never had a long wait.
Interaction with front desk staff was mostly OK. Someone delivered a package for me before my arrival, it was held at the security desk, ( there was an armed security officer whenever I came in)and I was happy to see I was required to show ID and had to sign for the package. No charge or angling for a tip, either.There are several computers for guest use in the lobby, no charge, although I would not use a public computer for logging in to anything.
The lobby is large and nicely furnished, you can certainly meet clients or friends there. I noticed many tour groups, as it's very close to the Old City.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Grand Court has one, and only one, saving grace: it is within walking distance of the old city.
Other than that, forget it.
From the time we walked in the door, we knew we were in trouble: the lobby reeks of fried food (where that smell comes from, I have no idea, since the restaurant is two floors down). The reception staff was largely unhelpful (a shout out for Nora, who was the only person with an actual smile in the entire place).
The phone in our room didn't work
The wi-fi is flaky. It works in the lobby, but in your room.... good luck with that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tezajovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed a week over Chrismas and had another lovely stay. This is the third time we have stayed here and keep comming back due to the facilities, staff and location. This hotel sometimes has mixed reviews. However our experience has always been very good with helpful staff. Although we are a couple we have not found any issues re levels of service due to large tour groups. In addition the bar area is very comfortable to relax in with a drink after a busy day and the food in the bar including the wine is of a high quality and much cheaper and better than some nearby restaurants/ hotels. We did not have evening meals. The breakfasts have a wide variety of fresh food and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. This hotel is within walking distance to the old city and the new tram is close by. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#20 of 100 in Jerusalem
2,203 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#19 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,428 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 100 in Jerusalem
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,207 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Eyal Hotel
Eyal Hotel
#18 of 100 in Jerusalem
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £98 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing