We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
Ranked #41 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed at two other hotels in Israel and this was suppose to be the best--but for me the others were much better.

The hotel offered free WiFi service. Well I could never get my phone to work anywhere in the hotel. Just as soon as I got outside on our tour bus with WiFi, I could connect, so I know it wasn't my phone. I had my lap top and sometimes I could get on and sometimes I couldn't. My roommate could get his phone to connect in the room, but not his laptop.

The seating the dinning room was terrible. They put too many chairs at a table and were as close as you are as seated on an airplane. At one meal we did get a round table and has a little elbow room.

I ate 4 breakfasts at this hotel and the scrambled eggs were never cooked done and NEVER was served any meat at breakfast. The other two hotels were Kosher and served meat at breakfast.

Anytime the shower was used, the door leaked and we had water all over the bathroom floor. Oh yes there was a liquid soap dispenser in the shower, but it never had any soap in it.

The room was nice, but that sure didn't compensate for the other problems I encountered

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wachtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Beautiful, clean hotel with very accommodating staff. We could walk to the Old City very easily from the hotel. Very nice, comfortable rooms and nice lounge for relaxation on the main floor.
This hotel also offers a free shuttle service which I didn't use but certainly thought it was a great idea. The only negative we experienced is that the wifi was spotty and many times not available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We traveled to Jerusalem in November with a church group and stayed 4 nights at the grand court. It has a grand lobby which offered free water and juices and had a lobby bar with piano music in the evenings. Our room was nice, clean and comfortable. The room offered free tea and coffee. We were given breakfast and dinner included in our tour package. Both meals were buffet style and had a large selection of salads, cheeses, breads, desserts and a good main course of fish, meat or chicken. Quite extensive and I enjoyed each meal.

The Hotel is located about an easy 10 minute walk to the old walled city of Jerusalem and was near the public tram station, which provided easy access to many parts of Jerusalem. I did notice there were many large Tour groups staying at this hotel which made for a busy lobby area in the morning, but the large lobby handle the crowd quite well. I would recommend this hotel for 1st time travelers looking for a good discount hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beentoeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel grounds were clean, staff friendly and helpful most times. Hotel food was good and plentiful, but wine choice was poor at best. Husband said beer was ok. Wifi was good in our room but others in hotel could only get connected in lobby. Close to Damascus Gate (15 mins walk) but busy, loud and dirty part of town. Men very aggressive and rude to the women in the groups, even if with our men. Glad we didn't know what they were saying but the idea was loud and clear. Stayed in groups. Jewish Quarter was very clean and beautiful. Market and shops much nicer than Arab Quarter. Agree with many recent reviews posted regarding group check in, beds, rooms, wine etc.

Room Tip: Get floor and room close to lobby for wifi. Elevator slow so take stairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judecat1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

When you book a TRIPLE room for THREE people, you would expect that there would be three of everything - apparently not. The front staff were rude, and I mean rude. They would look at us and literally walk away and leave us for another staff member to deal with. Coming from NZ, we're pretty happy go lucky people and we weren't expecting the Ritz or anything, but you don't even get a welcoming smile or 'shalom'....just a yesssss.....very disappointing indeed. We made 5 calls to reception and went down in person twice just to get extra cups, glasses and pillows. Our outlook on the fourth floor was of the staff outside smoking away, and the entry way to the delivery trucks - big whoop! The rooms were tidy and the food in the dining hall was great, but the service sucked. I would never recommend coming here, ever.

Room Tip: If you get grumpy then you get service!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Travelling in a group of three, booked in as a triple share to find room set up for 3 beds however only 2 cups, glasses, towels etc. 5 calls to reception, 2 visits to reception & 24hrs later we got the extras.
WiFi would log on but wouldnt work for the entire 4 day stay with most tech savy guests complaining but they wouldnt fix it.
Great food though and good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wobblynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Location is a 30 minute walk to Ben Yehuda shopping district. 15-20 mins walk to the Old city. There's a tram for 6 shekels near the hotel if you want. Not advisable to walk after dark. Room is nice and clean with wifi, connection is tolerable. Strong signal in the lobby. Food is great. I didn't expect lengua to be served but whatever kind it was, was soft and tasty. Saturday morning breakfast was no so good, no hot foods served as it is a sabbath day. But they should consider people from all over the world, not just Jewish people. Anyways, I got by that day eating cereals instead of my high protein diet. Only warm drink was the coffee. Comfortable bed, don't complain it's not your home! Cable tv has limited selection, BBC is good and one music channel was recorded playing the same music every hour. Overall, a good place to stay to eat and sleep. I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights as part of the tour.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kickzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,145 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#22 of 101 in Jerusalem
733 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,071 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#27 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: £98 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing