We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere!”
Review of Hashimi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hashimi Hotel
Ranked #6 of 59 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed at the Hashimi on our visit to Al Aqsah. The Hotel is well positioned in the Old city and its proximity to the Holy Masjid. Nestled in the heart of the retail shops makes it interesting and very busy during the day, and just dies at around 6.00pm when the shops shut for the day. The atmosphere in the hotel and with the staff is warm and friendly. There are no frills and 5 star surrounding, but the good feel makes up for this anytime.

We had a small double room that was absolutely clean and the pure white sheets surpasses what I have experienced in higher rated hotels. Bathroom is small and quint. Breakfast is simple and the omelette very good and served with friendliness well appreciated.

All in all a wonderfull family hotel that is clean and has a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88Luvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, experienced really "another perspective of the life" as stated in one of previous reviews.
Hard to find, hard to get luggage to, no cards accepted, warm water for next try, plastic cutlery and plates, but once be there, you will find real gem in Jerusalem. Dawn and dusk on roof pays for long Old city tour.
Some renovations were during our stay, compensated fairly by manager (free breakfasts).
One of those hotels, where location and spirit is all...

Room Tip: No fear about noise at night, situated in moslem quarter, shops closed after 6 PM. Only muezzin will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan_Zlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I am so glad we 'discovered' this hotel. It made our stay in Jerusalem a very special experience. Right in the heart of the old city, this hotel is in a maze of alleys. You cannot drive up to it but have to walk through the ancient city. We were glad to spot the sign and find the entrance way. There are many staircases in old Jerusalem so you have to be able walk well. Our room on the 2nd floor was a bit noisy because it had only one little window, to the lobby. The stone walls and floor made the voices echo so it was pretty noisy but happy noises of voices and laughter. Next time I would ask for 3rd or 4th floor. The owners speak perfect English and were very helpful and friendly. The room was small but comfortable - a clean bed, warm shower and everything we needed. We LOVED being in the center of the old city - much more fun than staying in a modern hotel. The best part is the top floor with a large courtyard on the roof. The view is immediately onto the Rock of Domes, or the Al-Aqsa Mosque, with the Mount of Olives in the background. Couldn't be better. Free wifi. We spend many hours listening to church bells mingling with minaret's call to prayer. A fantastic place that we would return to on any next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was my 3rd time at Hashimi at the last five years . Even to stay in old city is not the most convenient option in Jeru, I would not miss the feeling to put my luggages at the room and go up to the roof immediately to have a smell. It's ritual.
From the rooftop you can have a completely different experience about this quaint place, where people can live together in a peaceful cultural war. The view in not simply a panoramic landscape - you can see all the garbage, and the whole busy, tatty mishmash from a different angle. It's another perspective of the life, where you may not understand what Israel is, but you are very close to have a chance of it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

In the middle of old city, nice staff, great breakfast. Showers were a little bit small but on par with 1-2 star european hotels. Great value, nice place to stay. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I Loved our stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean. The breakfast was fresh an delightful but what we loved he most was watching the sun rise in the morning over the dome of the rock. It was an experience I will never forget.
The best way to get to this hotel is through the Damascus gate and through the Arab market. It's doors are right in the middle of the Arab market which was so central and charming. You can't go wrong especially since so many hotels were almost twice the price.
By the way, please note that you must be a married couple if you plan on staying in the same room with your significant other.

Room Tip: We chose a room that had the nicest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Hashimi Hotel and the experience was very positive.We went their mainly to visit Al-Aqsa which is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.The hotel is right at the center of Old City and most of the attractions are less than 15 minutes walk from there.Excellent location.
It's a family owned hotel and the reception stuffs were very helpful and friendly.Everyone speaks English.They will go out of their way to help you.Specially Mr.Saleh.We had a minor problem when we booked a tour to Hebron.Our driver got sick and Mr.Saleh went all the way to Damascus Gate to arrange an alternate driver at the last minutes.I never had this kind of personal service from any other hotel.
Climing all the stairs with luggage might be a bit tiring but Mr.Saleh and Ahmed helped us to carry all the luggage to the 3rd floor.Also they are putting a new Lift/Elevator which will be very helpful.
Our room was nice and clean.Hotwater and heater were working perfectly.Room was cleaned daily and supplied freash towel everyday.If you have any issue with the cleaning ask for Amjad and he will take care of it right away.
Breakfast was served from 7am-9am on the 3rd floor.The staff were very friendly.Excellent Omelette by Sister Mariam.

The roof top view was amazing.You could have a panoromic view of the old city.Weather was a bit cold in January but with a cup of nice hot coffee it was the perfect place to relax after a long tiring day.Coffee was free and served 24hrs at the lobby.
Overall we had an excellent time in Jerusalem and God willing will definitely stay at Hashimi when we visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamiKarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
696 reviews
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 101 in Jerusalem
310 reviews
Golden Walls Hotel
#50 of 101 in Jerusalem
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#31 of 101 in Jerusalem
630 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#51 of 101 in Jerusalem
236 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 101 in Jerusalem
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hashimi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hashimi Hotel

Address: Souq khan El-zeit # 73, Old City | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel (Formerly Hashimi Hotel and Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hashimi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Hashimi Hotel and Hostel is located at Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. It offers air-conditioned accommodation rooms, all of which have a cable television, private toilet and bath, telephone, and an Internet connection. Some of its amenities include restaurant and cafe, tours and city trips, room service, and safe deposit boxes. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Church of the Holy Sepulcher, Dome of the Rock, and Via Dolorosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hashimi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hashimi Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing